We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Tecumseh, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hotel to experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Elegantly styled and very comfortable rooms with lots of space to move about; beds very comfortable and nicely turned back - great chocolate treats left on the pillows; friendly reception & assistance

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Christine R,

We are honored to be called "A hotel to experience" and are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. If you need any assistance arranging your next New York vacation please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    464
    92
    32
    19
See reviews for
359
710
113
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Small, friendly hotel. Near theater district but not in it and quiet inside. Helped us with late checkout which was necessary. This is not a hotel to remember for itself but it is terrific place to stay right in the heart of New York City

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Jslavin,

Thank you for staying at the Iroquois New York and for your feedback on your time with us. I am glad to hear we were able to assist you with a late check out and hope you return again soon.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The beds were the best. I slept really well. Often they are too hard for me.
The position of the hotel was perfect for us. It was close to walk to a lot of places and easy to take the metro. There are several places close to the hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Anne I,

Thank you for staying at the Iroquois New York. We are happy to hear that our location suited you well and that are beds and the best! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It's a charming boutique hotel with many elegant touches, and the Victorian decor was beautifully emphasized, but nicely coupled with up-to-the minute bathroom fixtures, a nice strong shower, and super comfortable bed with top quality bedding. The only drawback to my very short stay at The Iroquois was that the beautiful Victorian bar (where I had planned to meet with friends) was closed on Sunday, and no food was available either. I am not prepared for things to be closed in NYC which I think of as always hopping. Other than that, though, my stay was wonderful. Front desk was very welcoming and even made coffee for me at 4am for a ridiculously early getaway. A very charming hotel with comfort and character and ideally located right down the street from theatre. Service was impeccable. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Mine was in the back facing an unattractive air shaft. However this turned into a blessing. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear FoxVoyage,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are so pleased to hear that the service was impeccable and that you will definitely be returning. We hope that the next time you stay with us we will be able to serve you one of our handcrafted cocktails in Lantern's Keep, they sure are delicious!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have stayed in this property many times over the years and every time, the hotel is spotless, the staff very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. Highly recommend the Iroquois!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Bethany C,

Thank you for returning once again to the Iroquois New York! We are happy to here that you had a great time yet again. It's our pleasure to welcome you back time and again and we can't wait until we meet again!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed three nights and the staff welcomed us with open arms to this lovely boutique hotel. There is always fresh infused water for hydration
Coffee in the am in the lobby
The staff made sure we had anything we needed for our outings
We went to two Boadway shows within walking distance and also were able to walk to Central Park
Times Square is a block and a half away but the rooms though a little small were quite and we rested well on luxury linens
Did not eat at the restaurant but had dens at the bar-talented bartender-best brandy Alexander for a nightcap and my husband lived his Manhattan
Want to Especially thank the bell boy Zach from San Rafael California his cheerful welcomes always made our comings and goings great
To the owner manager thank you from the bottom if my small town heart for making my first visit to NYC Amazing awesome fabulous fun!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear CatCalifornia,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is feedback like yours that help continually motivate our staff to exceed our guests' expectations. I have shared your comments with Zach. We are quite fortunate to have him on our team!

Truly pleased to hear of your overall satisfaction with our staff, hotel and location and we look forward to your return visit back to the Iroquois!

Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed during a very cold and snowy week in January 2014. Building is well maintained and the rooms are a reasonable size given the location. The bed is comfortable and it was quiet so we rested well. The best part is arguably the staff, who are passionate about delivering great service. Friendly, concerned and genuine. You'll always be asked if you know directions or if you'd like a recommendation. We really felt at home and would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Eventine,

Thank you for choosing the Iroquois New York and for not holding the cold snowy winter that we experienced against us! During times of such extreme weather conditions it is all we strive for to ensure our guests are still having the best stay they could possibly have no matter what is happening outside. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time with the staff and I will absolutely share this with our staff hear. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Iroquois in the near future and hopefully with better weather!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.