We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel with soothing atmosphere and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois

Save Saved
You added The Iroquois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 451 hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel with soothing atmosphere and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was very clean, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It is a quaint hotel with a soothing astmosphere. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there in future trips to NYC. The location of the hotel is great also.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I would like to first off,thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip Advisor. And also thank you for your recommendation, I am glad to know you had a comfortable stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,118
    447
    91
    32
    19
See reviews for
330
664
109
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

very clean and tidy,good location,room was quite spacious,
for new york. restaurants nearby, good night sleep,
staff very helpful and use of internet free. stayed here for
7 nights enjoyed would go back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments on trip advisor, it's great to hear feedback from our guest. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel comfortable throughout your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A small "boutique" hotel but without the truly boutique features. It's an adequate average hotel with small rooms and tiny bathrooms even for NY. Comfortable bed but noisy ac, no coffee maker or kettle and no curtains. Shower standard within bath. As I said. Not really boutique.

Service was fine and it was good to use the gym restroom and shower before leaving.

Guys on the entrance doors did everything other than hold the doors open. Idle chat to their mates seemed the order of the day. Go take a walk up to the Setai on 5th and see how it should be done is my suggestion to them .

Would I return ? Only if most other usual options in this price bracket were unavailable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I would like to thank you for staying with us as well as providing us with your feedback, which is a great tool to better our service. I’m disappointed to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectation. We do offer a variety of room types that vary in size and layout. Our suites even offer curtains, as you mentioned your preference for curtains, rather than the blinds that our standard rooms are equipped with. If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future please contact me directly to assist with your reservation.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice hotel with personable hotel staff. Molton Brown toiletries.
The rooms are small but normal for NYC. I stayed in the smallest room and it was fine for one night. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the street was fairly quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Iroquois on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel with our staff and the molton brown amenities. We hope to welcome you in again in the future!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

the hotel is an OK hotel.. nothing fancy about it all, given the fact that it is a 4 stars establishment, but yet doesn't look like one, however, if you want a clean decent hotel with a perfect location, then this is it, I would say that the negative thing about it was the price, I don't think it was well worth the price.
on the other hand, if you want a taxi take the meter taxi, i was cheated the first day by the door man, who advised me to take a private car to a Russian restaurant that was only 5 minutes away driving from the hotel, and costed me USD 25, the door man added that the place i am going to was too far and the taxi may not know the place, pushing me to agree to the 25 dollars ride, which unfortunately i accepted, when i cam back i decided to take a meter taxi that costed me USD 8 with the tip ONLY.. beware.
the room i stayed in was a superior room, the room size was ok, good for 2 at least, the bathroom size was also fine, no complains, however the room furniture looked old, cheap but clean at least, the the negative thing about the room was lack of lights, I do not think it will hurt the management to put some lights in room (at some points it was irritating).
other than the above, my stay was smooth, problem free, and the staff were very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for supplying us with your candid feedback, such reviews allow us to better our service and product based on our guests needs and preferences. I apologize for the situation with the taxi, while we do offer private car services for our guests it is a service that is usually used when taxi service is sparse and a guest is in a rush, per guest request, or for airport transportation. With the insight you have provided me I have been able to communicate with my staff in regards to this situation, however I again apologize that you had a negative experience. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the future. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for business. Nothing the matter with the place. Staff friendly rooms clean and toiletries good. But rooms also tiny the lobby dark and small and there is little special about the hotel that merits the high rankings on this site. It's dine but not special in any way.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor Community. I’m pleased to hear that we had the pleasure of welcoming you to the Iroquois, although I’m disappointed to hear that you did not find your stay to be a special experience. As many of our guests find the Iroquois to be a home away from home we attempt to keep a tranquil environment to contrast the hustle and bustle of midtown and offer multiple room categories to suit each traveler’s individual needs. If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future please contact me directly to handle your reservation.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Hotel has an excellent location right in the theater district. You can esentially walk to any Broadway Theater Production.
The Hotel itself is small and very clean. .The rooms are updated, well appointed and the bathrooms are very nice- done all in granite. The rooms are on the smalll side- but this is typical of New York city where a large room is either rare or very very expensive.
The Hotel is on the quiet side. We found this to be a positive but if you prefer an establishment that is buzzing, this may not be for you..
The French Restaurant at the Hotel was closed at the time of our visit. This was the one major disappointment of our visit. We had eaten in the restaurant seveal times befoe which is how we discovered the Hotel. When we made the reservation to stay at the hotel, we were not notified that the Triomphe Restaurant would be under renovation during our stay; we would have preferred to have known this in advance.
Since we booked by e mail, it would have been thoughtful if the Hotel would have let us know of this temporary disruption in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor away from the elevator. If the French Restaurant is open, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the hospitality of our staff. I do greatly apologize for the inconvenience we caused you with our restaurant being closed for renovation during your stay. But I am glad to say that both Triomphe restaurant and Lantern's keep are now open with newly renovated floors! We hope to welcome you in again in the future.


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Boutique, Charm...
Show More
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#1 of 451 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,385 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#16 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,148 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#28 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#15 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Charming, City...
Show More
Manhattan
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#6 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
Manhattan
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#3 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#14 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#14 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.