We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Right For Some, and Very Wrong for Others” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Allerton

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allerton
Save
You added Allerton to your Saves list
302 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's Right For Some, and Very Wrong for Others”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I've stayed at the Allerton on 3 occassons, twice on business on once while on vacation. It's an experience you need to take with an open mind. The visitor's area is clean, safe, affordable, and in a wonderful location. Other parts of the facility help the less fortunate. Don't leave valuables in your room, and don't get too upset if you need to buy your own toilet paper, or a light bulb. The TV was old, the gas stove didn't work, and yes, they turn the heat and hot water off at night, and back on around 5:00 in the morning. I've stayed for as long as a month at a time, and quickly became part of the eclectic group. This place serves a purpose. Be nice to the staff, especially the very large guard at the door.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed at the Allerton on several occasions and hope to stay there again, I heard it will be reopening and hope that is true. The rooms were clean, well stocked and the staff were excellent, location is great. I have nothing but GOOD things to say about my many stays there.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

I live across the street from the Allerton. It's not a hotel, it's a homeless shelter. Why it has a website and all is beyond me..

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

Chelsea is a great neighborhood with multi-million dollar homes within steps of this hotel. Unfortunately, this is indeed a Welfare/homeless shelter -- I live one block away and cringe each time I must walk by this hotel based on the caliber of those who live there and hang out on the corner.

This is not a place to spend a vacation -- spend more and get a true hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

Better than what I'm used to. Came over from Glasgow after a lot of walking. Arrived 13th July 2005. Thought the standards were pretty high - better then my midden back home!

Had a wee machine in the room for pressing your crimpoline. Would recomend it to all my brothers.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

this hotel is basically a homeless shelter. upon entering the building you see the clerk sitting behind a bulletproof window. outside of the building were several homeless-looking people who were waiting to also go inside. i am usually not one to judge by looks, but these people looked as if they were drunk, high, and penniless. have you tried looking for pictures of this so-called Allerton "hotel"? did you find any? NO- because it is a homeless shelter. who wants to take pictures of that??? DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

I spent a few days in NY at the start on December and stayed at the Allerton Hotel/Hostel.Its not the most glamerous place to stay but its clean and the staff are nice but don't always pass on messages. The biggest problem I found was that NY in Decenber is cold and the heating was turned off at night and it was extremely cold!!! The location is not too bad and there is a lovely cafe over and up 1 block. Not a place to stay if you like comfort but okay if your on a budget.Also security is on the main entrance but the locks on the bedroom doors are poor to say the least.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Lodge
Chelsea Lodge
#193 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#267 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#144 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#104 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerton

Address: 302 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Allerton New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allerton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.