We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everyting about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Deauville to your Saves list
Hotel Deauville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved everyting about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We were staying seven days in the Hotel Deauville and it was an absolute pleasure. It is a great little Hotel that has very (!!!) friendly staff and the rooms are very (!!!) clean.

We stayed in Room 502 (a room with a bathroom) on the fith floor facing the street. While the street facing rooms a a bit louder they have a bit of a view. The rooms facing the back are a bit darker but more quite. I truly recommend that you ask for a room facing the street if noise does not bother you.

The room got cleaned on a daily basis and towels also got changed daily. There was a fridge (very quiet), hairdryer, soap and shampoo (everything you would also get in a 5* Hotel). The bed was soft and comfortable. I was amazed by the great size of the room, especiallly after I read the reviews of some other hotels. The elevator was a classic and we only used it when we had too much shopping or luggage with us. The five flights of stairs are easy to handle, even after 12 hours walking in the city.

The Hotel is in a great location and we went on foot most times. The subway is just a minute away and even a cab to most places in downtown and/or uptown is only about 10-15 US$. We had a rental car for one night and we could have parked on hte street it in front of the hotel till 8 am. But I recommend that if you rent a car for the day, that you return it at night, as parking is very expensice (sometimes more than 30 US$ per night) in NYC.

I chose this Hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and I would definately stay again. I cannot understand why some people could write some bad feedback about Deauville, as we have had a very pleasant stay; but I guess there are always people who are looking for flaws or just have a bad experience (this was definately not us).

I would give this hotel a lot more stars, as they deserve it!!!

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Staff, Safety
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    203
    78
    25
    16
See reviews for
79
147
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I searched quite awhile before settling on this place. NYC has always been an expensive place to stay but even knowing that I was a bit taken back by the prices for rooms.

This is not the place to stay if you're expecting a standard, cookie cutter suburban motel/hotel and amenities. It's an obviously old building and has not been updated but it is clean and the staff the
weekend we were there (Memorial Day) we extremely helpful.
The building is a short block from the subway.

The room was bare bones, nothing but the essentials. It did not face the street, instead the windows opened to one of those air ventilation shafts that are sometimes found in old buildings. This didn't do much for the room ambiance but certainly did wonders for eliminating street noise, it simply didn't exist. There wasn't a air conditioner in the room which wasn't a problem when we were there but not sure what it'd be like in a heat wave. (I could see in the ventilation shaft that some of the other rooms did have air conditioners.)

After 4 nights here the place had begun to take on a unique charm of it's own. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

If you don't want to spend all of your money on a hotel room while in New York, this is a good option.

Your room will cover the basics - a place to sleep and shower. No alarm clock, no view etc. And, let's face it, when you are in NY you don't spend any time in your room anyway.

Staff was very friendly and recommended a few great places to eat nearby.

Worst part about the room I'd say was the bed. it has no motion control what-so-ever.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I arrived in NYC after a very long flight from Sydney, Australia. I knew when we made the booking that our hotel room wasn't not going to have its own bathroom (we tried to save on a few $$$) so I wasn't expecting all that much from the room. There is only 1 shared bathroom throughout the whole hotel and it is located on level 3. I think there are a total of 7 rooms without a bathroom throughout the hotel. We were lucky to get the only shared bathroom room on level 3 so we didn't have too many problems with accessing the bathroom. Our room had its own sink and mirror - small but did the job!

Pro's:
1. We arrived earlier than check in time, however our room was ready which was fantastic as we were desperate for a good nap before we hit the streets of NYC.
2. Room rather small, but considering it didn't have a bathroom, we had enough space for a bags etc
3. Room was serviced each day with fresh towels
4. Shared bathroom was cleaned daily
5. Friendly staff, willing to answer our questions
6. Convenient location - we were able to walk to many places. subway etc.

Con's
1. Whilst the hotel is rather old and I did admire the charm of an 'staff operator' working the lift, but, after 5 days, I felt as though they were getting a tad annoyed with us, especially as we did not offer tips for every single ride!
2. Location is good, however, late on a few evenings we saw a few rather suspicious looking people hanging around the area. Needless to say, we did not encounter any problems.
3. The lock on our room door did not seem to be all that secure, so we took our passports and valuables with us each day.
4. Our non bathroom room on level 3 offered no view (not that we cared) however, the air con was rather noisy.

Overall, would recommend the shared bathroom option for anyone looking to save $$ in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. The room was tiny, had a four foot bed for 2 people which is certainly not adequate at all. The view out the window was a brick wall.
Also when requesting a cab to the airport we were informed by the hotel receptionist that it would be $55 but when we were dropped off it was $65. We queried this and were told the hotel should have quoted us $65. My husband spoke to the boss of the cab company but we did not get anywhere and short of calling the police to deal with it we had to cough up the money. Please be aware of this. We will not be staying in this hotel again and will not be recommending it to our friends and acquaintances and have also informed our travel agent.

  • Liked — The area
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

My sister-in-law and i just stayed at the hotel deauville for 4 nights. On arriving at the hotel the person on duty at check in was Edward, we asked could we have a room with 2 beds and private facilities, thankfully Edward did this for us.
The room was clean and we had clean towels everyday. The only drawback was the view, which was a brick wall, but we were out all day so the room was basically somewhere to put your head on a night and to have a clean bathroom.
We were so grateful the air conditioning was good because New York was going through a heatwave at the time with temps hitting 100 degrees so coming back to a lovely cool room was a godsend.
The hotel has a free safety deposit box, free hairdryers and tea/coffee making facilities.
The staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful especially Emily who organised our trip on a helicopter for us and was always happy to answer any questions.
We booked a car to take us back to jfk through the hotel and couldnt believe it when a limo turned up and it only cost 65 dollars.
So all in all if you are going to NY on a budget i would thoroughly recommend this hotel as being clean and having friendly staff.

  • Liked — the clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — the view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

We stayed at the Deauville for 7 nights during the last week of April. We found the Hotel on the Internet when searching for a comfortable, clean but still inexpensive stay when visiting NYC.

For the first time ever I booked a room without private facilities. The price diference of about $60 a day was tempting, and perhaps the perfect way to increase the shopping budget?

Upon arrival the check in went smooth, and the room was surprisingly large, with a comfortable double bed, tv, a chair and a sink. The housekeeping during the stay turned out to be spotless. Also the shared facilities was clean and in good condition. It was shared with 4-5 other rooms, and we rarely had to que. Only negative think: we stayed at the 4th floor, and had to take the stairs to floor 3 when visiting the restroom.

Overall the Deauville was a very pleasant surpise with a spacious room, fantastic nice staff, and the standard of the housekeeping was terrific. Also the location at E28 street suited us fine, with the subway only a block away. A collection of Indian and Thai restaurants was found in the neighbourhood as well as Mcdonalds, Starbucks, Duane Reade and places to pick up a bagel or two in the mornings.

We recommend Deauville for couples not willing to spend a fortune for the stay, but still searching for a clean and comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Very clean room, friendly staff, location, value for money
  • Disliked — No individual heating
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#251 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deauville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.