We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique in soho!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY SoHo

Save Saved
You added SIXTY SoHo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SIXTY SoHo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Formerly 60 Thompson - A Thompson Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy 10% off!
Ranked #276 of 446 hotels in New York City
delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“boutique in soho!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

what a wonderful find. just on the eastern edge of soho, this small, trendy and upmarket hotel is wonderful place to stay. Staying in soho changes your perception of New York...it is more Parisian if you like...small cafes, bars and restaurants intermingle with boutiques and everything has a more laid back atmosphere. the hotel itself has...12 floors and 8 rooms to a floor. they are well appointed and the beds very comfotable. there is rooftop bar that has fantastic views of new york and thai restaurant ( expensive) on the ground floor. what i loved most was it was like living in your own apartment...the lift from the enterance took you to your floor by passing reception. hardly saw another guest. great staff.
downside no coffee machines, and the flush makes a lot of noise.
would do it again.

Room Tip: go for the middle floors front facing they are quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Baj,

Thank you for taking the time to review 60 Thompson on Trip Advisor.

We are always excited to see that after 11 years, the hotel is still creating this type of positive guest experience.

It’s also great to see you were able to take complete advantage of what SoHo has to offer.

Regards,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    183
    73
    36
    38
See reviews for
40
153
50
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

60 Thompson is in a fantastic location with lots of shopping / eatiing / drinking opportunities nearby. The rooftop bar is worth a visit for the view, although the quality ofnthe cocktails is only average. In contrast the thai food served in Kittichai is outstanding.

Room on the small size as you'd expect for New York but for a business trip the main problem was the lack of a desk on which to work while at the hotel. Bed linen also a little tired (sheets had pilled) but overall a good choice providing you get a decent rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear mrsandmr_Snuffles,

Thank you taking the time to review 60 Thompson on TripAdvisor,

We are happy to see you taking advantage everything SoHo has to offer, including our rooftop lounge, A60.

The hotel does offer a variety of room types and, one/two bedroom suites as alternatives. We hope on your next visit, you would have an opportunity to try one on.

Thank you again.

Regards,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We werent staying in the hotel but had been recommended to go to the rooftop bar by a local. We managed to get let up (dress up spiffy if you want to be let up and are not a hotel guest) and we stayed here for the rest of the night. AMAZING view. Very intimate place to sit and chat - not really to party. We were very impressed and was the highlight of our trip to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear BelindaD,

Thank you for the taking a moment of your time to share your A60 experience with Tripadvisor.

We know how special our rooftop lounge is and, were very happy to see you were able to enjoy it.

Next time, take advantage of also staying at 60 Thompson...it would make your commute to A60 that much easier!

Regards.

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm a little late with my review. I stayed here for a night back in March 2012. I met a friend who was visiting from London. I was quite nervous about driving into the city and having to deal with parking. The hotel is very close to the Holland Tunnel (only a few blocks). I really couldn't believe how easy the drive actually was (Saturday morning). Parking was valet so I was able to pull right up to the front of the hotel & they took care of the rest. I paid $55 (yikes) (billed on your room bill) and wasn't able to take my car in/out. It still worked out being cheaper for me than taking the train in, etc.

I arrived early in the morning so we could spend the day in the city. I did not expect my room to be ready. The hotel will store your luggage prior to checking in & also when you check out which was fabulous for sightseeing. Later in the day when I actually did check-in, they no longer had king bed rooms which I had booked, therefore they upgraded me at no additional charge to a king suite with a balcony... sweet!

Yes, the hotel was noisy at night, especially for a weekend. There was an event being held that night so the hotel bar was closed for a private function, but were still serving drinks to patrons in the comfy hotel lobby.

Be sure to closely check your bill when checking out as I was charged for room service which I did not order. They did take it off with no problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Polskacorka,

Thank you for taking the time to review 60 Thompson.

I am truly sorry for the expense of parking however; parking lots are a true luxury in the city.

We are happy to see that your overall experience at the hotel was a positive one and, that you would come back in the future.

Regards,

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Overnight at 60 Thompson Hotel. Service and staff are excellent! Room small but comfortable. Has all the comforts one can want....sans kettle and tee service in room. But that can be said about most American hotels. Great roof terrace... Definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for possible upgrade to larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Christian B,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, my sincerest apologies for your noise experience during your stay while in the city.

We make every effort, on every guest interaction, to distinguish ourselves from other hotels by providing a seamless and effortless hotel stay at a price that is related price. I am happy to see we succeeded with you.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Thompson 60 is an excellent choice for NYC. The location between Greenwich Village and SoHo is great. The rooms and service was very good. Especially the restaurant recommendations were superb.
However, we've chosen the hotel to enjoy the roof top bar and this was closed every time we went there (3 times in 3 days!) due to private parties. If you go there, don't expect to get the chance to use it.
Nevertheless, a strong recommend for the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Tobias G,

Thank you for taking the time to review 60 Thompson on Trip Advisor.

We apologize for the closure of A60 during your stay. We try to be very selective on whom and when the rooftop is closed for a private event but, obviously we impacted, in a negative way, your stay.

We do look forward to having you become a loyal Thompson Hotel guest and hope we see you very soon.

Regards,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great spot and yes it's a trendy scene. For the money though the hotel is a bit overrated. The room was a bit ratty (the couch nada big white stain. Yum!). My initial experience with the first employee I came across was less than positive. The door guy was flustered and rude when dealing with my car and bags........if I'm paying around $500 a night that NY A-hole stuff doesn't sit well......
Overall I loved the location but for the money there must be something better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear LAStu,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Although your experience was not one that we are proud of sharing, we do take every review as a potential learning opportunity.

The hotel has been noted, my times over for its exemplary bell and door service however, we seemed to have fallen flat with you and your experience
.
I would like an opportunity to change your mind on 60 Thompson so, if you have a moment, please reach out to me.

Sincerely,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY SoHo

Also Known As:
60 Thompson
60 Thompson New York City
60 Thompson Hotel
Address: 60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Formerly 60 Thompson - A Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SIXTY SoHo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trailblazer in the boutique hotel world, the streamlined SIXTY SoHo-cobblestoned blocks from the NoLiTa, Chinatown, and TriBeCa neighborhoods-is at once Bohemian-chic and luxuriously sophisticated. Nestled in downtown's most stylish district, famous for its pedestrian-friendly culture-and-retail scenes, Sixty SIXTY's Collective's flagship has become the place for savvy locals and international travelers to liaison in style, whether its meeting over crafts cocktails in the understated Thom Bar, taking in the surrounding cast-iron architecture at the al-fresco guests-only A60 aerierooftop lounge, or slipping into mood-evocative Kittichai restaurant for romance and sublime Thai cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.