We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAFF, BEAUTIFUL ROOMS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belleclaire to your Saves list
Hotel Belleclaire
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
“GREAT STAFF, BEAUTIFUL ROOMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at the Belleclaire hotel for my sons graduation last week, I could not have been more pleased. The hotel has beautiful, comfortable rooms with many amenities. The location in the Upper West side was perfect and convenient to many restaurants, tourist attractions, and subway. I would definately stay there again, the staff was wonderful, and went out of their way many times! Special Shoutout to Juan, Brittany, and Austin!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    1,029
    311
    142
    81
See reviews for
516
835
169
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed on the Upper West Side before and expected the usual tight quarters in our double room. Not so! We had a truly roomy double room with a big-enough bathroom (facing the street, so it actually had a frosted window that opened - can't remember the last time I had a hotel bathroom with a window). The beds were comfy and the room included a usable refrigerator. With a nice market right around the corner, you can actually get and store food. A small selection of free snacks and 2 free bottles of water are a VERY nice touch. The lobby includes a coffee bar.

We arrived at 11:30 on a Sat morning, fully expecting to check our luggage until the 3:00 check-in time. Instead, we were checked directly into our room (thanks, Maria) and the $35 early check-in fee was waived. The concierge recommended a restaurant for dinner and made our reservations, and that was another win.

I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Interior rooms will be much quieter, so request one of those if you're willing to forego a stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I discovered the Belleclaire over a year ago and have enjoyed staying at this hotel since. It is a tasteful boutique style hotel with a beautiful refurbished design. It is not perfect as it is an old building with some structural challenges but nothing that is unbearable. It does work very well for its location and the lovely ambience and vibe of the upper west. Great if one enjoys the Central Park and walking distance to the Lincoln Centre for some of the best NYC ballet and other great live entertainment. The 3 main streets of Broadway, Amsterdam and Columbus are great to walk and browse the shops.
The team at Belleclaire is generally very good with high quality service standards. However, I wasn't overly comfortable with the concierge trying to get me to take private car to the airport at a much higher fixed fare of $75 when I had asked for taxi which would cost around $40+ on meter (assuming good flow of traffic). This happened with my very recent last stay. To keep peace with the concierge, I went ahead with the private car and negotiated a lower fare of $55.
Nevertheless, I will continue to return to stay at the Belleclaire as a regular traveller to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for the second time. It is located in a great spot on the upper West side close to the subway, playgrounds, Central Park and restaurants. The family suite is a great option for groups of 5 to 6 people. The room was well stocked with umbrellas, bathrobes, a microwave, refrigerator,two air conditioners,and complementary water, chocolate, and pretzels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham, nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on the Upper West Side. We easily walked to Lincoln Center, Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. Also, a subway station was two short blocks away. We also enjoyed the fact that there are loads of restaurants and shops in the vicinity.

The hotel itself was originally built in 1903. So the rooms are rather small, especially compared to our modern expectations. However, our room was clean with amenities, such as a flat screen TV and a view. The mattress was comfortable and it was quiet. In particular, we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. On the down side, the carpeting in the hallways was dingy, the elevator was tiny and there was no grab bar in the shower.

We have never stayed in NYC before, so it's difficult to make a comparison. Although we were pleased with the experience, it still seems like a very expensive night's stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a Tom Petty concert. Over all the hotel was nice. Very new York and kind of what we expected. The trouble was with the room. When we got there it was very hot and humid and there wasn't an air conditioner in the room. They informed us that they hadn't got around to installing one yet but would do so in a hour. We said OK and went for a 2 hour walk. When we returned they were still working on it. I asked for another room but they would not accommodate us. This was a Monday night. How busy could they be. We had to shower in a humid room with a maintenance man in there with us. Very uncomfortable. The room was small as it is let along with both of us and the maintenance man. We left for dinner annoyed and sweaty!. When we returned after the concert at 12:00 the room was slightly cooler except there was a 2" gap around the entire AC unit that let in the hot air and all the noise of the city. We were on the 9th floor and all we heard all night was honking and cars. Then at 6:30 the construction started next door. Not a very restful night. The staff said sorry politely but didn't offer and help in changing our room or fixing our problem. For $550 a night you would expect a little better customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in April. The family suite had 2 rooms, one with 2 doubles, and one with a queen. Both rooms had a tv. Nice decor, comfy beds, clean. We loved the location. Only 2 small blocks from 79th st subway. Easy to get anywhere. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because of the bathroom. The smallest I have ever seen. Had to lean over the toilet to get to the basin. I would stay there again, if I am lucky enough to get back to NY!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belleclaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.