We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, hospitality and luxe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 nights receive 20%
Ranked #22 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Los Alamitos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, hospitality and luxe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at The Iroquois for 1 night after a weeklong cruise. We got to the hotel well before noon and were able to check in early and got an upgraded room too! Our room was across from the elevator but we never heard any noise. The room was a comfortable size, Molton Brown tolietries, Frette bed linens and a lovely marble bathroom. The front desk staff and bellman were pleasant and professional. Cold water and coffee in the lobby as well as no charge computers and printer, with free wi-fi. We don't get to New York often but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear BenjaminLucy,

Thank you for such a generous review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival as well as an upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again soon and if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more comfortable please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    516
    100
    35
    19
See reviews for
404
800
116
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at The Iroquois for our 45th wedding anniversary. Although we live close to NYC, my husband had never expressed an interest in staying there or doing "touristy" things. Based on advice from a travel expert in the family and the discounted price offered that weekend, we chose The Iroquois. We were not disappointed. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we felt like very special guests or family members. The desk clerk was friendly and efficient. We even managed to find out that she was from a town right
next to our own. The deluxe king accommodation was exactly as pictured on the website. It was small, but then most hotel rooms in NYC are. The room was clean and the bathroom was very big. All the amenities are listed on the website. The only thing that was missing was a blow dryer, but since I did not need one, it was no big deal. The air conditioning in our room was not working correctly. The desk clerk called engineering immediately, and, by the time we returned to our room, the unit was functioning well. Bill, the concierge, found out that it was our anniversary and had complimentary wine and chocolates sent up to our room. He also helped us to find the correct subways for some of the tours that we wanted to go on. Finally, Bill and the manager of the hotel's restaurant Triomphe arranged a very special anniversary dinner for us. I will review the restaurant separately.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Amodra S,

Thank you for choosing to spend your 45th wedding anniversary with us here at The Iroquois New York! We are honored that we were able to be a part of such a wonderful occasion. Thank you for your glowing review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Vanessa Tourruellas and Bill Heinrichs exceptional concierge service is why we will return to this hotel. We were always greeted walking in and out of the hotel with such a genuine feeling and curiosity about our adventures around the city. We also found all the bellman to be extremely friendly and helpful. I would defiantly request a king bed next time because I'm pretty sure our queen was not your normal queen bed. (a little smaller than we have at home) However it was amazingly comfortable. The only issue we had was follow up with the front desk when we asked for ice and shampoo at separate times neither arrived. Again thanks Vanessa and Bill for making our stay in New York so great.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear pl25years,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Iroquois New York and for your extremely positive review! Vanessa and Bill are truly valued assets of the Iroquois team and I am so happy that the y were able to assist you with everything you needed. We look fora to seeing you again soon and please let us know if there is anything we can do to help arrange your next NYC adventure.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After visiting family in New Yersey and haring plans to wander around NYC for 2 more days, the Iroquois is a perfect spot! With a traditional interior and well-manered personnel you really feel like royalty.

We had the junior suite at the front of the hotel and that was a little noisy but not too much. It's normal with city life... The king size bed was one of the best i've slept in in my whole life! Great experience!

Together with watching 'The Wolf of Wall street' it was almost a legendary stay! Thank you Iroquois!!!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear DJ_Hildebrand_L,

We are so happy that you decided to come into the city and stay with us while visiting your family. Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you had such a great time and we look froward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Excellent facility, staff and location in mid-town. My favorite of all New York hotels. The Iroquois is not only comfortable in its facilities, but staffed with knowledgeable and engaging Reception team.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Jim C,

Thank you fro staying with us and for your excellent review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I do not think we could put into words how outstanding this hotel and it's staff are! We arrived early and found our rooms ready. We had 2 x 2 double bedded rooms. They had ensured that we were on the same floor. Our rooms were beautifully decorated not huge but really great use of space. Our bathroom was beautiful and the Molten Brown products were fabulous and made the stay even more luxurious.
We had a problem with one of the room safes and the manager Robert came and sorted it for us. Honestly the care and attention that is shown at this hotel is second to none, I have never stayed in a hotel with such fabulous customer service. A special mention for Vanessa, the concierge, she was amazing. Before we went I had questions and Vanessa answered them with ease and quickly. We needed to get a wheelchair for my mum, it was there waiting for us when we arrived and the hotel kept it downstairs so it was not in the way in the room. Bill the other concierge was fantastic too making sure my mum was alright and that our fussy daughter had a drink of coke as she didn't like the beautiful flavoured water in reception. The porters were all friendly and enjoyed joking with us 5 mad scottish people, makes a difference when people can laugh with you! the The hotel is not far from any of the major attractions in fact we kept falling upon things and laughed that we had primed ourselves for a long walk.
So all in all The Iroquois and staff deserve 10 out of 5! When we return to New York we will be staying here and will not be looking elsewhere. Forgot to mention the chocolates, chocolate strawberries and strawberries that were in both rooms when we arrived as our daughter was celebrating her birthday and each night her 3 cuddly toys were positioned on the turndown of the bed. Personal touches like these make the difference between wonderful and magnificent! Thank you. Please pass on our sincere gratitude to all your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear logans20,

We are so honored to be apart of your family trip to NYC and even more happy that we were able to make it the best we could possibly make it for you. I will be sure to tell Boll about your kind remarks as well as the rest of the staff. We look forward to your return and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

To say we were pleased with rooms and how we were treated by your staff would be a masterpiece of understatement. This to me, this is an indication that you train and coach your folks well and that you run a tight ship. Congratulations!

Your staff are absolutely delightful. I was particularly impressed by the Bill Heinrichs' (concierge) assistance in helping me to navigate my way around and for his suggestions as to music venues. He steered me on to Dizzy's at the Time-Warner building, where I enjoyed a great meal listening to a great group. We had great experiences with everyone including Vanessa, Alex, JJ, Sagar, Carlos, Ezra, the cleaning lady, plus the lovely ladies at the front desk (unfortunately, I can't find where I wrote their names).

For someone on vacation, your breakfast prices warranted that we visited the local coffee shop across the street and Cranberries Delli on 45th. As with any mini-bar that I've seen, your prices were out of my "snack bracket" all together. I would prefer not to even have this in my room the next time we visit, and would prefer that you provide a small refrigerator at no charge. I suggest that you have the A/C unit in Room 806 checked out, It's noisy and annoying.

My wife will recommend your hotel to our friends and we will return to your hotel for our next visit. My wife says that she read that your hotel was rated as 19th of 400 plus hotels in NYC. No need to convince me, or my wife of this.



Please convey our sentiments to your staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Swehttams54,

There's not much to say in response to your review other than we are truly appreciative we were able to provide you with stay that we strive for all our guests to have. We look forward welcoming you back again soon and making it another memorable NYC visit.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#18 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.