We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 17 to your Saves list
Hotel 17
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 464 Hotels in New York City
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Not bad for being one of the cheapest hotel options in Manhattan. The rooms are very small, but who goes to Manhattan to hang out in their hotel room? Each room has a sink, flat screen TV, and a relatively comfortable bed. The bath rooms are down the hall, and that's a bit of a pain. But I've stayed here twice and wasn't too bothered by the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    559
    185
    49
    53
See reviews for
101
297
267
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I found this great hotel on a discount website. I was very pleased by its location, several blocks from Union Square, a major connecting point for key subway lines in Manhattan and the site for its well-known farmers' market, which I visited on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving. Hotel 17 is close to lots of food options by the Square, and not far from some great movie theaters (Angelika and Sunshine) but situated in a quieter area that takes the traveler away from the busyness of the city. The desk attendant was professional and efficient: I dropped my bag off well before check-in. The hotel is older and has a lot of charm, reminding me of the scale of provincial hotels in France (take note: a small elevator); many international travelers were checking in during my one night stay. I took the cheapest option, with shared bath (conveniently located right across the hall) and never had any problem accessing the bathroom. The double was small, but fully equipped, with television, individual safe, hairdryer, toiletries and a small closet to hang a few items. Multilingual staff was welcoming and professional. When I need to be downtown on my next trip to New York, I shall return.

Room Tip: I requested, and received, a room at the top of the hotel. It was quiet, worked out fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my second visit to NYC and I have stayed at Hotel 17 both times. I'd certainly stay there again. It is one of the lowest cost hotels in Manhattan which is still not cheap.
The best thing about it is the location. I really like this neighbourhood, it's a few minutes walk from Union Square and there is enough going on but without being noisy. It feels like the sort of place where real people live - not just tourists like in midtown.
The hotel is cheap for a reason - the rooms are small and the bathroom is shared with others on the floor. But there is a sink in the room which is handy. They give you towels and toiletries too. Other good things are the 24 hour reception and there is a lift.
It was clean. It was also suprisingly quiet despite my window looking over the street and having so many rooms. Free wifi. No fridge in the room and no kitchen facilities.
Overall I think it is good value for Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

There's a 70s song that goes, "I learned the truth at 17 that love was meant for beauty queens..." Well forget that, at Hotel 17 everyone can feel the love from an elegant yet economic stay along the Lower East Side at rates that will not devour your budget. More than any other hotel in NYC, I come back here again and again fully confident I'll have a comfortable, albeit cozy room, a spotless shared bathroom, friendly staff, and be walking distance from everything. Come on, it's Manhattan you're not supposed to be in the city to stay inside your hotel room. But when you do want to fall into bed after an exhaustive day or night out on this town, Hotel 17 can deliver.
Am already booked (again) for the end of December 2013 for Patti Smith's sold-out show at the Webster. Walking distance away to watch a rock icon perform, and probably a stop for a late night burger in between.
I learned the truth at Hotel 17 that I love staying at this easy, economic gem and psst, it's also the sister-hotel to Hotel 31 up in mid-town. Both establishments have earned my confidence.

Room Tip: An upper floor affords you better skyline views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, and this place was clean and in a convenient spot close to Union Square metro. We had a sink in our room and 2 bathrooms (with showers) on our floor down the hall-1 was always available. This place was exactly what we were looking for and we had a great stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

...But what more do you really need? Packed full of tiny rooms, with obviously a big turnover of guests (in whom the reception staff appeared to show little interest). But a bed, a basin (cold water), and shared bathroom (only had to wait for this a couple of times) and fairly clean. Soundproofing allowed good reception of Aussie's phone conversation next door. Excellent location near Union Square. Good diner for breakfast on a corner opposite, and an excellent restaurant (Mumbles) on another corner. Given the enormous cost of accommodation in New York, this is really pretty good value for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I must say in advance that NY city hotels are very expensive, and this one was affordable for us. We got a room without bathroom, but the restrooms were close to our room and they were clean. Our room was small , the bed was small, but there is always a reason when it is cheap so we did not have much expectations. Overall, our room was clean and warm. The hotel has good location too. So i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#265 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#346 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#373 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#320 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#213 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#224 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.