We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impress your artsy bohemian significant other!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 17

Save Saved
You added Hotel 17 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 17
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 449 hotels in New York City
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“impress your artsy bohemian significant other!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Self employed artists don't have the budget to spend a lot of money for a hotel in Manhattan, so when I chose to stay here with my wife for our 20th Wedding Anniversary, I took a gamble that Hotel 17 was going to be the right combination of affordability, convenience, cleanliness - and still have a funky elegance that artists often respond favorably to. There are not too many places like that in New York, and that list just got cut down by 1 when the Hotel Chelsea recently closed it's doors to the public. Fortunately, there is still this smaller, lesser-known gem.

Located in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood tucked in between Gramercy Park and Stuyvesant Park, I can only imagine how much it costs to live here. The area is a lot different from the funky, yet fun grime of Chelsea. Yet you are only a few blocks away from the East Village, and Union Square, which can get you anywhere else you want to go that is farther than you want to walk.

Our room this time was a (very) small one, with a double bed. A sink, a flat panel TV, a small closet, and that was about it. There was barely enough room to fit the small table that the phone was on. Who uses a regular phone these days anyway? But everything was clean, and other than the clanging of the heating pipes in the middle of the night, it was fairly quiet. The bed was okay. Could have been a lot worse. I only mention these things for people who want details. As long as it's cheap, clean and safe is all I care about.

The shared bathrooms were not a problem. They were always cleaned, but I never saw the cleaning people. If a bathroom was occupied, I was always able to find another one on that floor.

If you are looking to save a lot of money, sacrifice a few optional conveniences in the process, and impress your artsy bohemian significant other with a whirlwind getaway in one of the classiest areas in New York City? You can do no better than Hotel 17. .

Room Tip: Note: For a few dollars more, you can upgrade to a larger room with a shared bath. There are also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    645
    191
    63
    55
See reviews for
80
263
211
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Brilliant hotel. Good value for New York. Only complaint would be that the heating doesn't turn off so it can get very warm. Fantastic location near a subway. The shared bathroom was always very clean,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed here for one night while in transit in NYC. The room was clean with a comfy bed, wardrobe, sink, phone and tv in room. The location near Greenwich Village and Union Square was great loved the character of the neighbourhood. While there was no fridge a basket and communal ice dispenser is provided.

I had the unfortunate experience of being situated next to an incosiderate guest who decided to max out the volume of his TV at 3am in the morning! When I informed reception they called his room and the situation was quickly rectified. Whilst there is a shared bathroom, I found them to be very clean and personal with each bathroom consisting of only one shower/toilet combination. If your looking for a clean and comfortable room and don't want/need the additional add on's and luxuries then this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We chose this hotel based on reviews in T-A. It was a good choice and lived up to the reviews. It is a no frill older hotel, well maintained, quiet, very clean and in a good location. We had a triple room on the top floor and the bathroom was just across our room. We never had to wait to use it. So we do recommend it as a good choice for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a view but no triple room has a view of the E-S-B. Still we got a top floor room with 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I've been to many budget hotels in NYC in the past. This one rates on the top on my list so far. It was quiet (except for the ocassional sound of the heater), clean and comfortable. The room showed some wear on the carpets and walls (what hotel doesn't!) but it was a great budget hotel. If you're picky, this one's not for you, though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We had a lovely weekend at Hotel 17. I am always nervous about shared bathroom situations but these bathrooms were immaculate and there was a sink in our room, which was nice. The location was fantastic, very close to the subway and a short ride into Midtown. Hotel 17 is on a safe, residential side street, with many restaurants and a health food store/juice bar 1 block away. We would definitely stay there again and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I used to stay at a different hotel when visiting my friends in NYC but since the price of that hotel has tripled I searched for another option.
I decided to try Hotel 17 and was definitely not dissapointed!We had a corner room on the 7th floor which was spacious and the two single beds were great even for me who has backproblems. Loved that you could open the windows and there was no streetnoise at all.
I never had to wait for the shared bathrooms which were very clean. They could think of replacing the bathmats more often though.
The staff are very friendly and helpfull plus the location is one of the best in the city, nice diners, restaurants and stores around and safe at night.
All in all I will definitely stay here again when visiting the city, the hotel has everything i need, a nice bed, spacious room, great location and at a wonderfull price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.