We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home-from-home in NYC: exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Save Saved
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 451 hotels in New York City
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Your home-from-home in NYC: exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The staff make this hotel exceptional ... yes the hotel location is fantastic and yes the rooms are very clean and comfortable and yes the product has quality stamped all over it ... however the staff are the stars, they are so HELPFUL and SO FRIENDLY and always go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Thanks to all the team at the Iroquois, you are all amazing, but special thanks go to Vanessa on Concierge for her spot-on recommendations and helpful and enthusiastic nature ... what a pleasure she was to deal with. When we return to NYC we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else but here, this hotel is a perfect balance of a quality product coupled with respectful and friendly service! Thank you, you made our week in New York so comfortable :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Shelleybabes100,

Thank yo for calling us your home away from home in NYC, that is just about the best compliment any hotel could receive! We are honored that you feel that he staff make our hotel so exceptional and that the rooms suited all of your needs. Vanessa is definitely an asset o the Iroquois team and we are lucky to have such a knowledgeable and dedicated individual. We hope to see you again soon and to have the opportunity to make your next stay even better would be our pleasure.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,121
    448
    91
    32
    19
See reviews for
332
664
109
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location, about 5 minutes walk from Times Square. Our rooms were quiet and just the perfect place to relax after wandering about all day (beds were very comfy!) Free coffee is served downstairs every morning - and warm apple cider later on. Everyone at the Iroquois was friendly and always available for advice on where to eat, or the best way to get Broadway tickets. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear fifer66,

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your five night stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your recommendation as there are an endless amount of choices when it come to NYC hotels. The Iroquois staff is truly one of our greatest assets and I am pleased to hear that hey were able to help you throughout your stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Iroquois is a (relatively) small, upscale luxury hotel, so be prepared to pay up. It was first class all the way. The restaurant was excellent. The staff were friendly and attentive. The concierge was most helpful. Top notch (and pricey).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for staying at the Iroquois New York! We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed everything from our restaurant Triumph to our staff and the concierge services. We look forward to your next stay and encourage you to sign up for our Gold Guest Program offering exclusive rates, amenities and upgrades all while earning points to use for future stays! We look forward to seeing you again and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC adventure please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This beautiful hotel, is wonderfully located: Broadway, Times Square, Central Park, the Rockefeller Center, were all in walking distance. Still our rooms were wonderfully quiet and we slept like babies. The staff was very helpful and helped us with reservations in restaurants, directions, etc.. We had a delicious breakfast, chosen from a cosmopolitan menu including fritatas, belgian waffles, etc.. lovely experience! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear andreanne,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Iroquois New York and for the feedback time and again! We sincerely hope that all of our guests are experiencing the things that you are experiencing and every time that they visit no less. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please do not hesitate to contact us. We truly appreciate your loyalty and can't wait to see you again.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our first stay will not be our last.
Minutes from the theaters....perfect location.
Their Triomphe Restaurant...even better than the River café....except for the view of course.
The friendliest hotel we have ever stayed at. Perfection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear itsmemick,

There is no better review to read than one that says you'll be back again! We are truly appreciative that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to make your next stay even better than your first. If you need any assistance arranging your next NYC trip please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel but always let the ex do the reviews. I've never had a bad night's sleep in this hotel. Never. The beds are always comfortable, and this stay was no exception. The is always professional, the bar has single malt scotch, its within walking distance to the theaters I want to attend. And as an added bonus with this trip, it was handy to the garment district so I was able to do some shopping and planning as well as relax.

If you are a very light sleeper, request a room that does not overlook the street, but the noise is not as loud as visitors would expect. Have breakfast in Triomphe and before dinner cocktails at the bar. Or grab a paper and people-watch in the lobby...its all up to you. The hotel gives you the perfect backdrop for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear LoverOfSeattle,

Thank you for returning to the Iroquois New York time and time again. I am happy to hear that we are always able to offer you with a comfortable nights sleep and that the location suits your needs. We truly appreciate your feedback and seeing that you know our property from our restaurant Triomphe to the Library and to our specialty cocktail lounge makes your input that much more important. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

An Excellent location just 2 blocks from time square...we stayed in a suite on the 12th floor (top floor) . From the moment you check in you are made to feel so welcome and the staff are very attentive to any requests. The room itself was superb, we had chocolates and wine in our room on arrival which was a nice touch.
The bathroom was clean , maybe a little on the small side (as we had 4 adults in the suite) but it did have a bath and a separate shower cubicle with molten brown toiletries provided along with bath robes. No street noise could be heard from the room.
A nice touch was the coffee in the lobby in he morning which was then changed to warm cider mid afternoon. There is also a small library for communal use.
Please email the hotel with any queries or requests before you travel , the concierge service is excellent.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear HomeandAway74,

Thank you so much for your superb feedback on your recent stay and for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us! We are so happy to hear that your stay was so positive and that the staff were so attentive to your needs. Our concierge team, Vanessa and Bill, are truly one of our strongest assets and I am pleased to hear they were able to help you navigate your vacation as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC vacation please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#14 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.