We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in SOHO, great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY SoHo to your Saves list
SIXTY SoHo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 457 Hotels in New York City
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in SOHO, great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice hotel in heart of SOHO. Walk to shopping, dining, and night life. Rooms are small (it's NYC). Service is excellent, spotless rooms, and a great boutique feeling. Rooftop bar (in season). Air conditioning is weak and it was like this on 2 of my stays, needs to be colder.

Room Tip: Hit the hotel bars for before of after drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Hotel Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear NYTravelCouple,

Thank you for reviewing your stay! We are glad that you were able to make the most of our great location, and that our service quality and upscale décor outweighed any concerns about space. We’re sorry that the air conditioning wasn’t satisfactory, please be assured that we addressed the issue with our Engineering department and it has been fixed since. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Catherine Angulo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    220
    91
    43
    41
See reviews for
57
194
63
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

took niece to NYC as a treat - we picked the Sixty Soho as it was conveniently located in the middle of where we wanted to be. We couldn't have been more happy with the size and quietness of the room. My niece got upgraded so was pleased about that and very kind of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and polite, both at the desk and the front door. As it was so hot - the roof bar was just perfect and the views were stunning, and the groovy DJ created a nice ambiance. (chilled music- not hard techno). Stayed just the 2 nights so we hadn't far to walk anywhere and we had the added bonus of having the subway round the corner that took us up to the hi line and the west village. Also for those needing JFK - the E train also runs from Spring street too - so took us a nice air-conditioned 50 mins to get to the BA terminal, instead of an arduous 90 mins in a cab and saved us a fortune. We will definitely be staying here again when in town. Things that would make it better - coffee/tea in room would be good and free wifi.

Room Tip: have a king size room - think they are away from the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Hotel Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear ManchesterCraig,

Wonderful! We’re truly delighted to hear how much you loved your stay and to have been a part of your happy memories! It’s the perfect time of year to enjoy our rooftop, and we do strive to create that unique ambiance of low-key fun. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Catherine Angulo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at sixty soho after a friends wedding in Princeton NJ. The staff were excellent, location fab, would certainly stay again. Special thanks to Karla.

Soho is by far the best place to stay in NY.

Would also recommend the bar at the Standard, amazing view and cool staff, but sixty Soho a better location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Hotel Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Dpw100,

It’s always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you think "our staff is cool and friendly." We will pass your praise on to Karla, and we look forward to seeing you soon to explore the area some more!

Best regards,

Catherine Angulo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in late June 2014.

Superior location on a quiet Soho block steps from every shop, restaurant, gallery, etc., you want to visit. Easy access to the ACE (blue) subway line. Do not be concerned about references to construction. If you weren’t told about it, you would never know. The work and noise are entirely concealed. You won’t see or hear a thing.

The décor is minimalist, Soho chic but the colors are rich and warm. This is a serene, discreet space. Yes, the rooms are small but the space is well designed and you won’t feel cramped. Great water pressure (plenty of hot water) in a gorgeous brown marble bathroom with lighting that will make you look 10 years younger. The most comfortable beds on the planet. You won’t want to get up ever.

Housekeeping and turn—down service is superior. You can get your shoes shined overnight at no cost. I tried this for kicks. It works. Such a treat! Be sure to leave a tip for the staff who care for you invisibly.

Finally, a word about the exceptional folks who work at 60 Soho: unfailingly friendly, supportive, and engaging, but professional and respectful.

Example: I lost my iPhone in a crowd one afternoon (a personal disaster). When I mentioned this to one of the staff at the front desk, she spontaneously volunteered her personal iPad to me for the evening so I would at least have music and email access. I didn’t accept the offer but this is the kind of support 60 Soho provides.

I would not recommend the hotel for serious business travelers but everyone else should be weeping openly when they leave—it’s that good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Hotel Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Paul_in_VA,

Thank you so much for this enthusiastic review! We strive to deliver exceptional service, and it makes our day to hear that you were truly impressed with our efforts and our service. We take pride in knowing that our staff goes above and beyond in order to accommodate our guests. We love that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and on your next visit you will find even more serenity and luxury when our lobby is completed. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Catherine Angulo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A treat to return to a renovated
Fresh perfect hotel
Having stayed at the hotel in the 90's it was nice to return to the
Renovated hotel
Excellent service
Beautiful rooms
Perfect rooftop bar
Great location

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Hotel Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear EAnnVR

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments. We are happy you chose to come back to SIXTY Soho and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Catherine Angulo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We (2 kids, 11 and 14 and 2 adults) were in NYC for 8 days and were interested in a Soho hotel, and a great NYC experience. Happy to say that our expectations were exceeded at SIXTY SoHo. We wanted a place that wasn't loud and yet close to the interesting places in NYC.

Right from when we got there, the staff addressed us by name, was always cheerful and ready to assist. We got a double deluxe room which was fairly spacious for NYC. The beds were very comfortable. The location's great because within 1 mile of the hotel are some great dining options. NYU is half a mile north. Great shopping just east of the hotel, and the subway's close by. They have a wonderful sundeck and a rooftop bar too. Some of the hotels with a similar set up can be very loud but not this one.. we were on the 12th floor and couldn't tell there was a bar upstairs.

We're glad we stayed here because the other options we looked at are very touristy and in crowded areas (Time Square, Broadway, etc.)... those places are good to visit for a few hours, but we couldn't imagine staying there.

The hotel staff is wonderful... Karla, Olivia and the ground staff had great recommendations and they were always available to assist. I'd stay here again and recommend this place for sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better and the front desk will make a good suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Hotel Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sbix,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for highlighting Karla, Olivia and our ground staff in your overall experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location, rooftop bar and newly renovated rooms. All of our team look forward to welcoming you home to SIXTY SoHo when you are next in New York.

Warm regards

Catherine Angulo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel last minute through hotel tonight. The entire staff was friendly, inviting and extremely accommodating from the moment we arrived. This is a great hip SoHo hotel with very clean rooms and a nice rooftop bar (oh, and I loved the bathroom!). We'd definitely stay here again. Thanks for the lovely stay!
Shannon S.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Hotel Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Shannon S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about SIXTY SoHo. We are happy that you had a pleasurable stay and that you loved our staff and rooftop bar. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Best regards,

Catherine Angulo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY SoHo

Address: 60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#232 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trailblazer in the boutique hotel world, the streamlined SIXTY SoHo-cobblestoned blocks from the NoLiTa, Chinatown, and TriBeCa neighborhoods-is at once Bohemian-chic and luxuriously sophisticated. Nestled in downtown's most stylish district, famous for its pedestrian-friendly culture-and-retail scenes, SIXTY Hotels's flagship has become the place for savvy locals and international travelers to liaison in style, whether its meeting over craft cocktails in the understated Bar, taking in the surrounding cast-iron architecture at the al-fresco guests-only Above SIXTY SoHo 60 rooftop lounge, or slipping into mood-evocative restaurant for romance and cuisine. Kittichai is now closed. A new restaurant debuts in Winter 2015. All guestrooms recently renovated. SIXTY SoHo is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
60 Thompson New York City
60 Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.