We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Deauville to your Saves list
Hotel Deauville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very good value for money, great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Rather old facilities do not bother but give it a touch of going back to the NYC of the 60/70s.
If you do not plan to spend your NYC vacation in your hotel room or looking out of your window his is the ideal hotel to go to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    203
    79
    25
    16
See reviews for
79
147
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

From the minute you arrive you are made welcome, emailed prior to our stay and mails always replied too. Perfect location slap bang in the middle of manhattan ! 100 metres from the subway or about 15 minute walk to time square, the best value hotel in manhattan ! Believe me I looked !! Could not thank the front of house staff and house maids enough for looking after us on our first visit to New York, the best tip I could give you is to buy a metro card for the subway and bus, it cost us thirty dollars for a seven day unlimited pass, the transport system operates 24 hours a day ! We flew into Newarke airport and got the Manhatten express shuttle bus from the airport, it cost 28 dollars return and drops you at grand central station right on park ave south, just walk a short distance down it and turn left onto twenty ninth st and your there. It's that easy !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time visiting NYC so for me this hotel was ideal. A few reviews on here mention the dated appearance of the hotel but for me this didn't matter - it was clean, comfortable and had free wifi!!! Our room had two double beds and plenty of room for both our large suitcases, a TV, coffee machine (which we never used), and bathroom with shower. Our room was at the back of the hotel so there was no noise at night, which I had been worried about having been warned Manhattan can be very loud at night. Staff were friendly and helpful, holding our suitcases on the last day after check-out as we had a late flight home and wanted to do some last minute shopping. There were loads of places for breakfast nearby, the "bread and butter" 24hr deli across the road was great for a quick cheap breakfast and for late night snacks.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers who want to explore the city and just need a comfortable room to come back to at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel because it was around the corner from the right place for me, but then regretted choosing this hotel. If you want to experience how people lived in the Soviet Union since the 90s - then this hotel is perfectly conveys the atmosphere of the time. Be prepared for the fact that the lift you use only once or do not use (that is, you have to lift your bags up the stairs to the floors). Room size is good, but the furniture is just terrible! Zanoveski more like a bag, and a blanket seems no less than 10 years old! On the door to the bathroom did not close the door, and the door itself was with peeling paint! The ceiling is full of cracks. Plumbing also leaves much to be desired. I lived on the 3rd floor, my windows looked out on the 29th Street, it was very noisy! On each floor of the hotel has its own point of access to wi-Faya, but do not count on it, it is very slow! After several hours of fighting with FEMA-wai, I realized that it was useless, and used his 4g connection. This is the first time in my life when I saw that the hotel does not change the towels, and those that have already dried up after you use - fold back to you! For me it was a shock. The hotel can make films of horrors!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I scheduled an impromptu last-minute trip to Broadway in NYC and found this quaint quiet hotel to be very economical, convenient, and accomodating. For the price with the shared bathroom it was well worth it, particularly for a brief overnight stay. The Bread and Butter deli/shop right across the street which is open 24 hours makes it a wonderful location. Only a block or so away is a bevy of fabulous Indian, Pakistani, and Bangladeshi food I would definitely repeat a short NYC stay in this hotel with free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hotel Deauville was not our first choice. We were planning a Christmas-time weekend in NYC, and didn't make reservations until October, and the places we usually stay were booked. So we thought we would take a chance on the Hotel Deauville.

When we first arrived, we were hopeful. The lobby was charmingly decorated for the holidays, and the staff were very friendly. The elevator was old-school - needed an elevator operator! - and our keys were those cool old fashioned kind, not the electronic cards. We opened the door to our room - and were greeted by a blast of hot air. It must have been 85 degrees in the room, and that was with both of the windows open. After searching in vain for a temperature control, we called the front desk and asked them if they had a fan and the answer was no. Luckily, we were able to purchase one at a nearby CVS, and that is what saved our night of sleep, because the room was stifling.

Other items of note - the room was very small and spartanly decorated. The pictures on the walls and the lamps looked like they were purchased at a tag sale. A coffee maker was on the table, but no coffee, cream, sugar, etc. The towels were thin and aging.

Since all we did was sleep here, it wasn't a big deal, but we wouldn't book the room again, especially for the money we paid. Even after the nice AAA discount we got at the front desk, it was still more expensive than the places that we usually stay at that are far superior.

On the positive side, the staff was friendly, the room was clean and the location was great. Also, there was a small refrigerator and a modern TV.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

July 2009 - My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We went cheap and got the room with the European (shared) bath. I didn't mind it as there was a second bathroom in the lobby if I just had to go to the bathroom. And since I showered before bed to wash off all the touring, the line wasn't long for the shower. If you've been in this kind of hotel before - with one shared bathroom on the floor - this place is an 11 on a 1-10! The staff was so sweet and I loved the elevator.

I've read other people's reviews and would say that our family doesn't stay in a hotel much on vacation so we really just need a safe place to sleep with clean beds and bathrooms that don't require shower shoes. It's been years since college but I feel anything is a step up from a state college dorm!

If you require more ritz or attention to detail then I suggest a commercial chain hotel. Part of the romance of Hotel Deauville is it's quaint and old fashioned, which is what we loved about it.

Breakfast was a little hard to come by, we didn't learn until the last day that for a sit down breakfast, ride the subway to Grand Central, exit south and under the bridge is a diner that fills up VERY FAST. East of that place is a cafeteria style market.

Great location with access to all the tourist locations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#252 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deauville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.