We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Save Saved
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 449 hotels in New York City
Slough
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my Fiancée came to New York for the first time for Valentines 2013.

I chose The Iroquois based on what other travellers had said about it's cleanliness and friendly service (based on a bad hotel experience at Tenerife last year) and the reviews we read we read weren't wrong!

Location:
This was one of the most important aspects of the hotel for us as we knew how big New York was so we needed it to be in an ideal location.

When booking, it stated the hotel was very close to Times Square which we'd been told would be a perfect spot. The hotel was in the middle of Broadway (which would have been noisy) but was in the best place we could have asked - it was two blocks (a ten minute walk) from Broadway which was great as it meant we weren't too close to noise, butt was not too far away, all you could ask for was within walking distance.

Staff:
All the staff at the hotel were absolutely brilliant, really friendly and very helpful.
Every morning we went to Vanessa at the concierge desk who gave us maps, directions, and recommendations for places to go such as restaurants and attractions, and always explained the easiest and cheapest way to get to these.

The reception staff were also very helpful, and the doorman helped us with our bags, and flagged us taxis when we needed them.

Room:
The room was perfect for us, although there was a mix up where we ended up with two double beds (not that this was a problem).

It was always very clean each day with fresh bed sheets and towels. The cleaner always left a cute little bag with the NY Times newspaper on the door handle each day, chocolates on our pillow, and a card with the following days weather forecast. The beds were really comfy and we had a great nights sleep. It offered a 32 inch TV, a Blu Ray player (American region DVDs only), a bath with shower function, and a long built in wardrobe.

We didn't try the restaurant due to the prices being a bit high, and the mini bar was very pricey ($4 for a small diet coke) which were the only downfalls but didn't spoil anything.

Overall, we were both both very satisfied with the hotel, and we would definitely come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want cheaper drinks in your room, go to the nearest convenience store (not on 5th Ave, still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. It's a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your room and everything was to your satisfactory needs. We hope to see you in the future and thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,108
    444
    90
    32
    19
See reviews for
327
657
109
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iroquois. The room was clean and not tired at all. We were on the 12th floor overlooking 44th street and never heard street noise. The staff was very friendly. My only slight complaint was the service...I had to call downstairs for ice twice on two different occasions. They must have been busy but it was frustrating. Also, the front desk seemed to be understaffed on a few occasions and confused by a mistake (theirs not mine) on my reservation, etc. These problems were minor, but they kept me from giving the hotel 5 stars. If I was given the same deal on the price, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at The Iroquois. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the room as well as our friendly service, however I’m disappointed to hear of the issues you mentioned in regards to your reservation and ice delivery. Trust that these issues will be addressed however if you would like to contact me directly to describe the issue you experienced with your reservation I would love to hear from you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Kphillips@iroquoisny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to NYC for our very first visit to the city and was extremely happy with The Iroquois. Everyone from Patrick from the Front Desk who went above and beyond to ensure an early check in even though they were sold out that day, JJ the Bellman who assisted us nightly with taxi service and ice service, Veronica (I believe that was her name) at the Concierge Desk who assisted us in guiding us through the city, Ling and the others in Housekeeping who made our room lovely on a daily and nightly basis, with fresh linens/robes, and chocolates. The room was very quaint, but was all we needed as a couple. Great location in the city, close to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefellar Center; etc. When we return to NYC for future visits, we plan on staying with The Iroquois! Thank you for your outstanding services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I will like to thank you for taking your time to share your kind words with the trip adivsor community. We take in great pride in our customer service, and it's an absolute pleasure to hear that we were able to treat you so well on your first visit to New York City!! I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of the our staff, it will surely brighten up their day!. We hope to welcome you in again in the future.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is maimum 3 stars at most (thanks to comfortable bed). Staff were unhelpful and rude - too busy chatting to each other. This is a very old hotel, with ancient lifts, old carpets and absolute no attention to detail.
We have stayed in Small Luxury Hotel group hotels in europe in the past, so when we saw this hotel, we expected the same level of service, surroundings and attention to detail. How wrong we were. We will not be using SLH brand as a stamp of luxury or quality from now on!
Please review your bills carefully on departure, as they are ready to charge you for anything and everything... e.g. water which is meant to be complimentary is $9.50...even the random collection of molton brown soap, shower gel, body lotion (all different scents) is an example of carelessness.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Iroquois. I am truly disappointed to hear of your overall experience and this is certainly not an accurate representation of the level of service we strive to provide here as evident by the many reviews on this site regarding our great service. We are looking into the scents of our amenities but Molton Brown is one of the highest regarded amenity lines a hotel can offer.
I am pleased to inform you that we are approximately 75% complete with our hallway renovation. We are replacing all of the carpet along with wainscoting and new artwork and the new design is fantastic. We look forward to another opportunity to win you as an Iroquois guest for life. Please contact us prior to your next trip to NYC so we can ensure we exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

You are welcomed from the minute you step in by the friendly doormen..(Rocky has a big smile!) Patrick at the front desk was lovely, made us feel right at home... Rooms are small but very well maintained. The linens are great quality and the beds were super comfortable. Our room was in the back so there was no street noise. Wifi is free. Concierge..Vanessa and Mark both went out of their way to help us get home.We were there for the blizzard (Feb 2013) and they spent over an hour calling the airline for us on 2 different days to get us re booked...it was a lifesaver..coffee or hot cider in the lobby..all day. Free DVDs at the front desk are available to watch in your room..nice little touches all over. Bottom line, this is a beautiful boutique hotel with service that makes you feel you are definitely more than just a number.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street so it will be quiet..may not want to be up too high because of spotty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. It's a pleasure to hear such kind feedback and I'm pleased that we could accommodate you during the snow storm. I am glad to hear our staff were able to be of assistance during your stay, its wonderful knowing our guest are taking advantage of our free amenities as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here during a business/personal trip. Its was a very cozy and friendly hotel. The staff was fabulous and very helpful - from the concierge to the front desk to the doormen/staff. The room was clean and comfortable. I will stay there on my next trip to NYC for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time in New York and that we could be a part of your experience. We hope to see you again the next time in New York!

Thank You,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Iroquis is a very nice hotel but the rooms are very small and they really need updating. They had to bring the ice to your room and no soda machines-the soda was in the room and extremely high priced for the size soda they had. They didn't have coffee machines in the room and I never seen coffee in the lobby. Am not sure it was offered. (must admit I never asked) They did have hot apple cider in th lobby each evening and it was a nice alternative during the winter months. Our room overlooked other rooms and you could see people in the other rooms.
It is very close to Times Square and a great location to do your site seeing from. It is just a little over a block from Times Square and very close to many of the broadway shows. Vanessa, the conceirge was excellant and could help w/ all of your plans.
We did find a real nice diner just a couple of doors from the hotel for breakfast the was very reasonable and very good food. Al.so a 24 hour convient store right around the corner.

Room Tip: I would check to see what the difference in price is for a window w/a view and a bigger room would c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Iroquois and thank you for sharing your experience. I’m pleased that you found our location convenient through out your stay, and found Vanessa, our chief concierge to be of great help with your plans.

I am sorry that our room size was not up to your standard. We do offer different room catergories that offer more space then the others, which we are able to accommodate if available. Our daily coffee is offered in the morning from 7-10am, and on the weekends it is extended until 12pm which can be located in the lobby. In regards to the minibar, unfortunately we do not control the prices of the items that are offered in the room. What we do recommend is to have a word with our front desk staff or with our concierge to provide you with information on a economical alternative. I would like to apologize for these inconveniences you have experienced.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Iroqouis the next time you find yourself in New York.

Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#14 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.