We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belleclaire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Belleclaire
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #218 of 446 hotels in New York City
United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice hotel, nice lobby. The room we had was smallish but well appointed. The Dean and DeLuca chocolate bar, pretzels and water were nice touches. The location was excellent to The Beacon Theater, Museum of Natural History, and the subway. There was a window air conditioner which we did not use. The window was not shut tightly so the elements infiltrate the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    921
    298
    130
    73
See reviews for
365
544
115
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batumi, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The first wave of ‘apartment hotels’ occurred between 1889 and 1895 in New York City. The Belleclaire Hotel was created in 1903 by Emery Roth the architect. His stylistic influences originated in Modern French classical, French Art Nouveau, and the Viennese Secessionist Movement. In 1993-1995 I use to live in this apartment hotel, side by side with many eccentric immigrants from Eastern Europe and Africa in the other rooms, and with native artists and writers and actors working and living in Manhattan.

I lived on the 4th floor, for less than $200 per week. We felt aristocratic on the 4th floor, because it had so many kooky and stylish asymmetrical window panes. Nearly every ‘apartment’ was different in the hotel, some with many rooms not just one, all designed with a special unique ambiance.

Years later it became some kind of youth hostel, on its lower floors, and it still maintained some of its long term SRO former occupants. Additionally, they renovated some newer upscale rooms, slowly at that time.

Now it is a first class stylish Euro-Manhattan hotel on the Upper West Side, near Fairway Market and many landmarks, shopping and eating establishments, and entertainment venues, that have been uptown quite a long time.

The rates are very reasonable and affordable, for NYC you could say it is in the budget range, and it makes one wonder why hotels are so overpriced and outrageously impersonal for the money, in many venues splattered all around Manhattan.

There are many “converted” dives and rip off hotels that prey upon unsuspecting out-of-towners, in today’s New York City, but BelleClaire is not one of them.

I hate to write this paean to a classic old lady of a hotel, because if too many people know this secret, despite my good intentions, the hotel will soon always be full, or maybe change their rates into the stratosphere, along with the other cash cows in the uncivilized real estate marketplace of Manhattan.

The service is on par with 5-star hotels in Europe, and the lobby quite attractive, with complimentary scented waters and homemade lemonades of some sort, to drink, and daily free newspapers, including the New York Times.

The amenities are many, plus the bathrooms are very nice, and the TV and towels, top notch.

It was like “going home” to stay here again, after 20-years absence. I hope this hotel maintains its essence another 50 years, at least.

So stay away from this hotel and leave it just for me!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location - near subway, Central Park and Natural History Museum. Staff lack some courtesy... amazing family room, small bathroom. Nice coffee place on the ground. Try the bakery across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Counter staff and valet very helpful and genuinely interested in making our stay a pleasant one. The hotels location is quiet for a NYC hotel. Prices reasonable and room clean. We would stay at the Belleclaire again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spacious and clean with great service. Location is far from downtown Manhattan. But 20 min subway and 10 min by cab depending on traffic. But lots of shops and eats nearby. The tv wasn't working and if you have an apple device the wifi doesn't work. But overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on my trip to NYC, it's close to the Lincoln Arts Centre and the park and in a nice part of the upper west (before it starts getting a bit more Harlemish). The room was nice, good size, great decor. Paid 4 star prices but I wouldn't necessarily give it that although Manhatten is overpriced for hotels (as expected). The extras were quite pricey and I felt this was unnecessary. Could do worse though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear M B,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your excellent experience at Hotel Belleclaire!
We are delightful with your comments regarding our wonderful location and amenities. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park, Lincoln Center, the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My four girlfriends and I stayed at their suite and it was very comfortable!!!! Bed was super comfy and staff were super helpful and friendly!!! Convenient location and I'll absolutely stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear anita2012_10,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the comfort, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York
Belleclaire
Belleclaire Hotel New York
Belleclaire Hotel
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belleclaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.