We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Save Saved
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 452 hotels in New York City
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great hotel, great location. Good size, clean rooms, helpful staff. The concierge was great. And the hotel bar, while a little small, serves really great cocktails (although it closes surprisingly early). Not cheap, but good value compared to other hotels I thought.

Room Tip: Join Small Luxury Hotels of the World if not already a member and get a free room upgrade, if availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m glad to hear that you took advantage of your great location, hotel amenities and you found The Iroquois to be an overall great stay. We highly recommend joining Small Luxury Hotels as well and we will always accommodate the complimentary upgrades when available. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,137
    451
    88
    32
    19
See reviews for
351
684
111
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed there for 4 nights--two rooms. Location was ideal. Rooms were well-appointed, kept clean, and were quiet. Very reasonably priced (for midtown Manhattan). Outstanding service from the staff. Concierge service was superb, especially important when planning outings for a family new to the city. Would highly recommend to others. I researched and reviewed countless hotels before deciding on the Iroquois and was very pleased with my decision.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m very happy to hear our staff made your entire family’s stay comforting, stream lined and overall rewarding. Walking and touring around the city can be taxing on a family and I’m glad our concierge staff were able to give you some well-deserved planning. Your kind words and recommendations are much appreciated. Thank you once more and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you stay in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Iroquois for our daughter’s 4th birthday recently. The hotel is beautiful, well priced and in a great location close to the theatre district. Parking is across the street. The staff is wonderful. A great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! That age is an amazing time and we’re happy all of you enjoyed it. Once again, happy birthday to the little one! I’m glad to hear that you took advantage of your great location and you found The Iroquois to be an overall great stay. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Clean and mostly comfortable room but ventilation problems were not addressed. We stayed for 6 nights and really didn't get relief until day 5 when it rained and the weather changed. I called everyday to request that A/C be turned to a more refreshing setting. Nobody ever followed up with me or addressed my concerns. DIdn't seem like they were trying very hard to make us feel comfortable. Friendly enough staff but any real issues were not addressed in any sort of accountable way. Loved the location. Morning coffee was good. Check in was delayed until after 4pm which was not appreciated by our jet lagged bodies I think the service should have been a little better given the status of "luxury" boutique hotel. Requested a fridge but was discouraged by reception staff. ?? not sure why.

Room Tip: My requests for specifics on room were ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dulcinea2009,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Iroquois. I am glad to hear you found our location convenient but I am very disappointed to hear of your overall feedback regarding comfort in your guestroom. Having a comfortable room is a basic amenity and we seemed to have failed to provide this for you during your stay. Your concerns should have been followed up with immediately and I will certainly investigate as to why a follow up call was not made to ensure you were satisfied.
I sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up and would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your recent stay.
Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.
Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice boutique hotel in a location convenient to all mid-town locations. Staff was very nice and helpful. Room typical size for the price. The bed was very comfortable. Good value for the price. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your new found pledge to us; it is evidence of our dedication to our guests. Your comments regarding our staff and overall experience are a pleasure to hear. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you're going to call yourself a luxury hotel, then you ought to offer more than a tiny, poorly lighted and airless room overlooking an air shaft (that's the good part, because it was quiet). Granted we got a deal through Booking.com because it was a weekend, and we did get chocolates on our pillows—but the maid had pushed the thermostat to 80, the windows didn't open, the shower was little more than a drizzle, and the mattress had two indentations on either side of a hump covered by a single comforter (either use it and boil or toss it off and be chilled), all for a little over $300. We stay in a lot of NYC hotels—definitely would not go back to this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sweetbrook,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear of your overall impression of our guestrooms. We do have windows that open but they do not open fully due to safety regulations. I must admit that this is the first time anyone has mentioned anything negative about our guestroom beds. We have received countless reviews regarding the overall comfort of our beds. I would like to know the room number you stayed in so we can address along with the shower pressure issue...again something we have never received negative feedback on.
I am pleased to say that we are in the process of updating several features of our guestrooms and the most important area we are addressing is lighting.
This is certainly not an accurate representation of the overall guest experience as noted in the many reviews we receive.
I do apologize again and we would like another opportunity to win you as a guest for life at the Iroquois. Please contact me at your convenience so we can discuss a future stay with us and I can personally apologize.
Sincerely,

Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at The Iroquois Hotel for her birthday. The reservation process was excellent- they asked for my wife's name- and when we arrived at the hotel the front desk staff wishes her a Happy Birthday and we found a bottle of wine and chocolates in our room.
The room was a modest size with a large bathroom. We were on the 12th floor. The street noise was minimal.
We had dinner in he Triomphe Restaurant. The service was excellent as was the food.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Iroquois New York on your recent trip! It is our pleasure and goal to put a personal touch on each of our guest’s stay and I am happy we were able to make your wife’s birthday a pleasurable one. Your wonderful comments are a joy to hear and pleased you found the staff and Triomphe to be of excellent standard. Thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you’re in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.