We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 464 Hotels in New York City
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Superb location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I spent the last three days at the Washington Square Hotel. It is a very nice hotel, beautiful old, art deco in style. The room was SMALL. I had the deluxe double. It was really very nice, but oh so small. The smallest I have had in NYC. I didn't have any problems, but I am sure the staff would have taken care of them if I had them. They were very pleasant. I also had the continental breakfast and it was fine. Pastries, yogurt, cereals, bagels, cheeses and the coffee was good. Unlike some hotels in NYC, the wifi worked very well, although I had to provide the password every time, but it worked great, so that was not a problem.

The hotel is across the street from Babbo, a Mario Batali restaurant and the location is a stone's throw from Washington Square Park. It is just down the street from the Subway, so you couldn't find a more convenient location, close to some really nice shops and nice restaurants. NYC is so much nicer now than it was year's ago. It is always a pleasure to go. The area has lots of nice restaurants and shops, so if you have done all the other touristy things in NYC, this is a great place to stay for some less chaotic adventures.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, mine was 908 and it was as if I was alone in the hotel. It is on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    446
    129
    36
    22
See reviews for
166
367
84
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by one of the "locals", who is a friend of ours. So glad we decided not to stay in the tourist areas (which we didn't enjoy), where we stayed on our first visit to NYC. There is no comparison!!!
This is a small hotel with character and history - a number of famous people have stayed here over the years.
The check in and check out was very quick, Reception staff very helpful especially the daytime concierge - can't recall his name - who asked us every day where we were going, did we need any help with directions etc. He gave me cardboard and tape to pack the prints I had bought, so they wouldn't get damaged. The staff serving breakfast are efficient and quick to seat and serve you. We upgraded to the full breakfast, which was excellent - many choices on the menu and all good quality. We met up with our friend for dinner at the hotel one night and had a delicious meal with great service. The hotel restaurant has a very good reputation with the locals and in fact many locals came in for breakfast during our stay. There is also a cosy bar for a drink before dinner!
The location is ideal for transport - a couple of subway stations only 5 mins walk away. There are many restaurants close by, all cuisines to suit all budgets. The area is very quiet right opposite the well known Washington Square, which comes alive on a Sunday with entertainers, dog walkers, families and just "people watching the world go by". We loved it.
Yes the corridors are narrow and rooms aren't particularly large, they could do with a little more storage space, but we managed fine for 6 nights. There is a room safe and the bathrooms are modern and a good size with hairdryers. Beds are comfy, nice linen and towels.
The only problem we had was on booking our room on line. They were experiencing computer problems and we were unable to make a deposit to secure the room. They were very apologetic and assured us the room would be held and we could pay on arrival. There were no problems with our reservation when we checked in.
This is a great place to stay for location, peace and quiet, great staff and good food. The price was also good value for New York.
We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it. Wished we could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Greenwich Village is the best neighborhood in NY in my opinion. The hotel has great staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds. I also appreciated the in room Keurig's, free wifi and adequate breakfast buffet. Quiet street allowed restful sleep!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

...but expect to pay big buck$ during graduation week. And reserve well in advance.

Our bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast beyond the lobby needs more fresh food options, otherwise quite nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location is great, obviously. The website photos show a charming reception space. But that is all that has any charm. The bed rooms appear to have been decorated in the 1950's and not touched since. The breakfast room is not much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you're ready to give up the stress and press of uptown hotels and visit a less congested, more human scaled part of the the city this is where to stay. Located directly across the street from Washington Square Park in the middle of Greenwich Village you can enjoy a quiet stay in what I think is the best part of NYC. I asked for a rear facing upper floor room and it was extremely quiet. Small, but clean the room was fine for someone like me who does not plan to spend my vacation in my room! THe staff--especially Ronnie-- were super helpful and friendly with lots of suggestions on where to shop or eat in the area. Free continental breakfast and free wifi were great additions. The European clientele gave the hotel an international feel and its location and charm gave it more of a boutique quirkiness that felt like home. If you like a sterile, impersonal, factory like hotel...Don't book here!

Room Tip: For quiet, upper rear facing, although don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisburg, pa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel had clean rooms, bedding, and excellent friendly service. Joanna, the bartender at
the cozy lobby bar was just a wonderful gal. Pretty, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was
great, off the menu or continental. Lots of servers. A nice family owned hotel. I got the feeling that the employees liked working there. Perfectly located within walking distance of everything
in Greenwich Village. Many, many, restaurants, bars, and shops. I've paid twice the rate for the same size room in other parts of the city. This is a good value!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.