We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 463 Hotels in New York City
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 5 nights just before Christmas.

Good -
Great location just off Washington Square, a short walk from the West Village with its brownstones, cafes and restaurants.
The price. We got a good deal which included a basic breakfast: hot drink, juice, fruit & bagels etc
Coffee maker in the room with good coffee.
Friendly concierge.
Wintery roofscape with water towers on our first morning (and being able to see Washington Square if we craned our necks.)
Knowing that Dylan & The Stones had stayed there!!

Not so good -
Room was very small, even for NYC.
Decor was dark and depressing (apart from the lobby.)
Mattress was very firm.
The breakfast area was crowded and chaotic & the baked goods were not very fresh.
Everything felt a little tired & there was nowhere to relax after a day's walking/sightseeing.

We felt it was good value for money and the location was great, but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to minimise street noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    436
    127
    36
    22
See reviews for
159
359
84
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cute boutique hotel with adequate amenities. We had a room at the end of the hall. There was one next to the elevator that I would not have wanted. Keurig in the room and continental breakfast even when we left our bags at concierge (we were too early to check in). We were invited to partake of breakfast before we went exploring. Very thoughtful gesture. Great location. We had the window open and the guy practicing sax and trumpet in the area was a very New York touch.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigtuna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A very friendly, cosy spot in one of my favourite parts of New York. Staff was helpful and friendly. In the surrounding area you will find clubs, shopping, restaurants and everything else you need for the perfect New York holiday. I will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over washington square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This charming hotel has a European feel to it. Our room was very small but serviceable with a modest breakfast offered in a dining area that was underwhelming because of the size and number of guests vying for seating space. The location, however, is outstanding and the staff bends over backwards to respond to your needs. You're close to Washington Square Park and other fabulous action in Greenwich Village. If you're a first time visitor to New York and you're a walker, know that each block offers restaurants, shops and more and you can safely explore numerous neighborhoods. Finally, there isn't really a place in the hotel to hang out in which didn't pose a problem until one hugely rainy day. All told, it's a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a room with even a minimal view or it can be claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It didn't start out well. We reached the hotel very late evening after a long 4.5 hours drive from Boston and were told that our room 'was not available'. Well, they had made alternative arrangements and they paid for a taxi to take us to the Hampton Inn, that served as an adequate replacement to hit the bed!

Next morning, we drove back (again paid for) and parked our bags there as we had to be at NYU over the day. Kwesi, at the Front Desk, who had been the 'bad messenger' last evening was there to welcome us in and got us a full-service wonderful breakfast. Back at 3 p.m. and we'd been upgraded to a beautiful room with some really nice amenities.

The hotel is quaint, sitting at the corner of Washington Square park, adjacent to a metro station and in the heart of bustling, retro Greenwich Village. Lovely touches to the decor and you are transported back very far from the modern NY skyline! Yes, it may be a bit frayed at the seams, but that just adds to the period feel without any inconvenience in the facilities.

The North Square restaurant is superlative, great meals, ambiance and service.... you don't need to look far for a superb dining experience - breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Our stay was truly lovely, thanks in no small measure to Kwesi's warm and friendly hospitality. I'd go back here anytime!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was glad we chose this hotel. I would stay here again. Great style and the staff was all very friendly and helpful. Right on Washington Square Park- we were visiting NYU and this was a perfect place to be. Breakfast was just right- it was crowded around 8:30 but I was happy with it. Our room was just right, although there was some noise at night (friday) but it was very comfortable and clean. I would gladly stay here again. Right across from BABBO - didn't get to go there for dinner but if you make reservations you can get it- expensive but considered one of the best in NYC- Mario Batali. Will try next time!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can honestly say that this hotel exceeded my expectations entirely. I have never been to New York, but have always anticipated going. Luckily, I was given that opportunity as a friend took me for my birthday. I did not know much about this hotel, but had seen a few pictures - looked fairly impressive, so I remained optimistic. But seeing it in person was a different story!! The lobby was so beautiful, with a bright atmosphere but a vintage style carved into the walls, it was so warming. The staff made the check-in process quick and easy, and were really vibrant and happy - a quality that everyone looks for. Our concierge was definitely on another level. He greeted us evertime we were in the lobby, he gave us the best shops and landmarks to see with detailed travel routes. He became our sort of go-to man if we ever had questions about New York, I really would like to thank him again.
Our room was bright, spacious and had an indescribably view of lower Manhattan. Should you get a room at the front of the hotel, you will see all the rooftops and escape ladders of buildings that give the view a perfect urban skyline.
As for the continental breakfast we had? Delicious. I honestly thought everything was home-baked, and I'm pretty sure the orange juice was freshly squeezed!
Location-wise, it's in an area of Manhattan that is not as busy as the central parts. I preferred this, as it made a nice break between spending a day in busy streets, to coming back to a hotel in a quiet area - it was so much more easier to unwind.
Really really enjoyed my time here, so thank you to the staff, and I recommend it to all!!

Travelled December 2012 - January 2013

Room Tip: Windows at the front have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.