We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
1 review
“Quaint and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The NY Iroquois is a gem for the all who don't like the to stay in a large impersonal hotel. Rooms are small but filled with amenities. Service is excellent. I stay here for business and would stay here if I was a tourist as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Christine F,

Creating a personal connection matched with superior customer service is precisely our goal. We are so happy that is what you find when you stay with us and we look forward to your next stay. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you have a wonderful holiday season.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    568
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
454
880
124
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

While the Hotel is not the cheapest, we are return visitors (over 3 times) and each time the staff greats us very warmly and by name.
This is a true boutique hotel with all the perks.
The fitness room is small, but sufficient. The street is quite which for New York is a plus.
Location is great

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jeff K,

We are so thankful that you returned to us time and time again! It is guests like you who make what we do worthwhile and we truly appreciate your feedback and loyalty to our property. We look forward to your 4th visit and more and if there is anything else we can do to make your next visit even more memorable please let us know.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Iroquois is the ideal midtown location, precisely between Fifth Avenue shopping and the Theatre District.
One caution: not all rooms have individual temperature controls.
Room too hot on a cold night!










  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear valuehoundBaltimore,


Thank you for your review! We appreciate all the feedback we can get and it means a lot that you took the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again soon and if there is anything we can do to make your nest stay more comfortable please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just returned home from a very busy New York in the run up to Christmas.My daughter and I had a lovely stay. Hotel was clean,staff very friendly particularly Vanessa the concierge, who was always extremely helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Denise W,

We are very honored by your recommendation of our hotel! Vanessa is truly a dedicated associate that we are lucky to have and I will pass along your kind sentiments as well. We look forward to having you back again soon and hope you are having a wonderful holiday season!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Location can't get any better - close to everything but still quiet. Room was very small but we didnt spend much time there. Service was excellent. The concierge set us up with maps and made dinner reservations for us. We loved the cider available in the lobby in the afternoon and at night :) Great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jackie F,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to have you back again soon. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please do not hesitate to contact us.

Happy Holidays!

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, New York, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first time in NYC! My daughter and I went as her "Sweet 16th" birthday present. This hotel was perfect...it was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. It was great, we would walk in one direction in the morning, come back to the hotel and regroup then go back out and walk in the opposite direction! There were several places to eat within less than 5 minutes away. The Red Flame was a diner style place with a very simple menu and good food! We never ate at the hotel, but it looked nice. The rooms were very, very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable! the room was also VERY quiet, which was nice!!! Staff were extremely friendly and did what ever they could to make your stay enjoyable! Overall, this was a perfect hotel for us!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Tlaf,

We are so glad you were able to treat your daughter to such a wonderful weekend here at the Iroquois New York for her 16th birthday. Coming to the Big Apple can be a bit overwhelming and we aim to do everything we can to make it as seamless as possible. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I came in for a show and a night in the city and could not have been anymore satisfied with our stay. Everything was perfect from the staff to the location to the cleanliness of the rooms. Would come back in a minute

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear John E,

When coming into NYC for the night to see a show, we know you could have chosen anyone to stay with. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.