We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Off Soho Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Off Soho Suites to your Saves list
Off Soho Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #346 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just stayed here for the second time this month. The rooms are great an of an ample size, IT is close to just about everything. I would recommend bringing or buying your own coffee for the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    84
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
51
31
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We enjoyed the extra space of the suite and having a kitchen allowed us to save a bit of money since we were able to get pastries and fresh squeezed orange juice from Whole Foods right around the corner. This place is a value for families since squabbling kids (not mine!) can have separate spaces. The suites have been partially redone to give it a "loft" feel. But room are also a bit worn, especially the kitchen. But, hey, it's NYC and we were out most of the time in places like the East Village and Soho, both of which are quite close.

So if you lower your expectations a bit, you might see why I rated this "very good," although somewhere between the Trip Advisor categories of "average" and "very good" would be a better fit. We've stayed in other hotels in NYC and paid a lot more. But to tell the truth, those hotels can seem a bit precious and overrated. So we went for an underrated place and we're okay with that choice because of the extra room.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 03 (e.g., 503) share a wall with only one other room and are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a great hotel. Its location is reasonably close to the subway (a couple stops to Fulton, etc). The room was a decent size and clean. There are plenty of eateries and fun bars nearby.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We checked in late and just needed a locked room with a bed and bathroom - with reasonable expectations of what was possible in NYC - and didn't quite get that. Room hadn't been cleaned - mystery red substance we're hoping was nail polish by the closet floor, damp towels thrown on the beds, and make up all over the pillowcase and sheets. Pulled the old coverlet over the bed and called it a night with sounds of boho charm below (actually more charming than the "hotel") - then woke up to a cold shower. Left as early as we booked late and I'm guessing manager made assumptions about "spoiled Americans" as he made a philosophical remark like "Hey, that's travel" - I've been to multiple countries and stayed at places in various budget ranges and while the privacy makes this more than a hostel, the lack of sanitation makes it worse. Lots of comments here point to same ... So start listening! Won't be back, especially with cleaner, cheaper options in same area and all around if planned/planning ahead (Hotwire!). Agree with previous poster, Henry Rollins and Slash might have stayed here in their up-and-coming gigging days - but none of that makes this cool. Their standards have been raised and so have mine.

Room Tip: A/C is mobile unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights last month and couldn't have asked for more at such a reasonable price. Let me start by saying that I've been to NYC many, many times and have always stayed in Times Square/Theatre District at places like Marriott Marquis, the W, etc. This is completely different but for a third of the price and to be closer to Soho and Greenwich, etc., it was perfect. My daughter and I stayed in a twin suite and I could see that the single rooms would have been quite a tight fit, but our suite was absolutely perfect. Full kitchen, sitting area with couch, nice sized bathroom and a separate bedroom with twin beds. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and unfailingly polite. They helped us with advice, hiring a private car service, with luggage, adding a night, etc. etc. Also recommend trying the German bar/restaurant next door-- doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside it's a family-friendly bar with interesting food and tons of great beer choices. Our room was also equipped with a coffee maker, microwave, dishes, etc. etc. and an AC unit in the living area. There's an elevator. Nothing is exactly "plush" but it's more than adequate (and I'm a pretty picky customer). My only slight complaint is that the WIFI is spotty at times (and you can go down to the lounge to get a stronger signal, I believe). Overall, I'd stay here again and would recommend it as an economical solution!

Room Tip: Make sure you aware if you have to share a bathroom. Suites have their own, others share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We booked here so we had the option of preparing a bit of food for ourselves to save money and with the Whole Foods Market just two blocks away that worked very well.
Our suite was roomy and comfortable and the reception was really helpful. We had some trouble with our safe and they sent someone up immediately to fix it.
The location was great, easy for bus or metro, and within walking distance of lots of great stuff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Off Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Soho Suites

Address: 11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Off Soho Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's ultra trendy and ecclectic Lower East Side, recently remodeled Off Soho Suites offers travelers an unbeatable alternative to the overpriced and undersized rooms found at so many New York hotels. Our spacious one and two room suites are within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East Village, and boast a variety of guest services and amenities, including full sized, fully stocked kitchens.Boutique-style Off Soho Suites is a perfect homebase for all of your New York City adventures. Walk out the front door and have your pick of dozens of restaurants, boutiques, and venues (like the world-famous Bowery Ballroom just around the corner), and enjoy the convenience of several subway stations within a short walk of the hotel. One of the Lower East Side's hottest new galleries, Eleven Rivington, is even located in our lobby!Knowing that convenience and comfort are as important as affordability and a great location, we are happy to offer services such as FREE In Room and Lobby Wireless high speed Internet access , coin-operated laundry facilities, a fitness center, and a courteous, multilingual front desk staff on hand to assist you 24 hours a day.For budget-conscious families, couples, and urban explorers who’d rather drop cash at New York attractions, shops, and venues than on high hotel rates, there's no better choice than downtown New York's clean, comfortable, and spacious Off Soho Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Off Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Soho Hotel New York City
Hotel Off Soho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off Soho Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.