We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising find in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 nights receive 20%
Ranked #22 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Orinda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprising find in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Iroquois was a quiet retreat in the midst of the theatre district. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. Carpeting a bit dingy and view not so good, but loved the quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sharon W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly appreciate it! I am glad you enjoyed our quiet location and the comfortable beds and we do have plans in the very near future that include updating our carpets and rooms so I hope you return once its finished to see all then upgrades. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    518
    100
    35
    19
See reviews for
406
800
116
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Have stayed here off and on since 1981. Great little hotel. Reasonably priced. If you're looking for a big room, you're in the wrong place. If you're looking for a conveniently located, clean and friendly hotel 5 min from Times Square, this is it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear nmre,

Thank you for considering us as your preferred hotel in NYC. It is truly wonderful to have such a loyal guest return time and time again and is still enjoying it as much as you are. We look forward to seeing you again soon and if you need anything to make you next trip even better please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at The Iroquois for one night and was delighted with my experience. I arrived early and expected to wait for check-in but received access to my room immediately. The room was a nice size for an NYC hotel room, very clean, comfortable, and attractive. The bathroom was spotless and beautifully styled. The best part was the sound-proof windows! I slept like a baby all night. Also, the location of this property is one thing that drew me to it when booking my hotel. It is close to the Lincoln Tunnel (easy in and easy out), parking directly across the street, Times Square around the corner, in the Theater District, Bryant Park and the NY Public Library a couple blocks away, Central Park within walking distance and great shopping along 5th Ave. Would highly recommend this property to friends and colleagues visiting the area in the future and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Kelli S,

We are so happy to hear that you had a "Fantastic experience"! Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing the Iroquois New York on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC tip please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the door to the time we loaded out, we were treated like Queens. The service at this hotel is first class all the way. Front desk was attentive, friendly and professional. The concierge was superb and extremely helpful, going above and beyond to make our stay - and future trips into the city - delightful. The Triomphe bar (and Carlos, the bartender) offered a delightful respite to the end of a long day in the city. It was well stocked with the usual drinks, and offered a nice specialty menu as well. Our room was impeccably clean, with a well appointed bathroom, including robes and amenities. For NYC, it was very spacious. And really, who doesn't love turn down service with chocolates on the pillow? Free WiFi is such a rare find anymore, and the small 'library' area is a perfect waiting place or quiet reading area. This hotel also boasts a functional fitness area and a dry sauna ! Elevators ran quickly and smoothly, and although we did not go in, the small exclusive cocktail bar "Lanterns Keep" seemed a Romantic's haven. This hotel is close enough to all the hub and bub of Times Square without all the noise and confusion that goes with it. We also did not eat at their restaurant - too many other choices. Maybe next time. This hotel is a beauty, and we can't wait to go back to be pampered again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear lucky1135,

We want to thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed compliments in regards to our, staff, hotel and your experience that you had while staying with us. It seems as if you had the stay we strive for all of our guests to have and we are so thrilled that you were able to enjoy the Iroquois for all that it is. Thank you again and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great small hotel with terrific service. We had a special request to have a selection of pies from Little Pie Company sent to a guest's room (we weren't guests at the time). The concierge, Bill, went out of his way to meet our needs, walking over half mile each way to pick up the pies and deliver them to the room. Above and beyond!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear traveler8001,

Thank you for choosing the Iroquois New York! I am thrilled to hear your stay was so wonderful and that Bill was able to make your stay as special as he did! We appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with the TripAdvisor community and hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Fabulous hotel! So close to everything. Very clean and quiet hotel. The staff is so helpful and provided personalized service. Will definitely stay here again.
Will recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Christina H,

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are truly appreciative you chose to stay with us for your first NYC trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed at the Iroquois for business. Got upgraded to a small room, so I don't know what the lowest grade room was like. Room was alright, but no different in size or amenities than other hotel rooms for a comparable price in mid-town. Front desk staff polite but not very helpful. Couldn't get room service at night, no matter what I did - eventually had to leave hotel to get dinner, instead of staying and working in my room. Not a major problem, but a huge waste of time and really aggravating. Hotel staff didn't seem to care. I won't be going back - not worth the price for what I got. A positive note: very quiet relative to other hotels. Could sleep without being awakened by street noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear SmallBusinessOwner,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize for the incident regarding the room service. Our room types do vary and please let us know if you choose to come to stay with us again so that we can be sure to offer the proper accommodations you are looking for to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#18 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.