We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 17 to your Saves list
Hotel 17
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed two nights October 19 and 20, 2012. Picked this hotel because of its proximity to Union Square (our daughter's NYU dorm is across the street from the Square), the price ($155 a night) compared to other hotels ($300 and up) that weekend and the favorable reviews we read on TripAdvisor. The reviews were right on---this is a very clean, well kept hotel in a great location. Service at the front desk was prompt and efficient. Our corner room was small, but quiet from the rest of the hotel. The two shared bathrooms in our wing (there's a wing on either side of the center stairs/elevator) were always clean and usually available when needed. The double bed was very comfortable. This isn't a hotel to lounge in, but we don't go to NYC to lounge. The Gramercy Cafe was a half block away for breakfast and the subway was two-three blocks away at Union Square (which is served by multiple lines). We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    507
    173
    47
    50
See reviews for
86
278
234
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Bargain hotel for the able. Six steps up to tiny lobby. Bathrooms really bleached clean. Neighborhood felt safe to walk. Two blocks from bus and subway connections. Quiet. Victorian details could inspire a mystery writer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a simple, clean and comfortable hotel, with a pleasant deco style. The area was enjoyable to stay in - a location where people live, and a lot is going on. Though the hotel had no eating facilities, we had excellent breakfasts at the Grammercy Cafe at the end of the road, and there was a good selection of local eateries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We reviewed several hotels before deciding to book Hotel 17. The price, compared to other hotels in NYC, is what makes this hotel worth staying at. When you first check in and ride the small but efficient elevator up to your floor and open your door to your room, you think the hotel is a crap shoot. However, after spending 6 nights, are attitudes changed by the time we left. The hotel offers a lot of character and charm. There is a funny smell to the hotel, the rooms are small, nothing is updated, sheets are paper thin and bed comforter is from the '80's but you really don't spend too much time in your room. The beds are actually really comfortable and the bathrooms, although are shared, were always clean and available for the most part. The internet was slow but like I said earlier, you don't spend much time in your room as New York has so much to see. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel is very, very clean (minus a slight musty smell). We stayed at the Waldorf for the 2 nights before we stayed at Hotel 17, and I liked Hotel 17 way better!. Rooms are a decent size, location is perfect and staff very nice and efficient. Totally worth saving $200 a night. And Internet access was free--paid $20 a day at the Waldorf. :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five nights. Normally, I would not stay anywhere with a shared bathroom but NYC is too expensive not to. The hotel was full and still a bathroom was free whenever I needed it. The guests are mostly European travelers and friendly, once I was going to use the bathroom and a guest showed up with toiletries and a towel, I asked to go first and she was nice about it.

Yes, the rooms are small but not as small as they could be... I have stayed in London in rooms I am sure were closets at one point. I liked the decor, it is a bit mis-matched which I think adds to the character.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The neighborhood allows you to walk just about anywhere and I enjoyed that a great deal. I would stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Hotel 17 is a classic Lower Manhattan dump, and it always has been. However, it used to be terrific place, for the price. I do mean FOR THE PRICE.
First off - the neighborhood is really choice. There's almost no place that could be better- Gramercy is a great location, bar none. It is residential, and there are no hotels to speak of- except two that are extremely expensive. This is why the 17 has upped the price so severely. So there is that. Of course, if the 17 is going to command these prices, keep in mind that all of Manhattan is very accessible- you don't need to pay these prices for a crap hotel in this area.

The 17 used to be such a great dump. Though not fancy, and with the bathrooms down the hall, all of this was clean, clean, clean. Now they don't bother, and the rooms are triple the price. The beds were always so uncomfortable that sleeping on the floor might be better for some- but who could argue, for the price and location?

Well, now you can. Although I have always liked the 17, I would not pay the current rate. For what they are charging, I would be fine in Brooklyn,or at other places in the NYC area.

It's still a good little place, I'm sure- if you want to pay those rates. This is an old hotel, and one that is known by artsy performance types as working for us. It doesn't any more. If you seriously want to pay $160 for the Hotel 17, you go right ahead. It isn't worth it, as a hotel- the neighborhood might be, but let me reiterate- it's Manhattan, you can get where you need to go, anyway.

If you get a great rate, worth it. It's a sort of charming place with a great vibe- the bathroom down the hall thing really works, the way they have it set up. If you're desperate for a room in the area and willing to pay the current asking price, then do it. If you know how to do better, don't.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.