We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop the ball on the small stuff but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY SoHo to your Saves list
SIXTY SoHo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Drop the ball on the small stuff but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location in SOHO and that is really a big deal and helpfull staff are big pluses. On the minus side, and this is really not cool : they don't offer simple in room tea/coffee set up and Internet is charged for and is expensive... They recently changed ownership but not policies in this regard....we have been here a few times and enjoy very much the cool atmosphere but comforts of him like tea in room and on demand Internet would be big upgrades and easy to do. Charge a little more for the room but not for internet!

Room Tip: High floor not on thomson street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    220
    92
    43
    41
See reviews for
57
198
63
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

First of all the location- it is perfect. Right in the middle of Soho, near all the good stuff; restaurants, shops and bars.

The hotel itself is very nice; from the restaurant on the first floor, to the lobby and the hotel rooms. The rooms are a bit bigger than what you usually get in Manhattan and they are well kept. The bed was clean and comfy and the whole thing just feels very pleasant. Some small defects I cared for – the shower head not working well at all (room 776), no complimentary bottle of water to welcome you into the room (but some chocolate…. which makes you very thirsty…) and in the case you need internet - you get charged 15$ per day for Wi-Fi. For some, paying that much as a guest for WI-FI in a not so cheap establishment to begin with can leave some bittersweet taste.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Yoav H,

A big thank you for writing a review and I totally agree - we are in one of the top areas of this city. SoHo is very vibrant and offers a lot!

Glad to hear you felt comfortable in our rooms, sorry you had troubles with the shower head throughout your stay.
I am sorry that you were not informed upon check in but we do offer complimentary internet in the lobby.

We do hope to see you again at Sixty SoHo!

Thank you
Best wishes
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked this room off hotel tonight, I had a business dinner that i knew was going to run real late. I checked in at 5:30, process was quick and there was no line. The room was clean. Its a little on the small side, but perfect for what i was looking for. I got the room for roughly 150 dollars. For that price this hotel cant be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Icebox56,

The entire team here at Sixty SoHo is happy to hear that you had a fine night sleep and that you felt comfortable all around.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We loved our stay! Very friendly, professional staff. Perfect room, very spacious suite. Everything you would expect from a boutique hotel and more. Great robes, sheets, slippers, mini bar selection. Great location! Would highly recommend!
CGC

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review on Tripadvisor!

The entire team at Sixty SoHo is very happy that you had a great stay with us, that you felt comfortable and well taken care of and also that you enjoyed our amenities.

We hope to welcome you back in the nearest future!

Sincerely
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlandtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I understood that the hotel is going through renovation only when I got there (it doesn't say so on the website, or at least nowhere I noticed). There was heavy banging during the whole day, starting at 9am, the water stopped half way through my shower, only one elevator worked--meaning up to ten minutes wait one time (which made me late for a meeting), and a repeating problem with cards that stopped working (which, together with the elevator issue, turned the day into a very annoying one). The only plus was the nice staff. Otherwise, probably the worst stay I ever experienced in any hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Nitzanl1,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one.

I totally understand your frustration with the current situation of our refurbishment and that you were inconvenienced by it and it even made you be late for a meeting as you had to wait so long for the elevator.

As for the key/lock issues you experienced I am very happy to confirm that we will get an entire new key/lock system at the end of this month.

If you would be willing to share your entire experience with me directly, please feel free to contact me at hengelmann@sixtyhotels.com

Thank you for taking your time!

Best regards,
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I spent the weekend at Sixty Soho for my birthday staycation (a last minute deal from the app Hotels Tonight) From minute 1, the staff was amazing--professional, personable and friendly. Although the room was smaller (I think it was a king) than I had anticipated, it was stylish & clean. I loved the evening turndown service (Fat Witch brownies!) and the hotel bar had great music and a low key trendy vibe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Chriss W,

Happy belated Birthday!!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed a nice staycation for your birthday and that Sixty SoHo and staff did its part to it.

If you have planned on coming back to Sixty SoHo before your next Birthday please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can make sure you will have another enjoyable experience.

Thank you!
Best,
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had the pleasure of visiting SIXTY SoHo this weekend after our original reservation had been overbooked at a sister location. The front office staff, led by Iga, could not have been more accommodating and professional. The hotel's convenient location put us within walking distance of wonderful Italian restaurants, a great place for excellent coffee and sandwiches, welcoming shops and boutiques, and the "E" train (which we needed only once to catch the matinee we were in town to see). Our room was well appointed with stone and tile shower stall, flat-panel TV, stereo, minibar, in-room safe, plush robes, and slippers. Minutes after checking-in, a plate of delicious cookies arrived. Coffee for two the next morning came within 10 minutes of ordering. I highly recommend SIXTY SoHo and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Andy L,

Thank you so much for taking your time and posting such a nice review for Sixty Soho and our team. We are very glad that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your amenities in your room.
We are very fortunate to be located in such a great area. Thank you again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are planning to come back.

Sincerely
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY SoHo

Address: 60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#232 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trailblazer in the boutique hotel world, the streamlined SIXTY SoHo-cobblestoned blocks from the NoLiTa, Chinatown, and TriBeCa neighborhoods-is at once Bohemian-chic and luxuriously sophisticated. Nestled in downtown's most stylish district, famous for its pedestrian-friendly culture-and-retail scenes, SIXTY Hotels's flagship has become the place for savvy locals and international travelers to liaison in style, whether its meeting over craft cocktails in the understated Bar, taking in the surrounding cast-iron architecture at the al-fresco guests-only Above SIXTY SoHo 60 rooftop lounge, or slipping into mood-evocative restaurant for romance and cuisine. Kittichai is now closed. A new restaurant debuts in Winter 2015. All guestrooms recently renovated. SIXTY SoHo is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
60 Thompson New York City
60 Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.