We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Temple, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The service was exceptional. The staff bent over backwards to insure that we had anything and everything we needed. The room was immaculate, comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. We had come up to NYC to get married and stayed 11 nights here. Not only did they make us feel at home, but there was a note waiting for us when we entered the room the first time congratulating us and wishing us the best from the hotel staff. Top notch room, service, etc. I would GLADLY recommend this place to any and all of my friends and family!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    437
    127
    36
    22
See reviews for
159
359
84
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We chose the Washington Square because of its convenient location in the village. A relative had stayed there a few years ago and said it was ok but small. I'm glad we ignored her less than stellar recommendation as the hotel was perfect. True the rooms were small, but nicely done, everything was very nice, especially for the price. We checked-in early without any question. The bell captain was very helpful and convivial. He made us feel very welcome. Another bonus was the North Square restaurant and bar. Had a great time talking to the locals at the bar. Definitely a go-back to place, especially if you have business in the village or Soho or anywhere in lower mid-town Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights, after staying for 5 nights in Midtown (at the Library Hotel). We chose this hotel because of its location, away from the more touristy areas, and based o the reviews here.

The location was pretty good - near a couple of train lines, and within walking distance of a lot of fun restaurants that weren't midtown-priced, and had a more relaxed and genuine feel about them. Spending time away from midtown was a welcome relief.

In terms of the accommodation, we stayed in one of the better/larger rooms, which was quite nice. The hotel was clean and bright, and the maid service was very good.

Now - the thing that made this hotel a "do not go back" in my mind, was the restaurant. We had breakfast included in our accommodation, and it was really a sore point for us. It was tiny! 2 days we had to eat elsewhere because we couldn't get a seat! We were offered a seat in their a-la-carte restaurant, but that was even worse! The service we received was appalling.

And the selections available were very poor as well. You had 5 kinds of cereal (all commercial, boxed stuff) and a selection of bagels with 3 condiments. The fruit salad wasn't appealing, and really, just a lack of care and cost-cutting shone through. The restaurant manager was also rude and her staff were ill trained and inattentive. Very, very poor.

I wouldn't say I'd never stay here again - but the whole breakfast saga was jarring enough to try somewhere new, rather than go back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was giving a talk at the NYU Law School so looked for a nearby hotel. The WSH was well reviewed by everyone who stayed there. The staff was very friendly, although the front desk was not particularly warm or efficient. The rooms are clean but very small. The location is great but i thought a tad expensive for what one gets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed for four nights . The hotel was prettily decorated outside with Christmas lights and the lobby had a nice style to it which all gave a good impression. However, the decoration and carpets in the tiny narrow corridors is dreadful - heavy artexed white walls and drab carpet tiles - we were concerned about what we might find in the room. We had a corner room( Deluxe on 8th floor) it had a slight view of the Square from both bedroom and bathroom, although it is rather necessary to keep the blinds down most times due to proximity of other buildings. There was very little street noise and the room was an adequate size for a city hotel as with the bathroom. Decorated in the style of the hotel (a little drab for our taste) the room had good facilities and service was prompt when we thought the coffee machine did not work. It was inexplicably hot in the room given that the original cast iron bathroom radiator was the only one on and we had to keep the windows open (in December). You would need the air con on in the warmer months for sure. Continental breakfast was included in our rate. We found this adequate with a range or cereals, fresh juice, fresh fruit and pastries/bread etc., Waiter service was also available if you preferred in adjacent room - presumably extra. The breakfast room small and a little crowded at times, but comfortable for all that.

We found the staff courteous and helpful with directions and advice. The hotel is well situated for Greenwich Village and Soho and the Metro is just around the corner. There are good restaurants very close by and the hotel restaurant "North Square" is very good too. Welcome respite in pleasant surroundings, an escape when you have had enough of the hustle and bustle of Midtown etc.,.

From the hotel you can walk the length of 5th Avenue to Central Park, approx. 2.5 miles. it is a pleasant stroll with plenty to see on the way, getting steadily busier as you move uptown. Alternatively a lovely walk through the streets of Soho and thence Downtown to Ground Zero and Wall St in a little over 30 minutes. We took advantage of the NY Sightseeing Bus Tours (Blue). $59 for 48 hours (although we got the deal for 72 hours) enabled us to have both Downtown/Midtown and Uptown (around Central Park) tours and a boat tour around the Manhattan shoreline and out to view the Statue of Liberty. It gave us the opportunity to see everything, get our bearings and hop on and off to walk as we pleased. However, whilst some of the tour guides were entertaining, the buses were a disgrace - worn and filthy. Shame on the bus company and shame on the tourists who leave so much rubbish behind!! There are other companies available, whether they are any better or not ??.

Just a Note; Taxi from the airport to the City is a flat rate of $58 in a yellow cab + tip. Our driver had very little English, was unsure of the address and spoke constantly on his phone (handsfree) on the 45 minute journey to the hotel. A hair-raising introduction.. By contrast. our return trip to the airport organised by the hotel reception cost $55 + tip in a comfortable limousine - if they can arrange pick-up I would go for that. If we decide to visit NY again to see it in another Season we would be happy to stay at WSH again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, and we pretty much endorse others' positive comments. We liked the clubby oak walled look in the lobby. The lobby service was attentive and courteous. Our room, a 3rd floor queen with a view, was spacious by local standards. It looked out on the corner of Macdougal with a partial view of the park. There was a little street noise but not too disturbing. Breakfast was only adequate, might have liked a few more options. We stayed in one of the newer rooms with the wall mounted heat/AC. This worked well during a cold week and was very quiet, although even at its lowest setting and with the original radiators turned off the room was sometimes oddly warm. The hotel is a block from multiple subway lines, so easy to get to East or West sides of town. Wifi was reliable and elevators reasonably fast. Between location and comfort, a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My new wife and I stayed at the Hotel after my wedding for a few days, when the staff learned of our recent marriage they went out of they're way to make it special for us. The General Manager, Sonny, was especially kind and made sure we were very well taken care of. I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world an this is truly one of the best experiences I have ever had!

Location is great as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.