We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Off Soho Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Off Soho Suites to your Saves list
Off Soho Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My sister, my son and I stayed here. We purposely moved hotels so we could be the other end of Manhattan and grouped our activities to suit. Everything was excellent, from check in to check out - when they arranged a town car to the airport. The housekeeping was more than we expected - but we did leave a tip each day with a thank you note :) Location was brilliant within walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy and Greenwich Village. The suite gave us room to spread out. I used the laundry which was helpful. There is a Wholefoods just along the street which was great too. Rooms are a little tired, and could do with some attention as far as paintwork etc (looks like there had been some major patching) but it was clean and we thought the price was right!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    82
    29
    16
    15
See reviews for
50
29
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

- The wifi signal was very unstable. Both my Android and iPhone 5 couldn't connect to the wifi. Connecting to my PC and Mac was slow.
- The hair dryer is the weakest I've ever seen. If you have long hair, it takes a long long time to dry your hair.
- No soft pillows. The pillows were way too high for me. I couldn't sleep well.
- There were two windows but no sun light.
- Not LGBT friendly.

The bottom line: With this price, you can find somewhere better.

Room Tip: Just don't stay with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was a great find. For the price I expected a shoebox sized room but they provided a very large 2 BR room suite with a big private bathroom and kitchen. The room was clean and the service superb! The fitness room is small but adequately supplied and the lobby was spacious with strong wifi signal. The hotel is a very easy walk to Little Italy and Chinatown, and 4 blocks or so from Grand subway station.

There were some relatively minor drawbacks. The decor is dated. The in room wifi signal was too weak to use. The neighborhood is a bit run down, and there's no insure parking (no surprise in NYC). But these minor things dont change the fact that this is a clean, safe, comfortable, spacious and well-run hotel that is an incredible value.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEllington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I'm a travel agent who travelled to New York with a friend and struggled to find options that had two twin beds. I had read some earlier reviews and was a bit concerned but couldn't really fault the place. A bit dated (kitchen )but it really is a reasonably priced alternative to expensive New York hotels. We loved having the extra space of an apartment and the ability to come home (after pounding the streets for hours) and have something to eat before heading out.
It could be noisy at night with street cleaners etc as we faced onto the street from the bedroom but nothing too bad.
Friends had suggested staying lower Manhatten and I'm so glad we did. The location of Off Soho Suites was just perfect. You can't fault the Location with many good bars, shops and restaurants a short walk away. Whole Foods is just around the corner if you want to eat in.
Willie, Gabe and the other gentleman who worked their couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
I will happily recommend it to my clients and friends

Room Tip: I booked a deluxe and didn't see their lower category apartments. We stayed in 603 which was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a bargain. A two room United with kitchen accomodates 4 adults. Decent comfort, good beds, ok kitchen and bath plus a pleasant lounge with wi-fi.
No extras but great value and super location if You like to stay in lower Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were a group of four women who visited NYC for fun over 4 days. We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel is close to Chinatown and Little Italy and the walk to two of the subway stations was about 2 blocks. Noise level was good because the hotel is off the main thoroughfare. All three gentlemen who worked there were very helpful and cheerful when we asked any questions. They immediately came up to help us with the fold out bed and everyday, did a great job cleaning our room- our dishes were even washed. One of the ladies used the exercise room and needed the treadmill fixed- the gentleman immediately corrected the situation.
The suite had "character"- there was a window with a fire escape -overlooking a neat alleyway with a replica of the Statue of Liberty. The bathroom was good sized- had shelving which was great for 4 women. The kitchenette had a full size fridge and surprisingly a gas operated stove. There was a microwave to heat up leftovers.
If you are looking for a contemporary facny 5 star hotel, this is not the place. This is a htoel that is like a comfortable slightly worn easy chair- nothing fussy but very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A group of us, from the international offices of our organization, were put in this hotel for a global meeting in NYC.

First off, their service was not initially very good in the reception. I was told to wait a few minutes to check in and the person at reception left me there for about 20 minutes. I had to go back and remind him I was waiting, and he just gave me the key and let me up. However, they were very nice about receiving my lost suitcase later that week.

The room I was put in (luckily) was one of the deluxe, it was a mini apartment, a room with a double bed, bathroom (with tub), kitchenette and sitting room. However, it was a bit dated, and fairly clean, but could have been better. The heating system was a bit old, and it turned on automatically (or so they said), and there were times that it got really cold, and I had no control over the thermostat.

I had trouble sleeping the 4 nights I was there, due to this constant noise of driers. One night there was a party in the room next to mine, and I could hear everything.
The location is pretty good, it is close to Chinatown, and it’s got a nice neighborhood a few blocks down; and there is a subway station about 1.5 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Off Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Soho Suites

Address: 11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Off Soho Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's ultra trendy and ecclectic Lower East Side, recently remodeled Off Soho Suites offers travelers an unbeatable alternative to the overpriced and undersized rooms found at so many New York hotels. Our spacious one and two room suites are within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East Village, and boast a variety of guest services and amenities, including full sized, fully stocked kitchens.Boutique-style Off Soho Suites is a perfect homebase for all of your New York City adventures. Walk out the front door and have your pick of dozens of restaurants, boutiques, and venues (like the world-famous Bowery Ballroom just around the corner), and enjoy the convenience of several subway stations within a short walk of the hotel. One of the Lower East Side's hottest new galleries, Eleven Rivington, is even located in our lobby!Knowing that convenience and comfort are as important as affordability and a great location, we are happy to offer services such as FREE In Room and Lobby Wireless high speed Internet access , coin-operated laundry facilities, a fitness center, and a courteous, multilingual front desk staff on hand to assist you 24 hours a day.For budget-conscious families, couples, and urban explorers who’d rather drop cash at New York attractions, shops, and venues than on high hotel rates, there's no better choice than downtown New York's clean, comfortable, and spacious Off Soho Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Off Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Soho Hotel New York City
Hotel Off Soho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off Soho Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;