We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 17

Save Saved
You added Hotel 17 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 17
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #295 of 451 hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here over Thanksgiving holidays and had a very good room rate. The hotel is located on the lower east side which is close to Union Square. It is also closer to Brooklyn than other parts of NYC and that is what I wanted to stay here as my son lives in Brooklyn and I only had to take one subway from there to get to Brooklyn.
The room was clean and there was a sink with a mirror in the room so I could get washed up and get my make up on and pretty much get ready for the day. I did have to share a bathroom but I never had to wait to use it. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was very nice also. I would stay there again.
When I go to NY, I do not spend much time in my room, so why spend a lot of money for a room?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    650
    191
    63
    56
See reviews for
81
263
214
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing can beat the location of this low-budget hotel. On East 17. Street in the heart of Manhattan, just a few steps from nice and political correct Union Square with its daily market of organic foods.
Rooms are rtther small and go without private bathroom, the aircondition is a little noisy, and you must go to the first floor if you need cold ice.But what can you expect for 135$ per night (with taxes) in this town?
On top of that there are some very good restaurants very close by. Check out Casa Mono at 52 Irving Place, and ABC Kitchen at 35 E. 18th Street!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The convenient location has been highlighted by numerous other reviewers. But I had the impression the hotel gets a little overhyped. My double bed, which I used as a single, would have hardly fitted two adults. The bathrooms on the hallway are okay, though not as immaculately clean as some people state. What really annoyed me was the bad smell of my room. I had requested a non-smoking room and it had such an intense odor that I dreaded coming back. The carpet was stained, the walls too, and the window unit air conditioner made such a noise that I had to shut it off at night. So if you can afford more, I suggest going elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel was really cool, I mean located in a central place, near subway stations and very cheap for this location. Inside it was beautifully arranged and the staff was very polite and helpful. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location. Away from the major tourist spots and great restaurants nearby - a variety of shops and restaurants to meet anyone's needs. Near to the subway and a safe and friendly neighbourhood. The hotel is in a quiet side street and clean, quiet and tidy. We had air conditioning (a little noisy but very powerful!) a safe, cable tv and a range of toiletries and towels.

The bathroom was shared - but there were no issues with sharing and I never saw anyone using the bathroom other than us. My suitcase broke and a helpful handyman came and repaired it for me.

Reception was quick and efficient to respond to requests, without question - but more efficient than friendly! As I understand it, this is typical of New York and not a complaint as they responded quickly to my requests and check in/ check out was quick and we had no problems.

Strongly recommend the hotel - location was a big winner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviles, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel has everything you look for in a hotel in Manhattan. It is really well located (near Grammercy Park and just within a 5-minute walk from the nearest subway station -14th Street and Union Square). Plus, it is affordable and clean and the staff is really helpful. The only inconvenient is that the AC makes some noise. However, if I travel to NY again I will undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is in a really cool location just 2 blocks from union square and a number of cool restaurants and bars close by. The smell of cigarette smoke in our room on the first floor was overwhelming. We had to holdnour breath when walking down the corridor. Room was ok for the price and service was pretty good. We managed to get a fold away bed into our room to get 3 beds in for an extra $25 per night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.