We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Save Saved
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Queensland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Look no further than the Iroquois. Subway just around the corner, Broadway, Grand Central, Bryant Park and the Rockefeller Centre. Our room was spacious (even when filled with our shopping and suitcases), bathroom huge and included a bath, bed luxurious with gorgeous sheets and coffee in lobby was a great start to the day. The staff were always helpful and friendly. I will stay here again if I am lucky enough to visit NYC again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. It's a pleasure to hear such kind feedback and I'm pleased that we could accommodate you, and I am glad to hear our staff were able to be of assistance during your stay.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    458
    90
    32
    19
See reviews for
357
694
113
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter while visiting New York. We had twin room with two double beds. The room was very small, dark and cluttered. Every available surface was covered in hotel booklets and minibar items. The sill in front of the small window that let in very little light was the only clear space in the room.

The hotel seems to have taken the need to economise to the extremes. There were no light fittings on the walls or ceiling of the room, no fridge, no coffee maker, teabags or kettle. One can only begin to guess how much they are saving on the power bill! The room was lit with 1 small table lamp and 1 lamp on a stand. It was next to impossible to see into the wardrobe to find things in your suitcase and no room to store the case any where but in the robe.

If you want coffee you need go down to the foyer and help yourself from a small silver urn. Coffee is only available for a limited time in the morning. The foyer is also very dimly lit.

The bathroom was small and narrow (about 115cm wide) and icy cold.

On the positive side, the staff were polite and helpful and the hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of Broadway, Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre, and several subway stations that make it easy to get to Central Park, Ground Zero, the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and numerous shops and museums.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share the experience of your stay with us at the Iroquois. Due to such beneficial feedback as yours we are in the process of adding additional lighting to our guest rooms, as the comfort of our guests is our top priority. I would also like to apologize that our complimentary coffee in the lobby is only available in the morning, however we do offer room service that can provide coffee 24 hours a day, even after our lobby beverage service has switch to cider or refreshing citrus water rather than coffee.
Thank you once again for sharing and thank you for your compliments of our staff!

Warm Regards,
Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. It is a perfect base for a weekend in NYC. My wife and myself stayed in a top floor suite in Feb 2012 and found the location to be ideal. Having stayed in other NYC hotels, I would strongly recommend The Iroquois. Looking to re-book for Feb 2013.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor community, it's a great tool to hear our guest's feedback. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel last year! We hope to see you next month!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Enjoyed a one night stay in this hotel for Xmas shopping. Room was fine and though I always miss not having coffee making facilities in the room, one could head to the lobby and get a free cup! Staff helpful; stored our luggage while we went shopping after check out. Elevators small and slow and the free continental breakfast was boring but thats looking for flaws in an otherwise nice hotel. As they say its location,location, location.......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I will like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Iroquois for your shopping visit to New York City. I'm pleased you found our property comfortable and convenient. Your compliments of our staff are very much appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in December 2012. It is perfectly located two blocks from Times Square and one block from Fifth Avenue. We found it a perfect base to explore all Manhattan has to offer. Walking to Central Park took approximately 20 minutes, Times Square was less than 5 minutes away and with close Subway stations access to all of Manhattan is a piece of cake.

With regard the hotel itself, we were very happy with out choice. Location aside, the hotel was very clean and well appointed. We had a room on the 11th floor, and after sending the hotel an email prior to our arrival they provided a room with a view of the Chrysler Building, as requested.

The room itself was a decent size, tidy bathroom with powerful shower and Molton Brown products. The hotel has two lifts servicing all floor, and we never had to wait for a lift. Both the concierge and the front desk staff were very helpful and courteous, as were the bell boys. A wonderful little touch was the urn in the reception area. In the morning it was full of coffee, with cups available for you to take out with you. And from the afternoon onwards, hot cider was available.

Very happy with our choice and won't hesitate to return the next time we visit New York.

Room Tip: Email the hotel prior to travelling and they will do all they can to accomadate requests. As mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I'm delighted to hear that you found our location convenient during your stay. And we would like to thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff. It's always great to hear our staff providing exceptional service to our guest to make their stay that much more enjoyable. We look foward to welcoming you again in the future!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while in NYC. Hotel is clean, cosy and welcoming with a classic decor, staff are also welcoming and friendly. The location is also hard to beat being close to broadway, the subway and reasonably close to Central Park. Price seemed reasonable for the location but the room was a bit smaller than what we would have liked (couple + 6 yr old) and with three suitcases we had to place one on the floor near the door since there was no where else to put it. Prices for food and services seemed a little steep (not sure how they compare with other hotels in the city) but we found a diner only a few doors down which had good food at good prices. Hotel would suit a couple who only intend to use it as a base and don't intend spending much time there but being in NYC that's not hard to do. A positive experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I am pleased to hear had a pleasant stay at our hotel. As we strive to provide our guests with the best service and the most comfortable experience we can offer. I'm sorry the room size was not to your liking.Our first priority is to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We do offer different category of rooms that offer more space then others.We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Perfect loacation for Theater, Times Square and Radio Music Hall. The place was very clean and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Only complaint, the resturant is over-priced! We paid over $60 for 2 bowls of oatmeal, 2 orders of toast, 1 yougart, coffee and tea. With 20% tip, our breakfast was $78.01. Better choice, The Red Flame on the same block.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I'm delighted to hear that you found our location a convenience during your stay. We would like to thank you for your compliments of our hotel staff. I apologize if the restaurant wasn't to your liking , but I am glad you were able to find a satisfying alternative in the red flame diner which is conviently located a few doors down from us. We hope to welcome you back in future!!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.