We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 17

Save Saved
You added Hotel 17 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 17
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 451 hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My 3 days in Hotel 17 were very nice.

The room was small, but comfortable with a wonderful bed. I haven't slept this good in ages. There is a tiny TV, a safe and washbasin. My room did not have an own bathroom, but you shared one with the other people on your floor. This was unproblematic as well - the bathroom was nice and clean with a large shower.

The hotel is located close to Union Square. During the holidays, Union Square features its beautiful holiday market. Moreover, there is a subway station from which you can get to pretty much everywhere in Manhattan within 20-30 minutes.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who looks for a comfortable place to stay in New York for as little money as possible. This truly is a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    476
    164
    46
    48
See reviews for
82
264
215
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Not bad for being one of the cheapest hotel options in Manhattan. The rooms are very small, but who goes to Manhattan to hang out in their hotel room? Each room has a sink, flat screen TV, and a relatively comfortable bed. The bath rooms are down the hall, and that's a bit of a pain. But I've stayed here twice and wasn't too bothered by the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I found this great hotel on a discount website. I was very pleased by its location, several blocks from Union Square, a major connecting point for key subway lines in Manhattan and the site for its well-known farmers' market, which I visited on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving. Hotel 17 is close to lots of food options by the Square, and not far from some great movie theaters (Angelika and Sunshine) but situated in a quieter area that takes the traveler away from the busyness of the city. The desk attendant was professional and efficient: I dropped my bag off well before check-in. The hotel is older and has a lot of charm, reminding me of the scale of provincial hotels in France (take note: a small elevator); many international travelers were checking in during my one night stay. I took the cheapest option, with shared bath (conveniently located right across the hall) and never had any problem accessing the bathroom. The double was small, but fully equipped, with television, individual safe, hairdryer, toiletries and a small closet to hang a few items. Multilingual staff was welcoming and professional. When I need to be downtown on my next trip to New York, I shall return.

Room Tip: I requested, and received, a room at the top of the hotel. It was quiet, worked out fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my second visit to NYC and I have stayed at Hotel 17 both times. I'd certainly stay there again. It is one of the lowest cost hotels in Manhattan which is still not cheap.
The best thing about it is the location. I really like this neighbourhood, it's a few minutes walk from Union Square and there is enough going on but without being noisy. It feels like the sort of place where real people live - not just tourists like in midtown.
The hotel is cheap for a reason - the rooms are small and the bathroom is shared with others on the floor. But there is a sink in the room which is handy. They give you towels and toiletries too. Other good things are the 24 hour reception and there is a lift.
It was clean. It was also suprisingly quiet despite my window looking over the street and having so many rooms. Free wifi. No fridge in the room and no kitchen facilities.
Overall I think it is good value for Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

There's a 70s song that goes, "I learned the truth at 17 that love was meant for beauty queens..." Well forget that, at Hotel 17 everyone can feel the love from an elegant yet economic stay along the Lower East Side at rates that will not devour your budget. More than any other hotel in NYC, I come back here again and again fully confident I'll have a comfortable, albeit cozy room, a spotless shared bathroom, friendly staff, and be walking distance from everything. Come on, it's Manhattan you're not supposed to be in the city to stay inside your hotel room. But when you do want to fall into bed after an exhaustive day or night out on this town, Hotel 17 can deliver.
Am already booked (again) for the end of December 2013 for Patti Smith's sold-out show at the Webster. Walking distance away to watch a rock icon perform, and probably a stop for a late night burger in between.
I learned the truth at Hotel 17 that I love staying at this easy, economic gem and psst, it's also the sister-hotel to Hotel 31 up in mid-town. Both establishments have earned my confidence.

Room Tip: An upper floor affords you better skyline views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, and this place was clean and in a convenient spot close to Union Square metro. We had a sink in our room and 2 bathrooms (with showers) on our floor down the hall-1 was always available. This place was exactly what we were looking for and we had a great stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

...But what more do you really need? Packed full of tiny rooms, with obviously a big turnover of guests (in whom the reception staff appeared to show little interest). But a bed, a basin (cold water), and shared bathroom (only had to wait for this a couple of times) and fairly clean. Soundproofing allowed good reception of Aussie's phone conversation next door. Excellent location near Union Square. Good diner for breakfast on a corner opposite, and an excellent restaurant (Mumbles) on another corner. Given the enormous cost of accommodation in New York, this is really pretty good value for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.