We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but unfriendly reception staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Night Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Night Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Night Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 West 47th Street, (between 6th & 7th Avenues), New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Stay.) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 458 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, but unfriendly reception staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here 4th July to 12th July 2014. The hotel is in great location just off the top end of Times Square, so literally 1 minutes walk away from the bright lights and the craziness that is Times Square.

We had the double room so the size was great (we previously have stayed at the W hotel for one night (the rooms are tiny) and then the Marriott Marquis. The size of the double room is the same as the larger rooms at the MM.

The issue I had was that the hotel's reception staff were probably the most unfriendly bunch I have ever encountered; is it too hard to smile and say hello? They really are up themselves, not even "have a good day"

So while the hotel was fine, I don't think we will stay there again.

I would highly recommend a trip to NYC to anyone, forgot the shopping as if that is the only reason you plan to go, then London is just as cheap and if you take into account the airfare and hotel then save yourself a fortune and go to London.

NYC is so much more than a shopping destination; by all means do the tourist bit, we did, the open top bus is a must to start off with,but then get off the beaten tourist trails and wander down town through the village, walk Brooklyn Bridge and go down to Dumbo, at night is great, the subway is easy to use and safe even at night.

Really fell in love with NYC this time around.

Room Tip: For families the double is a great size, single bedded rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate that you took some extended time to provide us and all future guests with such a detailed review. I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience. Reviews on our service have been overwhelmingly positive and I am troubled to hear that your experience was not a good one. We focus considerable effort on training our staff to ensure high levels of service, and shall further strengthen our initiatives in this direction based on your feedback. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for your disappointment, however I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    677
    331
    157
    97
See reviews for
168
833
101
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights in July. The location is PERFECT. Even with being in the heart of the action, it was never too loud. The staff was always helpful, the room was cozy and clean (deluxe king room) as well as the bathroom. The A/C was loud, had to turn it off at night. The elevators were slow but the stairs were never busy :). The restaurant and bar are very nice. The General manager, Gautam, was amazing in providing for us and making sure our stay would be one to remember. We highly recommend the Night Hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Night TSQ!

It was a true pleasure meeting you. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with the Signature Night experience, and such appreciation coming from a discerning traveler such as yourself further encourages us in our quest of providing hospitality at its very best. My team and I remain at your service at anytime and we all look forward to having you back in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our family just stayed there for 1 night in 2 rooms. A superb location in times square. We had a few issues upon checking in and the manager, Anna Sobiech, immediately responded to them and resolved by changing our rooms. Extraordinary helpfulness.Staff really went out of way to make us happy and was flexible with check in and check out times which is greatly appreciated. Would definitely stay there again. Nothing better than management who wants happy customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us, and for sharing your wonderful experience. It is truly heartening to have our efforts recognized by you in such a manner.Thank you once again for your recognition and your gracious comments.We look forward to having you stay with us during all your future visits to NYC
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had a nice stay at the night hotel. Stayed for nights. The location is excellent for exploring Manhattan. The rooms were very small as well as the bathrooms, but it was OK. The elevators were not very reliable, once we got stuck in the elevator at the ground floor and rung the bell for about a minute until the door automatically opened, but there was nobody from the staff doing anything about this. We mainly avoided he elevator and took the stairs as we were only on the third floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. At Night TSQ, we strive to ensure utmost comfort for all our guests, and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences' your encountered while in residence.Your feedback has been taken up with utmost seriousness to prevent recurrence of an incident like this. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having read the reviews on here about this hotel I was quite apprehensive about staying here but didn't encounter any major issues whilst my friend and I were staying there for 5 nights. We were on the 8th floor and despite the proximity to Times Square the room was very quiet. The room was small but it was adequate for what we needed - no one goes to New York to spend all there time in a hotel room! The bathroom wasn't that big but wasn't the smallest I have ever encountered. The lifts can be a little slow but that is a minor gripe. The only issue we did have was someone set off the fire alarm by mistake at around half five one morning and we ended up calling reception 3 times, firstly to be told it was a false alarm, secondly to ask how much longer it would go on for (twenty minutes by this point) and we were informed it would be sorted within 5-10 minutes, finally, after another 20 minutes had elapsed we called again and were told they were having difficulty resetting it. After just over an hour it eventually stopped and fortunately we managed to get back to sleep. The concierge was helpful and booked our return shuttle to the airport for us. There is a lot of road works and building works going on in Times Square and next door to the hotel at the moment but the noise from this didn't cause us any problems. There is free wifi in the lobby and a good seating area, there is also a business room which came in handy as we booked some tickets whilst we were there and had to print them off which we were able to do for free. In terms of location the hotel is great and whilst the room wasn't the best it was adequate for what we needed whilst we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details of your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback here, good or bad, as we strive to provide the best value for all our guests. My apologies for the inconveniences' your encountered while in residence, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June.
The location is fantastic, less than 30 seconds to times square!
and was relatively quiet despite being so close to the action.
The room was small - but we were told this is standard in New York, so was expecting it to be even smaller than it was.
The styling of the lobby and the rooms were done well, and for the price we paid it was a bargain.
Would go again and would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to NYC and Night TSQ!
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

rooms were very small,toilet we had to use rubbish bin to flush...., rusty taps,..clogged shower..,,lumpy bumps under carpet ....,we found the reception staff rude...we stayed for 6 nights, asked on 3 occasions to see manager, but was unsuccessful...quite noisy location.demolition site next door .we would have left immediately but was not sure we would have been able to be reimbursed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience. Reviews on our service have been overwhelmingly positive and I am troubled to hear that your experience was not a good one. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you and re-assure you of our best intention and timely resolution at all times.
Sincerely,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Night Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Hotel Times Square

Address: 157 West 47th Street, (between 6th & 7th Avenues), New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Stay.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a hotel, but rather a place to spend the night. That's the mantra of this fashionable midtown Manhattan hotel. Located in Times Square on West 47th Street, only steps from the Theater District, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Fifth Avenue, we make it easy to stay connected with the epicenter of New York City life. Overnight in fully modern guest accommodations, exquisitely appointed with designer artwork and luxury amenities. Rule the night at the Aspen Social Club, our sleek and sophisticated restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Night Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay New York City
Stay Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Night Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.