We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat for value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belleclaire to your Saves list
Hotel Belleclaire
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #207 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard to beat for value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Over-the- top friendly staff catering to lots of families. Clean (but not big )well appointed rooms with comfortable beds. Windows that open are a big plus for us. Excellent location and great price for hotel in this upper east side location. Walk to Museum of Natural History, Central Park, Hudson River, and subway (two blocks).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    931
    293
    126
    74
See reviews for
468
723
151
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, after getting a very good rate for a family suite. The room was smallish, and the refurbishments were adequate. We were not all that impressed however.
Overall, the room met our needs although the bathroom was VERY small, the sink was tiny, and there were towel racks that fell off. Areas of the flooring had gaps missing, and the family suite had no doors separating the two sleeping areas. Additionally, there are no dressers or drawers of any kind. Just one small closet. So, be ready to have your suitcase serve as your dresser.
Much of this is understandable, in that the hotel is a piece of history, and it clearly was built in an age when comforts were much simpler. However, it seemed that the efforts to refurbish this hotel were done halfway. For instance, the blinds in the rooms seemed to be an afterthought. The windows seemed to have just been painted sloppily, and were so dirty, they were difficult to see through.
If you are traveling with children and want a place with the action of NYC, try Times Square. Otherwise, the area where Belleclaire is located is more relaxed and suburban by NY standards. There is plenty to see and do near the hotel, and the area (Columbus) is a pleasure to stroll through. The subway lines are very close, which makes traveling downtown very easy.
All that said, I'm not sure that I'd stay at this hotel again. We did not spend much time in the hotel. It was decent enough to sleep in, but that's about it. If I had not gotten a deal on the room, I would have been very dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel BelleClaire is a jewel of a small boutique hotel on the upper west side of New York! We were accommodated very last minute after our apt we rented fell thru and they were more than gracious to our group which was there for our daughter's wedding. The staff went out of their way to assist us - beautiful, clean rooms, excellent service - after 4 days they got to know us and all the staff especially Julia and David more than helpful. Everything close by. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask front desk which rooms are more quiet than others....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I wasn't really expecting much as the price was so competitive. The reviews seemed good, with the only criticism being the room size and work being done in the lobby.
On arrival, the lobby looked beautiful!! I didn't notice any work being done, the only thing I noticed was a sign in the lobby saying please be patient with us whilst the work is in progress. There were no workmen in sight, although we were out all day every day seeing the amazing sights of New York.
We got to the room, expecting it to be tiny, but it was more than big enough. It looked beautiful and had everything we needed and more. The room was cleaned to an exceptional standard each day, no complaints at all!! The toiletries provided were even amazing.
In terms of location, you can see the metro stop from the hotel and it's on the 1, 2 & 3 lines, perfect to access to all of the best bits of NYC, from Times Square to 34th Street.
I can not find one thing to complain about.
If you book on a B&B basis (we were lucky to do so I think) then you get vouchers to a diner/cafe across the street, this is a fantastic American breakfast experience, I'd recommend going there even if you're not B&B.
Amazing Hotel, which made for an Amazing holiday.
Thank you so much to everyone at Hotel Belleclaire.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I guess in New York the 4 star hotel rating system is different than the rest of the world. To me this would be a 2 star hotel. Prior to our stay I read the hotel was under construction, so I called and I was told that construction would be completed prior to our arrival. This was a lie. The lobby was unfinished an still in mid construction. The room smelled and had long black hairs all over the bathroom floor, the blinds were broken, there was a radiator in the room. There was a disgusting stain on a the bed cover. Our final bill had a $200.00 error. The person at the counter was rude and claimed that this was because we changed our reservation. That did not happen. He fixed it but was rude. I asked for a late check out because our car was set to arrive an hour later. He said if it is passed a certain time they charge you for a half day.
The location was great, but I would never stay there again and I cannot recommend this hotel.
Two of the staff were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Do you like running in the Park like I do? If so, this is your hotel. Big rooms, coffee bar in the morning, free newspapers, convenient to shopping, bars, and restaurants - but especially, to the Park. Leave the hotel lobby and you're on the 10k loop in 5-7 mins.

Room Tip: Repeat guests are recognized for their loyalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located near Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Please feel free to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or call (212) 706 4479, and I will be more than happy to assist you with your travel needs.
Best Regards,
Adisa F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I and our two teenage daughters spent 16 days in NY and stayed the entire time at Hotel Belleclaire. The room was very clean, the bar fridge was handy and our room was serviced every day. The room servicing was lax a couple of times, but any request was attended to immediately. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi is a huge bonus as is the 'business centre' providing free access to computers and printer. Heating was a bit of a puzzle to work out, our room always seemed to be too warm, so the fact that we could open our windows was great. The gym is also another great perk, was clean and no problems with equipment. Hotel location is excellent, close to subways, shops, diners, restaurants (Fratelli's and Big Nicks are worth checking out) and we felt extremely safe walking around in the area, day or night. We would definitely stay there again, it ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending two full weeks at Hotel Belleclaire!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire.
We are delighted with your comments regarding our deluxe accommodations, the amenities, our qualified staff and their excellent services.
I notice as well your mention about the safe and convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, were there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.
Please contact me directly by calling (212) 706-4479 or email salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com if your future plans bring you back to New York City.
Best Regards,
Adisa F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belleclaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.