We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular boutique hotel-room was small” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY SoHo to your Saves list
SIXTY SoHo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“spectacular boutique hotel-room was small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I loved my experience at 60 thompson. Was prob one of the nicest boutique hotels. service superb, the pretty restaurant downstairs was very romantic, nice rooftop bar, nice little features like DVDselection and concierge that will go the extra mile and neat little feautres in the room. Spa luxury gowns. best of all is it is adventuring around soho. The only drawback was that the room was small. I guess it is new york city and everything in soho feels a little small

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room. I got a small room but there may be bigger ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Larry Krug,

Thank you for taking the time to review 60 Thompson on Trip Advisor.

The property has 4 different room types and 3 styles of suites to choose from at the hotel. Each has a loyal following of guests finding the size more than suitable for their needs. We would welcome discussing those options for you during your next stay.

As you noted, our hotel is centrally located in the heart of SoHo. Surrounded by every major store, boutique, art gallery and restaurant one could hope for when in the city.

It sounds like you took advantage of the area has to offer, good for you!

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    254
    104
    47
    45
See reviews for
73
249
68
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Beautiful interiors. Room service that sometimes doesn't answer the phone but brings the food quickly once you actually get ahold of them. No iron or hairdryer in the room but they'll bring them to you.

Wireless bandwidth was pretty good but not great.

Worst thing is that they have a bar/club in the hotel and you can hear the music on the 7th floor. At 2 am on Monday morning, a few hours before a client meeting, that's extremely annoying.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear M G,
We appreciate you expressing your thoughts on Tripadvisor and, although you’re overall experience was positive, your overall stay was diminished by the sounds of the bar.

I sincerely apologize.

If you could reach out to me to further discuss, I would be more than happy to address our future plans and, to assure you remain a loyal Thompson Hotel guest.

Regards,
Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Everyone from the valet to the front desk (shout out to Katrina) to the chamber maids, John "the night guy", to the manager up on the roof top bar, was simply lovely, kind, and welcoming. My only thing for a hotel is that it has to be clean. I don't care if a hotel is a 1 star or a 5 star (okay, like the 5 stars better but just to give you an idea) but the room has to be clean. I've traveled all my life, and so I know a thing or two about hotels. I did not feel like if I touched something I might get cooties, which happens more often than not. I never felt that way in my room. We had been upgraded to a super suite which was great for our little party group so we got a chance to see another room before our upgrade (we needed a pull out couch and the first room did not have that) and that too was clean as a whistle. The bar upstairs has magnificent views of the Freedom Tower and The Empire State buildings. Room #80, June 15th, 2012

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear tenajroc,

Thank you for the glowing review of 60 Thompson.

I will assure you comments are passed on to our staff, espcially our housekeeping department. I could not agree more about your view on cleanliness.

Suite 80 is considered a Thompson suite. They are one of our branded suites and, a common thread at all Thompson Hotels.

We look forward to having you stay again.

Regards,

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I really wanted to like this place but just fell short. Great location in SoHo but checked in for 4 days after long flight from Middle East. Room was a bit worn but staff was very helpful and friendly. Then the evening came they had put us right over the bar a few floors up, they said they would move us the next day. When we asked about the move manager tried to make us feel guilty that they were booked and he would have to disappoint another guest if they didn't get the room they wanted! Note to self you just disappointed me. Didn't sleep due to noise. Charge 15 dollars per day per device for wi-fi. On check out Victor was helpful and did attempt service recovery but they would have to do much better next time. Usually stay at the Mercer......but I may give this place another shot. Would have to call and make sure where my room was.

Room Tip: Don't be above the club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Texasfan1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, my sincerest apologies for your overall experience during your stay while in the city.

I would like an opportunity to change your mind on 60 Thompson so, if you have a moment, please reach out to me.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in SoHo, within walking distance to all the shopping & restaurants you could ask for. The staff were friendly & there was always someone available to help you with your bags or hail a cab for you. But for the extremely high price of the room, I wouldn't stay here again. Yes, the rooms are large for a New York City hotel. Everything was clean, modern, & comfortable. But nothing was extraordinary. The lighting in the bathroom was poor, our bathtub had a very slow drain so it filled with water when you took a shower, & our room was right above the bar which meant we were subjected to loud music until 2am! We called the front desk to complain, & they offered my friend & I another room...but they didn't have any available doubles, so we had to stay put. The music was so loud that I was literally singing along with the songs that were playing, that's how well I could hear them. It's one thing if a hotel is next door to a loud bar/club & nothing can be done, but this bar was IN the hotel & they still wouldn't turn the music down! I guess the bar brings in more money than the guests - we were very disappointed at their lack of effort to keep things quieter. Overall, this hotel is a trendy spot to have dinner or drinks, but I would look elsewhere for a place to stay. And it was a beautiful weekend in April so we were looking forward to enjoying the rooftop bar, but it still had not been opened for the season! The room/amenities/location of the hotel did not compensate for the high price tag in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so you don't hear the loud music from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear TxGrl,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, my sincerest apologies for your overall experience during your stay while in the city.

We make every effort, on every guest interaction, to distinguish ourselves from other hotels by providing a seamless and effortless hotel stay at a price that is related price.

I would like an opportunity to change your mind on 60 Thompson so, if you have a moment, please reach out to me.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

It's a great shame when any establishment, be it a hotel, restaurant, bar, whatever, is let down by something that might seem insignificant to them but is keenly felt by its patrons. In the case of 60 Thompson, it's the lack of free wi-fi. I know, it sounds trivial and you'd think that the hotel makes up for it in so many other ways, but for me, it left a really sour taste. I mean, these days free wi-fi is so widespread, even in budget standard accommodation. Everyone knows how cheap it is to provide and so I think that if I'm paying $600 a night to stay at a hotel, I can't help but feel a little insulted to be made to pay $15 extra a day for internet connection. If nothing else, out of principle. I mean come on, I can get a coffee at Starbucks for $3 and be granted the pleasure, why not when I stay at a 5-star hotel? The problem is easily addressed and I think that the relatively small amount that the hotel would lose out on would be offset by the far better image it would project to its guests.

Apart from the wi-fi issue, I found 60 Thompson to be an agreeable hotel. The rooms were well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The staff were, on the whole, accommodating and friendly (although, we did encounter one or two servers from the bar that could polish their manners a little), the rooftop bar provided great views for a sundowner, and the hotel, generally, had a good vibe. The SoHo location also can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo M, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Fsraavnikno,

We appreciate you taking a moment out of your busy schedule to review 60 Thompson.

As you have noted, the hotel is centrally located in what is arguably, New York City's best neighborhoods for shopping, dining and people watching.

I am happy to see that your experience was pleasant and up to your standard.

We look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

Regards,

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londinium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the 60 Thompson twice. It is a nice little hotel. I remember it being super cool a few years ago. I love the location as I love SoHo and the hotel is cosy. The beds are extremely comfy. I believe it needs a little bit of a revamp, but not much.
The food at the hotel is good (breakfast and dinner) and the staff is helpful and nice.
Theres a very cute roof top that has nice views of the city. Love the cocktails and the atmosphere.

The only negative thing I would say is that the wifi is not free. It's too expensive. Who still pays for wifi in hotels??? Time to change this ASAP!!

It's a good hotel, young at heart and I would probably return again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SIXTY SoHo, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear cristeena,

Thank you for taking the time tor review 60 Thompson on this wonderful website, TripAvisor.

It sounds as if you took full advantage of everything SoHo including our rooftop lounge, A60.

We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Regards,

Pablo Migoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SIXTY SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY SoHo

Address: 60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Family Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trailblazer in the boutique hotel world, the streamlined SIXTY SoHo-cobblestoned blocks from the NoLiTa, Chinatown, and TriBeCa neighborhoods-is at once Bohemian-chic and luxuriously sophisticated. Nestled in downtown's most stylish district, famous for its pedestrian-friendly culture-and-retail scenes, SIXTY Hotels's flagship has become the place for savvy locals and international travelers to liaison in style, whether its meeting over craft cocktails in the understated Bar, taking in the surrounding cast-iron architecture at the al-fresco guests-only Above SIXTY SoHo 60 rooftop lounge, or slipping into mood-evocative restaurant for romance and cuisine. Kittichai is now closed. A new restaurant debuts in Winter 2015. All guestrooms recently renovated. SIXTY SoHo is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
60 Thompson New York City
60 Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.