We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belleclaire to your Saves list
Hotel Belleclaire
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #207 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Mesa, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location, decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent 5 days last week here. The biggest complaint was the clanking sound from the radiator. I sleep with a sound machine and ear plugs but even with those it still woke me up several times during the night. The next day we requested a portable heater which they brought up right away and turned the radiator off. It was hard to regulate the temp with the radiator and/or the small heater. I prefer wall climate controlled hotel rooms. The other issue was at times I would run the bath water and it was discolored probably from rusty pipes.
We loved the location of this hotel. It was in a quiet neighborhood and close to the subway stations which was very convenient. After running around the very busy NYC all day, it was nice to get off the subway near hotel and walk in a quiet and nice neighborhood with cute little markets near by.
The rooms were very small but worked out ok for just my husband and I. I don't regret staying here but would be nice if they had an updated heating system. The staff was very nice. We loved having flavored water & tea when we walked in from our long day of running around the city. We also enjoyed coffee in the lobby from Coffee Bean. I didn't mind paying for it as I like a good cup of coffee.
Over all it was a pleasant experience in spite of the heating/noise issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Debbie H,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success! I’m delighted to read your comments regarding our amenities, appraisal of our team, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay (heat, water, noise) that you found needed improvement, and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. We will be updating our HV/AC system in 2014 and all the radiators in the guest rooms will be eliminated. All guest rooms will have the wall climate controlled system. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    931
    293
    126
    74
See reviews for
468
723
151
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Traveling in NYC can be hit or miss, for sure. The Belleclaire is typical in New York style as the elevators are very small and the room looked a bit more like something you'd find in an apartment. But the staff was quite friendly and helpful. The one major complaint, if you'd call it that, is that the temperature is set since it's an older building, and the rooms were too warm for my taste, even after turning the radiator down. However, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Kristin M,

Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location and the appraisal of our team. Regarding the radiators, we will be installing and updating our HV/AC system in 2014 and all the radiators will be eliminated. All guest rooms will include the wall climate controlled system. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Lovely hotel in a comparatively quiet area of New York.

As expected the room was small but clean and nicely decorated. I would have liked is a rug/carpet in the room (after a long day's walking something soft would have been lovely! )

Secondly, a cold draft came through what could only be described as the air conditioning unit (which formed the lower part of the window) This was, however, easily rectified by putting the blinds down. Also, the radiator was either stone cold or burning hot. The weather was mild for December, but it could have been worse had it been sub-zero temperatures.

Having said that, the staff were helpful and accommodating, and the hotel served its purpose well enough. As a bonus, the complimentary umbrellas were fantastic, as was the urn of ice tea and water in the lobby.

Overall a pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Emma B,

We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, our service, cleanliness, the comfort, and our amenities. Regarding the A/C unit and the radiators, we will be updating our HV/AC system in 2014 and all the radiators will be eliminated. All guest rooms will have the wall climate controlled system.

With steps away to the subway station, our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Take a walk through the picturesque Central Park, dine at a world class gourmet restaurant, let music fill your ears at Lincoln Center and top off the night with delicious cupcakes from Crumbs Bake Shop.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuaipa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice area. Reasonable price ( for NY) for duties to accommodate families. They give you complimentary slippers and the use of umbrellas. The staff is very nice and helpful. The only down fall is it is a smaller hotel-so the street level noise can be heard in your room (we had a corner room-facing the street) and at times makes it hard to sleep peacefully. They also had a media room with internet/printers. All complimentary which was great since I needed to print tickets for a show. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Especially if Times Square hotels are not your cup of tea. I need a larger room for my family (6) and a calmer area to stay in. The family suite was definitely a necessity for our trip, and overall a good value!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Elaina H,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! I’m delighted to read your comments regarding our Family Suite accommodations, the amenities, our media lounge, appraisal of our team, the value, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Belleclaire! It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice hotel covenient to subway station and short walk to central park. We liked the hotel- location and services but it was really noisy at night and early morning although this may have been because our room faced the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear 399John,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your recent experience at Hotel Belleclaire!
We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Belleclaire in early December 2013 for our first trip to NYC. After reading many older reviews I had mixed feelings on what to expect. As many newer reviews have stated, this hotel has undergone many updates yet still maintains it's old world charm. The hotel is around 100 years old, so it really has character and is quite lovely. The lobby is decorated very pretty for Christmas and the staff was friendly and eager to help in any way they could. We stayed in a Broadway King room and it was clean, pretty, and spacious for Manhattan standards. It is located in the Upper West side of Manhattan which is just two subway stops away from Times Square and other tourist filled areas. There are so many great stores and restaurants near the hotel, yet it was nice to get away from the craziness of midtown. There are also two subway stations just blocks away as making transportation a cinch. Anyone looking for a charming hotel at a great value look no further! We will be returning to Hotel Belleclaire and will recommend moving forward.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear ARTripster,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire!

I’m delighted to read your comments regarding our Broadway King accommodations, the amenities, appraisal of our team, the value, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovations of our rooms and lobby. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Belleclaire! It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hotel Belleclaire was a wonderful place to stay. They attended to every need we had. We were travelling with 6 kids and they were accommodating and very helpful. They recommended great place to eat and arranged transportation. They lobby always had fresh ice tea, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Audra L,

Fantastic! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, appraisal of our team, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belleclaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.