We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Bar is Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY SoHo to your Saves list
SIXTY SoHo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rooftop Bar is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We werent staying in the hotel but had been recommended to go to the rooftop bar by a local. We managed to get let up (dress up spiffy if you want to be let up and are not a hotel guest) and we stayed here for the rest of the night. AMAZING view. Very intimate place to sit and chat - not really to party. We were very impressed and was the highlight of our trip to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear BelindaD,

Thank you for the taking a moment of your time to share your A60 experience with Tripadvisor.

We know how special our rooftop lounge is and, were very happy to see you were able to enjoy it.

Next time, take advantage of also staying at 60 Thompson...it would make your commute to A60 that much easier!

Regards.

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    225
    93
    43
    41
See reviews for
59
209
63
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm a little late with my review. I stayed here for a night back in March 2012. I met a friend who was visiting from London. I was quite nervous about driving into the city and having to deal with parking. The hotel is very close to the Holland Tunnel (only a few blocks). I really couldn't believe how easy the drive actually was (Saturday morning). Parking was valet so I was able to pull right up to the front of the hotel & they took care of the rest. I paid $55 (yikes) (billed on your room bill) and wasn't able to take my car in/out. It still worked out being cheaper for me than taking the train in, etc.

I arrived early in the morning so we could spend the day in the city. I did not expect my room to be ready. The hotel will store your luggage prior to checking in & also when you check out which was fabulous for sightseeing. Later in the day when I actually did check-in, they no longer had king bed rooms which I had booked, therefore they upgraded me at no additional charge to a king suite with a balcony... sweet!

Yes, the hotel was noisy at night, especially for a weekend. There was an event being held that night so the hotel bar was closed for a private function, but were still serving drinks to patrons in the comfy hotel lobby.

Be sure to closely check your bill when checking out as I was charged for room service which I did not order. They did take it off with no problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Polskacorka,

Thank you for taking the time to review 60 Thompson.

I am truly sorry for the expense of parking however; parking lots are a true luxury in the city.

We are happy to see that your overall experience at the hotel was a positive one and, that you would come back in the future.

Regards,

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Overnight at 60 Thompson Hotel. Service and staff are excellent! Room small but comfortable. Has all the comforts one can want....sans kettle and tee service in room. But that can be said about most American hotels. Great roof terrace... Definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for possible upgrade to larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Christian B,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, my sincerest apologies for your noise experience during your stay while in the city.

We make every effort, on every guest interaction, to distinguish ourselves from other hotels by providing a seamless and effortless hotel stay at a price that is related price. I am happy to see we succeeded with you.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Thompson 60 is an excellent choice for NYC. The location between Greenwich Village and SoHo is great. The rooms and service was very good. Especially the restaurant recommendations were superb.
However, we've chosen the hotel to enjoy the roof top bar and this was closed every time we went there (3 times in 3 days!) due to private parties. If you go there, don't expect to get the chance to use it.
Nevertheless, a strong recommend for the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Tobias G,

Thank you for taking the time to review 60 Thompson on Trip Advisor.

We apologize for the closure of A60 during your stay. We try to be very selective on whom and when the rooftop is closed for a private event but, obviously we impacted, in a negative way, your stay.

We do look forward to having you become a loyal Thompson Hotel guest and hope we see you very soon.

Regards,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great spot and yes it's a trendy scene. For the money though the hotel is a bit overrated. The room was a bit ratty (the couch nada big white stain. Yum!). My initial experience with the first employee I came across was less than positive. The door guy was flustered and rude when dealing with my car and bags........if I'm paying around $500 a night that NY A-hole stuff doesn't sit well......
Overall I loved the location but for the money there must be something better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear LAStu,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Although your experience was not one that we are proud of sharing, we do take every review as a potential learning opportunity.

The hotel has been noted, my times over for its exemplary bell and door service however, we seemed to have fallen flat with you and your experience
.
I would like an opportunity to change your mind on 60 Thompson so, if you have a moment, please reach out to me.

Sincerely,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The 60 thompson is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location close to everything in soho. Having stayed in everything from high end to low end in my travels, I was looking forward to the 60 thompson being the luxury experience to top off my shopping trip to nyc. The hotel facilities did not disappoint, but the service staff were below expected standards. Front desk, lobby bar staff underwhelming and at times a hint rude.

Unfortunately due to weather, the rooftop was closed, and the lobby lounge and bar were one of the most disappointing aspects. Wanting to have an after dinner cocktail, the bar was already filling with drunk, young 20-somethings, no place for a relaxing drink. instead heading to soho house. Told by management that the restaurant downstairs manages the bar did not make a difference, as I expected a quality standard that was far below expectations.

Oh - and the shower in the room didn't work properly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear victoriiii,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Although your experience was not one that we are proud of sharing, we do take every review as a potential learning opportunity.

The hotel has been noted, my times over for its exemplary service however, we seemed to have fallen flat with you and, your experience.

I would like an opportunity to change your mind on 60 Thompson so, if you have a moment, please reach out to me.

Sincerely,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Kind of fell into this hotel when planning a trip to NYC for my daughter's 15th birthday. Totally did not realize that I had had drinks at the bar during a trip about 6 years ago. Anyway, the location in the heart of SOHO is great. You don't need to walk more than two blocks in any direction to find interesting shops, great restaurants, etc.

The hotel offers a great bar/lounge behind reception, plus another swanky rooftop bar with stunning views of the skyline. My wife and I had afternoon drinks at the rooftop and (very) late night drinks at the lounge after returning from a night out. Both offered exceptional drink menus, accommodating service, and their own form of entertainment. Upstairs, the beautiful crowd and the view is the draw. Inside, we had great conversation with the bartender and his late-arriving girlfriend.

Another big plus is the hotel restaurant, Kittichai. I reviewed it separately because it deserves it. A simply phenomenal restaurant all around.

The room we had was fine. Nothing special expected and nothing special delivered. The linens and Kiehl's bath products were nice touches. They did provide complimentary brownies and blondies for turndown but the gesture was unfortunately *MUCH* better than the baked goods. Yikes.

Note that we were given a room on a smoking floor. Didn't think to specify otherwise as it's rare to find smoking rooms in the U.S. nowadays. If you are not a smoker don't forget to specify. Luckily we didn't have neighbors so smoke wasn't an issue.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Damian D,

Thank you for taking a moment to reveiw us on line.

The hotel, after 11 years has become a steady favorite of many guests. Some, like yourself discovered us over drinks in one of our lounges and some, that have actually stayed in the hotel.

Its always great to hear the stories and experiences that our guests have discovered while being at 60 Thompson.

thank you!

Regards,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY SoHo

Address: 60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trailblazer in the boutique hotel world, the streamlined SIXTY SoHo-cobblestoned blocks from the NoLiTa, Chinatown, and TriBeCa neighborhoods-is at once Bohemian-chic and luxuriously sophisticated. Nestled in downtown's most stylish district, famous for its pedestrian-friendly culture-and-retail scenes, SIXTY Hotels's flagship has become the place for savvy locals and international travelers to liaison in style, whether its meeting over craft cocktails in the understated Bar, taking in the surrounding cast-iron architecture at the al-fresco guests-only Above SIXTY SoHo 60 rooftop lounge, or slipping into mood-evocative restaurant for romance and cuisine. Kittichai is now closed. A new restaurant debuts in Winter 2015. All guestrooms recently renovated. SIXTY SoHo is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your SIXTY SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
60 Thompson New York City
60 Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.