We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel; affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Off Soho Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Off Soho Suites to your Saves list
Off Soho Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #346 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel; affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice place to stay. Convenient location, close to the Little Italy and Chinatown. Clean rooms. Nice staff. Price was good, around 160$/per room/per night. In fact, you rent small studios with kitchen. Good value but nothing chic.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    84
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
51
31
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

My husband and I visited in September (temps were 75/65) and stayed a week. We selected this hotel because we needed to be near NYU and most hotels in area were booked up; or $600 ! We booked through Expedia.

Main pluses: Bed was comfortable, and the 24/7 front staff friendly and accommodating.
Other pluses were adequate lighting, a shower that worked, working safe, subway about 4 blocks away, 3 blocks to Whole Foods.

Otherwise it was kind of like visiting with a friend -- a bit grimy and with small things not working (e.g. broken drawer knobs, phone in bedroom). Not "hotel spotless". And it was priced the same as hotels. If you need a suite with kitchen (and are OK with some grubbiness) this would be a good choice.
As it happened, we didn't need the kitchen but I checked it out and it seemed to all work; though pots&pans, dishes were few; and serving bowls non-existent.

The room is made up and fresh towels supplied every day.

It's a noisy neighborhood but we got used to that.

We stayed a week but were only in the room for nights and a few afternoon rests.
There were just two of us, but you could certainly fit 4 with the extra couple sleeping on the futon/couch in the sitting room.

Some minuses that are important to me:
In bathroom nowhere to set anything down or hang anything -- it is a big room and we brought in some chairs to serve this need. But why not supply a shelf and some hooks?
Bathroom sink was tiny and as I do laundry when I travel that was awkward. Again, plenty of room for something more spacious so why not?
There were only 4 hangers so bring your own.
There is little space to unpack into so you kind of have to live out of your suitcase. (two 2-drawer nightstands and the top of the closet safe were the only places to unpack into)

Some minuses important to my husband:
Internet connection via their wireless was intermittent
The TV is poor quality and the channel listing was wrong

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Price is very reasonable and we got a great night sleep. Great to have a kitchen and a fridge. I wish I would have brought some coffee to make. Lots of space with a dining room and living room to play cards with friends during our down time. Great location too and close to a lot of great restaurants and entertainment. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in 501 and 505; 505 had much more space to move around and had a better layout in my opini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My sister, my son and I stayed here. We purposely moved hotels so we could be the other end of Manhattan and grouped our activities to suit. Everything was excellent, from check in to check out - when they arranged a town car to the airport. The housekeeping was more than we expected - but we did leave a tip each day with a thank you note :) Location was brilliant within walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy and Greenwich Village. The suite gave us room to spread out. I used the laundry which was helpful. There is a Wholefoods just along the street which was great too. Rooms are a little tired, and could do with some attention as far as paintwork etc (looks like there had been some major patching) but it was clean and we thought the price was right!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

- The wifi signal was very unstable. Both my Android and iPhone 5 couldn't connect to the wifi. Connecting to my PC and Mac was slow.
- The hair dryer is the weakest I've ever seen. If you have long hair, it takes a long long time to dry your hair.
- No soft pillows. The pillows were way too high for me. I couldn't sleep well.
- There were two windows but no sun light.
- Not LGBT friendly.

The bottom line: With this price, you can find somewhere better.

Room Tip: Just don't stay with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was a great find. For the price I expected a shoebox sized room but they provided a very large 2 BR room suite with a big private bathroom and kitchen. The room was clean and the service superb! The fitness room is small but adequately supplied and the lobby was spacious with strong wifi signal. The hotel is a very easy walk to Little Italy and Chinatown, and 4 blocks or so from Grand subway station.

There were some relatively minor drawbacks. The decor is dated. The in room wifi signal was too weak to use. The neighborhood is a bit run down, and there's no insure parking (no surprise in NYC). But these minor things dont change the fact that this is a clean, safe, comfortable, spacious and well-run hotel that is an incredible value.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEllington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I'm a travel agent who travelled to New York with a friend and struggled to find options that had two twin beds. I had read some earlier reviews and was a bit concerned but couldn't really fault the place. A bit dated (kitchen )but it really is a reasonably priced alternative to expensive New York hotels. We loved having the extra space of an apartment and the ability to come home (after pounding the streets for hours) and have something to eat before heading out.
It could be noisy at night with street cleaners etc as we faced onto the street from the bedroom but nothing too bad.
Friends had suggested staying lower Manhatten and I'm so glad we did. The location of Off Soho Suites was just perfect. You can't fault the Location with many good bars, shops and restaurants a short walk away. Whole Foods is just around the corner if you want to eat in.
Willie, Gabe and the other gentleman who worked their couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
I will happily recommend it to my clients and friends

Room Tip: I booked a deluxe and didn't see their lower category apartments. We stayed in 603 which was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Off Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Soho Suites

Address: 11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Off Soho Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's ultra trendy and ecclectic Lower East Side, recently remodeled Off Soho Suites offers travelers an unbeatable alternative to the overpriced and undersized rooms found at so many New York hotels. Our spacious one and two room suites are within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East Village, and boast a variety of guest services and amenities, including full sized, fully stocked kitchens.Boutique-style Off Soho Suites is a perfect homebase for all of your New York City adventures. Walk out the front door and have your pick of dozens of restaurants, boutiques, and venues (like the world-famous Bowery Ballroom just around the corner), and enjoy the convenience of several subway stations within a short walk of the hotel. One of the Lower East Side's hottest new galleries, Eleven Rivington, is even located in our lobby!Knowing that convenience and comfort are as important as affordability and a great location, we are happy to offer services such as FREE In Room and Lobby Wireless high speed Internet access , coin-operated laundry facilities, a fitness center, and a courteous, multilingual front desk staff on hand to assist you 24 hours a day.For budget-conscious families, couples, and urban explorers who’d rather drop cash at New York attractions, shops, and venues than on high hotel rates, there's no better choice than downtown New York's clean, comfortable, and spacious Off Soho Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Off Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Soho Hotel New York City
Hotel Off Soho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off Soho Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.