We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Iroquois New York to your Saves list
The Iroquois New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Comp Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location, about 5 minutes walk from Times Square. Our rooms were quiet and just the perfect place to relax after wandering about all day (beds were very comfy!) Free coffee is served downstairs every morning - and warm apple cider later on. Everyone at the Iroquois was friendly and always available for advice on where to eat, or the best way to get Broadway tickets. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear fifer66,

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your five night stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your recommendation as there are an endless amount of choices when it come to NYC hotels. The Iroquois staff is truly one of our greatest assets and I am pleased to hear that hey were able to help you throughout your stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    618
    117
    39
    24
See reviews for
517
964
134
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Iroquois is a (relatively) small, upscale luxury hotel, so be prepared to pay up. It was first class all the way. The restaurant was excellent. The staff were friendly and attentive. The concierge was most helpful. Top notch (and pricey).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for staying at the Iroquois New York! We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed everything from our restaurant Triumph to our staff and the concierge services. We look forward to your next stay and encourage you to sign up for our Gold Guest Program offering exclusive rates, amenities and upgrades all while earning points to use for future stays! We look forward to seeing you again and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC adventure please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This beautiful hotel, is wonderfully located: Broadway, Times Square, Central Park, the Rockefeller Center, were all in walking distance. Still our rooms were wonderfully quiet and we slept like babies. The staff was very helpful and helped us with reservations in restaurants, directions, etc.. We had a delicious breakfast, chosen from a cosmopolitan menu including fritatas, belgian waffles, etc.. lovely experience! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear andreanne,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Iroquois New York and for the feedback time and again! We sincerely hope that all of our guests are experiencing the things that you are experiencing and every time that they visit no less. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please do not hesitate to contact us. We truly appreciate your loyalty and can't wait to see you again.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our first stay will not be our last.
Minutes from the theaters....perfect location.
Their Triomphe Restaurant...even better than the River café....except for the view of course.
The friendliest hotel we have ever stayed at. Perfection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear itsmemick,

There is no better review to read than one that says you'll be back again! We are truly appreciative that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to make your next stay even better than your first. If you need any assistance arranging your next NYC trip please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel but always let the ex do the reviews. I've never had a bad night's sleep in this hotel. Never. The beds are always comfortable, and this stay was no exception. The is always professional, the bar has single malt scotch, its within walking distance to the theaters I want to attend. And as an added bonus with this trip, it was handy to the garment district so I was able to do some shopping and planning as well as relax.

If you are a very light sleeper, request a room that does not overlook the street, but the noise is not as loud as visitors would expect. Have breakfast in Triomphe and before dinner cocktails at the bar. Or grab a paper and people-watch in the lobby...its all up to you. The hotel gives you the perfect backdrop for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear LoverOfSeattle,

Thank you for returning to the Iroquois New York time and time again. I am happy to hear that we are always able to offer you with a comfortable nights sleep and that the location suits your needs. We truly appreciate your feedback and seeing that you know our property from our restaurant Triomphe to the Library and to our specialty cocktail lounge makes your input that much more important. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

An Excellent location just 2 blocks from time square...we stayed in a suite on the 12th floor (top floor) . From the moment you check in you are made to feel so welcome and the staff are very attentive to any requests. The room itself was superb, we had chocolates and wine in our room on arrival which was a nice touch.
The bathroom was clean , maybe a little on the small side (as we had 4 adults in the suite) but it did have a bath and a separate shower cubicle with molten brown toiletries provided along with bath robes. No street noise could be heard from the room.
A nice touch was the coffee in the lobby in he morning which was then changed to warm cider mid afternoon. There is also a small library for communal use.
Please email the hotel with any queries or requests before you travel , the concierge service is excellent.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear HomeandAway74,

Thank you so much for your superb feedback on your recent stay and for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us! We are so happy to hear that your stay was so positive and that the staff were so attentive to your needs. Our concierge team, Vanessa and Bill, are truly one of our strongest assets and I am pleased to hear they were able to help you navigate your vacation as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC vacation please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel has the old-NY feel, a location in the midst of just about everything and staff that are consistently friendly, helpful and welcoming. We spent 6 nights there and loved everything except the windows opening only onto a light well which limited natural light to the room. Remarkably quiet room, perhaps because faced on a side light well! Thanks to the great staff for making us feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ginlynn47,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made you feel at home! We do have quite a few different room types and next time you come to New York maybe we could entice you with some more natural light. Thank you again we look forward to seeing you soon and making your next stay even better.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,965 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,617 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#23 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#53 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,482 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#61 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.