We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay near Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore
1 review
“Excellent stay near Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is well located and easy to find. The front desk staff were always incredibly friendly and helpful. I was impressed with the room, everything was immaculate and well maintained. We did wish the flat screen TVs had HDMI ports so we could have used our Chromecast, but that's a minor complaint. Also, the only window in our room faced a brick wall, but it turned out to create an incredibly dark night that had us sleeping like babies.

Being so close to Times Square was wonderfully. We could get around easily to all of our destinations and there were great dining options nearby. The concierge made great recommendations for options during our short stay and we were very satisfied with the experience.

My only complaint was regarding the shower - the fixtures were very hard to control making the water temperature difficult to manage. It quickly went from too hot to too cold without a lot of room for minute adjustments. Overall, thought, I'd highly recommend The Iroquois and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Lp R,

Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to accommodate all your needs while in New York! Thank you for bringing up your issues with the fixtures in the shower and I can assure you that not only do we have plans in the very near future to upgrade our facilities but that we want your stay to be as comfortable as possible. We look forward to your next stay and if you need any assistance arranging it please do not hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    567
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
452
879
124
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Selah, Wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a great location, close to Times square, Rockefeller center, Broadway shows and subway. Rooms in NY are not big, but the bedding was luxurious, the room and hotel were beautifully styled, and the staff showed a nice combination of classy and casual. They give a break on Sunday rates, which accounted for the good "value".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Lisa L,

It's great to hear that we were able to offer you everything you needed to make your stay comfortable and luxurious! We know that vacationing in New York can be pretty taxing so its great to hear that our location assisted in making your trip a little more convenient while seeing shows and our beds offered up some quality rest! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenungsund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

A wonderful hotel with lots of character and extremely friendly staff! The beds were very comfortable and the room was big and beautiful. The location was perfect! We will definately return! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Charlotte S,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your time here in New York and look forward to your next visit. If you need any assistance arranging your next stay please don't hesitate to ask!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Iroquois many times and we are always treated to a lovely stay. The rooms are clean, friendly staff and interesting drinks in the bar. The location is good and parking right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Phillip L,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Iroquois New York! I am so pleased that you have a positive experience time and time again when you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit and I hope that you are signed up to our Gold Guest Program to earn points towards future stays as well as complimentary amenities and special rates!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
..
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel`s location was great (near etc. Grand Central Terminal and Bryant Park)and staff was very helpfull and friendly. Room was little bit small (three girls and shopping bags in two queen size superior room ;) ) but it was clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Johanna K,

Thank you for choosing the Iroquois New York while visiting NYC. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the staff and the location of the hotel and we hope to see you again soon. The Iroquois does offer a few different room types and when you come back maybe we can find something with a little more space to make your next stay even better!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was my third visit to NYC and I spent many hours / weekends researching Hotels on Trip Advisor and their websites before deciding on the Iroquois based on previous reviews, amenities offered and their location.

Jizelle and Lisa in reservations were extremely helpful and very prompt in replying to my emails when enquiring re availability, room choices and then ultimately making my booking.

We were a group of five ladies staying and had booked an executive king suite interconnecting with a deluxe king (making it a 2 bedroom suite). The executive suite had a very roomy king bedroom with a separate lounge room that housed a pullout sofa and this room interconnected with a deluxe king bed room.

This hotel is in a great central location, two blocks walk from Times Square and midpoint if wanting to travel downtown or uptown walking or on the subway. I found all the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful and we used the Concierge services quite a bit during our stay for their knowledge and recommendations.

I have rated this hotel as Excellent due to central location, great staff, cleanliness, quality of rooms, plenty of amenities and I paid a very reasonable nightly rate for my stay.

I am travelling to NYC in February next year and will choose to stay at the Iroquois again if available.

Room Tip: Executive King Suites are very roomy and have a seperate lounge area with pullout sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear LMAust,

WOW! We are thrilled that you had such an excellent experience from making your booking all the way through to check out! Traveling in NYC with a group of five can prove to be difficult and I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate all of your needs. We can't wait to see you next February and if you need anything please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The location is excellent, a 2 minute walk from 5th Avenue, 5 minute walk from Times Square. There is a diner a few doors down which is great for breakfast.

Clean and luxurious rooms, small but no smaller than what I'd expect for NYC. We were offered an upgrade of our room but were more than happy with the room we were allocated at check in. Gym has the basics and we enjoyed use of the sauna.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge who are more than happy to recommend some of their favourite places and make reservations, something which is always helpful in such a big city.

I will stay here again when I return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for providing such WONDERFUL feedback! It is truly appreciated and we are so happy you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and if you need any help making your next NYC trip even better than your last please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#20 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.