We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 nights receive 20%
Ranked #22 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed at the Iroquois while in NYC for business - client chose hotel and could not be more pleased with selection. Excellent location and even more fantastic cocktail bar. Will definitely recommend to colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear SCH416,

We are so glad that your client chose the Iroquois New York too! However, we are more pleased that you enjoyed your stay to the level that you did. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and if you or any of your colleagues need assistance booking their stay with us here at the Iroquois New York please don't hesitate to call.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    502
    97
    35
    19
See reviews for
386
772
116
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My three-night stay at the Iroquois was wonderful! The staff was pleasant, professional and helpful. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The food was outstanding! Because of the location of the hotel, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. The location is perfect for the theater and all the highlights of mid-town Manhattan. The Iroquois will be my first choice on my next trip to New York!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mary H,

We are so happy that you found your three-night stay to be wonderful! It is such an honor to receive such a positive review that touches on all that we focus on here at the Iroquois New York. We can't wait for your next stay and if you need any assistance planning your next trip you know who to call! :)

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in a Premium King room and it was a nice size and had a nice layout. The room was very clean which is a priority.The staff was wonderful. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and personable. Since we were going to a 2:00 show, we had arrived early, around noon, and stopped by the hotel to check our luggage. Our room was ready and we were very appreciative that we were able to check in and relax before heading back out to our show. This was our second stay at the Iroquois and would stay there again when we return to NYC. It is in a great location!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Karen P,

We are truly grateful that you returned to the Iroquois for a second stay! I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate your early check-in and that the staff was friendly and personable. We hope to make your next visit even more enjoyable and if you need any assistance arranging it please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Booked for 3 nights before a Bahamas cruise. Enjoyed our stay, the hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff the most helpful I have ever encountered. After the cruise the hotel looked after our bags (for a small charge) rather than spend a whole day waiting at the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a double double room. Although the room was small there was no noise at all, and that was wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear nicles110,

Being called the most helpful staff you have ever encountered is truly an honor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we want to thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next stay and if you need any assistance arranging your next trip to NYC please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came to New York for a weekend getaway and really enjoyed our time at the Iroquois! The room was great and the staff was very helpful! Dinner at Triomphe was super (especially when it was 12 degrees outside!)

Vanessa and Bill at the concierge desk helped us with several great restaurant recommendations and transportation arrangements to a concert in Newark. Sofien, the bartender at Triomphe, was there before and after the concert with a few snacks and expertly crafted drinks! All of the staff were helpful and considerate.

When we return to New York, Iroquois will be our first choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear CBrandon,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for staying with us here at the Iroquois New York. We truly appreciate your patronage and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Sofien, Bill and Vanessa. We look forward to your next stay here at the Iroquois and if there is anything we can do to make it even more memorable please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Iroquois is perfectly situated for easy walking to Madison Square Garden, shopping, shows, and superb dining. The hotel is excellent: clean, well appointed, very elegant. The staff was pleasant, accomodating, helpful and professional. You cannot go wrong staying at the Iroquois.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear William B,

We are truly pleased that you had such an enjoyable time while staying with us here at The Iroquois New York. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to your next stay!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for four nights in an Executive Suite. It was four of us, three adults and one child. The hotel is located just minutes (waking) from Times Square and the theatre district. Check in was effortless and we had prearranged a birthday gift for one of our party to be in the room when we first entered. It was there as promised. The executive suite is a living room with TV and sofa bed which is separated from the king bedroom by a door. King room has its own TV and a comfortable sitting chair. The bathroom is on the small side but has a separate shower and nice jetted tub.

The room was extremely clean and very nice. We were on floor 7 and our view was facing the Chrysler building. There are only two elevators in the hotel but never had to wait long.

The staff without exception are first class and they really do take pride in the hotel. The bar is nice and intimate. We tried room service twice and were very pleased.

The queen sofa bed was used by one in our group and it surpassed many of the sofa beds we have used. Sofa bed has memory foam and not a mattress so it is supporting and comfortable. The king bed is incredibly comfortable.

There is a relatively small but well equipped fitness room that serves it's purpose. The concierge was nice and helpful.

If you prefer small intimate boutique hotels with superior service with excellent location, then look no further.

We had high expectations of this hotel and all were met with most being exceeded. This is a very well managed hotel with staff that actually like to work there.

I read in other reviews that the thermostat in each room is controlled by the front desk. This is only partly true in that it appears each room has a locked range of temperatures you can control by the room thermostat. We used this with no problem. If you need a larger range of control you just have to ask the front desk.

We will definitely stay here when we go back to NYC.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear tmde,

Thank you for your extensive review! We truly appreciate your feedback and thrilled you had an excellent time with us. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your group that the staff was helpful throughout the property. We look forward to your next visit and if you need any assistance booking your next trip to NYC please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.