We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disrepair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY SoHo

Save Saved
You added SIXTY SoHo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY SoHo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 453 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disrepair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have been to this hotel twice now and here is what I experienced. Six months ago, the first time, my tv would not work at all. Lodge net needed to come out and repair the box. It never happened during my stay.

The second time, was this past week. The first room that the front deck gave me was room 101 on the tenth floor. The remote did not function and the shower head was spraying water on the ceiling because it was cracked. Checked out of that room and checked into room 104. Room 104 was bigger but the toilet handle was falling off the inside bracket which I fixed myself in order to make it work. Next, the duvet was piled and requested a replacement.
They do not have head boards and seems strange attempting to sit up in bed to watch the television. Lastly, the coffee is really bad, my wife had to go to Starbucks the rolling two mornings.

The Hotel should set a policy to examine the rooms before they're rented out, would be my recommendation.

Room Tip: Make sure your remote, toilet, and shower head are working first before you let you bellman go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoha G, Front Office Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and sincerely regret to learn of the challenges you experienced during your recent visit to SIXTY SoHo.

Although we do inspect each and every room prior to our guests' arrival, we apologize for the discrepancies found in yours . At SIXTY SoHo we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service and accommodations, which in this case it appears we have failed to deliver.

Please note that we are looking forward to a hotel refurbishment early next year and sincerely hope to welcome you back so that we may share our new look with you at its conclusion.

We would welcome an opportunity to discuss the issues faced further with you and can be contacted at zghaffar@sixtyhotels.com

Kind Regards,
Zoha Ghaffar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    210
    85
    40
    39
See reviews for
55
182
57
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here with my husband for our weekend staycation. Immaculate room that was bigger than I expected. Great location and great service from a kind and attentive staff. The concierge seemed to read my mind and I couldn't be happier with recommendations she made over the entire weekend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review - it is a pleasure to learn that you had a gread staycation and that we were able to "read your mind".

We look forward to your return at Sixty Soho for your next staycation!

Sincerely
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Excellent boutique hotel close to the subway and the Soho area. Enjoyed our stay with very comfy beds. The staff were attentive to our needs, but could have done with a bit more local knowledge when the concierge was not available.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoha G, Front Office Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at SIXTY SoHo Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Zoha Ghaffar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here right before Christmas and chose it because we have stayed at Thompson hotels in the past and had good success. They are well run and dependable. This hotel was no different. The location was key (right around the corner from the famed Cronuts at the famous Dominique Ansel Bakery.) The check in/lobby situation is a bit awkward. The bell hops are on the street level, but the actual check in desk is on the next floor. The lobby has the potential of being quite elegant, but as it was it seemed a little tired and dated. The best part about this hotel was the location and the cleanliness. The staff was also very friendly and accommodating. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Robin S,

Thank you so much for your review and also for coming back to Sixty SoHo. It is a pleasure to learn that you always felt comfortable staying with us.

We are really very lucky to be in such a great part of this amazing city and right around the corner of delicious culinary goodies.

As for the appearance and condition of the Hotel I am very happy to share with you that we have started our renovation and we are very excited about it. We will refurbish all the rooms, including our Lobby and Concierge area.

Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions and also if you are planning to come back and see our new look - hengelmann@sixtyhotels.com

Thank you again for your feedback!
Best,
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited NY for a few days between Christmas and New Year and wanted a Soho based, comfortable, full service hotel.

Location is very good near to shops and restaurants or just a base to wander from. The room has good features too - decent size, large comfortable bed, separate seating, ok storage, good lighting in both bathroom and bedroom, generally in good repair.

BUT the curtain doesn't fit so the street lighting lit our room too. The door is too short with a large gap at the bottom. A blanket placed on the floor kept out the hall lighting but was no substitute for the missing part of door when it comes to sound insulation. The windows offered no sound protection from the street noises notably the 3am garbage truck and the early delivery lorries. Our room also appeared to be surrounded by bathrooms as the noise of flushing toilets was frequent and unfortunately too much else was also audible. The aircon isn't. As the porter explained on our arrival, the system heats during winter and cools during summer. So if you're too hot in winter you should turn off the "aircon" and hope. We did this and hoping was reasonably effective but obviously no guarantee. Hoping didn't work, though, in the gym - which is tiny. This quickly overheats and becomes very uncomfortable. Finally on the room there is no bath and no kettle - pre-made coffee and tea is available in the morning at reception on a tray (a bit budget hotel).

The few staff that we encountered were very helpful and knowledgeable but it felt that things were being run on a tight budget. For instance, we never saw the bar open. Apparently, it opens at 8pm on a Sunday - so no good for a pre-dinner drink if you are going out - and is closed on a Monday. Not much use to a guest that happens to be there on a Monday. It felt a little like being in an apartment block as we came and went without really experiencing a hotel. The restaurant, on the other hand, had many staff but the food was indifferent and the tone was set when the waiter appeared flummoxed by my request for a gin and tonic as an aperitif.

Would we stay again? Unlikely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at 60 Thompson, a well located SoHo Hotel. The room was elegantly decorated in taupe, brown and black, with all the amenities. The Thai restaurant downstairs had beautiful decor as well, and the food was delicious. We were able to walk to Off Broadway theatre and a jazz club and to interesting commercial areas. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoha G, Front Office Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are so grateful for your feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so happy you were able to take advantage of our central Soho location. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Zoha Ghaffar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Keys to room didn't work and after the third time getting new keys we requested a room change. The room they moved us to was poor and then they upgraded us--I offered to pay for the upgrade, but they declined.The temperature in the room can't be controlled, it is the same temp everywhere in the hotel. My boyfriend has stayed at this hotel many times and was always pleased, but we both agreed it is starting to look worn and is in need of a revamp. The staff was decent and did their best to help. We had 2 additional minibar charges on our bill that were not ours. Nice part of town. Based upon this experience, we are going to stay elsewhere the next time we are in NYC. It wasn't horrible, but didn't make me want to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY SoHo

Address: 60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY SoHo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trailblazer in the boutique hotel world, the streamlined SIXTY SoHo-cobblestoned blocks from the NoLiTa, Chinatown, and TriBeCa neighborhoods-is at once Bohemian-chic and luxuriously sophisticated. Nestled in downtown's most stylish district, famous for its pedestrian-friendly culture-and-retail scenes, Sixty SIXTY's Collective's flagship has become the place for savvy locals and international travelers to liaison in style, whether its meeting over crafts cocktails in the understated Lobby Bar, taking in the surrounding cast-iron architecture at the al-fresco guests-only A60 aerierooftop lounge, or slipping into mood-evocative Kittichai restaurant for romance and sublime Thai cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
60 Thompson New York City
60 Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.