We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but nice location and the room was ok for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Off Soho Suites

Save Saved
You added Off Soho Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Off Soho Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #335 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not the best, but nice location and the room was ok for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

So a group of four of us stayed here in the off season. The room was really nice! Full kitchen with dishes, fridge, big tv with a couch. The lobby was pretty. The location was great for Lower East Side lovers (like us) and the price was great! We got half off a four-person suite because it was November.
Now for the not-so-great: Parking is down the street and around the corner, but you get a discount voucher from the hotel. Two of the four beds are real beds in the bedroom, the other two are a super uncomfortable fold out futon. Really hard and kind of old and gross. You have to pay extra for "maid service" so no one took away our kitchen garbage for three days and by the third day it was disgusting. And we overheard a nasty fight between the hotel clerk/manager and two guests because he would not honor the discount they thought they were getting.
But all in all, it's the best for your buck in the LSE. I would stay again if I got the 50% discount again. Those suites are not worth $300-$400 a night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    81
    29
    16
    15
See reviews for
49
29
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Our family enjoyed our stay at Off Soho. The suite was clean and roomy enough for four adults.
The staff was exceptionally friendly,pleasant and helpful.
The hotel was convenient to Chinatown, Little Italy,Soho and St. Marks place and an easy subway ride to other areas of the city.
My only "complaint" was the mattress on the pull out sofa bed. This was a bit thin and lumpy and could use an upgrade. The kitchenette could have used a coffeemaker too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

on a vibrant street in a colourful but pretty safe area. Nice and clean. large apartment. Air con pretty noisy but you could sleep through it. Lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

CHARACTER, CHARACTER, CHARACTER. Upon arriving at OFF SOHO, after a very long flight, I was greeted by a very warm receptionist. The suite was huge, immaculate, and very comfortable. The location is to die for and within walking distance to everything. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to experience a true New York boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here for four nights at the end of a warm October 2010 together with three of my friends. We needed an affordable and comfortable place to sleep in Manhattan and we found it. Our room was big (2 single beds in one room, one sofa bed in a comfortably large living room/kitchen area) and got cleaned every day. The bedroom was on the street side, and right across the hotel is some kind of depot, so around 5 or 6 am there was a bit of noise. There was airco in the room, which was most welcome in this warm October week. We never ate in, although everything we needed was in the room: The hotel is perfectly located in the best part of manhattan: right off prince and spring, with lots of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. chinatown and litte italy are very close as well and broadway of course, which makes for a perfect location for shopping!
i would return here again for the location and the comfort of the room. It might be a bit expensive though if you can't divide the room price by four but either way, this location and this kind of money...it's hard to find

Room Tip: ask for a good room downstairs at the reception, they're nice people and will help you if they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was the cheapest we could find for one night and pictures reflected it to look somewhat contemporary/modern. It was clean, but in need of a major overhaul. Hardwood floors very old, needed to be refinished, bathroom needed to be gutted. Just old and needed TLC. No central air. Window air conditioner.
Cute fun German bar next door. Walking distance of Chinatown/Little Italy.
Parking on Elizabeth Street, but make sure you get your ticket validated or they won't honor hotel discount for parking.
Front desk staff very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

As many other reviews pointed out, the expectation before arrival is a nice cheap hotel in a decent area. We arrived on a sketchy small street with an out of place hotel right across from a run down warehouse. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL. The relative (It really isn't ) cheaper hotel cost really isn't worth it. The clerk is rude and always make excuses about not giving you the service you ask for, and is overall an unhelpful person. The hotel has nice pictures in their websites, but be warned, those clearly doesn't accurately reflect what the rooms are and the quality of it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Off Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Soho Suites

Address: 11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Off Soho Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's ultra trendy and ecclectic Lower East Side, recently remodeled Off Soho Suites offers travelers an unbeatable alternative to the overpriced and undersized rooms found at so many New York hotels. Our spacious one and two room suites are within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East Village, and boast a variety of guest services and amenities, including full sized, fully stocked kitchens.Boutique-style Off Soho Suites is a perfect homebase for all of your New York City adventures. Walk out the front door and have your pick of dozens of restaurants, boutiques, and venues (like the world-famous Bowery Ballroom just around the corner), and enjoy the convenience of several subway stations within a short walk of the hotel. One of the Lower East Side's hottest new galleries, Eleven Rivington, is even located in our lobby!Knowing that convenience and comfort are as important as affordability and a great location, we are happy to offer services such as FREE In Room and Lobby Wireless high speed Internet access , coin-operated laundry facilities, a fitness center, and a courteous, multilingual front desk staff on hand to assist you 24 hours a day.For budget-conscious families, couples, and urban explorers who’d rather drop cash at New York attractions, shops, and venues than on high hotel rates, there's no better choice than downtown New York's clean, comfortable, and spacious Off Soho Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Off Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Soho Hotel New York City
Hotel Off Soho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off Soho Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.