We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Clean and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Times Square

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE LUNCH
Ranked #233 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Albany, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location - Clean and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on 10/24. I stay in a lot of Manhattan hotels in this price range and this one is right up there. Great staff at the front desk, clean public areas, nice crisp white linens, and a clean bathroom. Pair that with a great central location, free bottled water and a nice TV selection and I'm a happy traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We love happy travelers at the Econo Lodge Times Square! Our house keeping and front desk staff strive to create a clean and friendly environment for our guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    310
    123
    32
    34
See reviews for
109
282
80
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice neighborhood, FREE BFAST, 7 minute walk to Time Square and very AFFORDABLE! My first impression after checking in then taking the elevator to our room was the SMELL..............it was CLEAN in the hallways!!! We stayed in Room 416; clean, clean and clean!! The room was small with a queen size bed, good for two people; but you don't go to NYC to stay in your room. The guest agent that we encountered (Trinita Meade) was AWESOME!!!!! She answered all our questions, provided us with directions, etc.; she went out of her way to welcome us and to make sure our stay was a good one. I took my daughter to see Taylor Swift at Good Morning America, she ended up camping outside for a good spot; she was exhausted and while helping me pack she made the mistake of taking a coverlet from the bottom of the bed with the blanket we brought and one that I purchased! OMG when I found it that night; I called the next day and spoke to Trinita and told her that I would mail it back to them on Friday as I didn't want to be charged for it; she was so nice and said not a problem just send it back. I am sooooooooooooooo going to stay at this hotel the next time we head back to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, General Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and the guest service our front desk provide. Pleased you enjoyed NYC and your stay at the Econo Lodge Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I go to New York about once a year to see a Broadway Show and spend lots of money. This was our fourth time staying at the Econo Lodge Times Square. Always very clean, with a wonderful staff. Rooms are small (but...you don't go to NYC to stay in your room!). Can't beat the location - 1 block from Times Square, easy walking distance to a multitude of subway lines, shops and restaurants. Rates are less than half the cost of a hotel just one block away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, General Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank You! We appreciate that the Econo Lodge Times Square is your choice of hotel while visiting NYC. Looking forward to seeing you again the next time your in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed four nights at this hotel and was so pleased with every aspect of our visit. Location, price, cleanliness and especially the the front desk employees. Natasha and Trinita were extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the Econo Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge Times Square. Our front desk staff is always happy to assist guests with their needs. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Jim and I had a wonderful time in NYC and certainly the comfort and service that Econo Lodge provided made this first part of our trip fabulous. The breakfasts were very healthy and delicious. Trinita and her colleagues provided excellent service--above and beyond the call of duty. Always a smile from all the staff. This hotel is meant for people who enjoy comfort and down to earth pleasures.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review and considering us a home away from home. We take pride in providing the best service for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast options. Hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location of this hotel was perfect! Travelling as a single female, I felt safe no matter what time of day or night. The price included a continental breakfast that was not extensive, but quite sufficient. The breakfast was held in the reception/lobby area and not conducive, but they’ve done their best. The staff was at all times attentive, charming and helpful. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean - always a very important factor. When in New York you don't spend much time in your room so it being very small was not an issue for me. The street noise levels were quite high. For those light sleepers I'd suggest earplugs. :-) I found the Econo Lodge Times Square a welcome haven after a hectic day's sightseeing and walking. Lovely! Thank you all. You are stars!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge. Hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here with my daughter and friends for two days of fun in Manhattan. I could not of picked a better spot. On one side Times Square and on the otherside 9th Ave with a wide range of great restaurants of varied price and cuisine, The staff was great and answered all of our many questions with a smile and enthusiasm. They let us leave our bags early and held our bags late to maximize our plans. The rooms were clean and the beds comortable. Will do it again on our next visit! Thanks again to the whole staff for the great experience and life long outstanding memories.:)

Room Tip: Get a corner room. Great people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello! Thank you for taking a moment of your time to write us this wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge Times Square. Its a great compliment for us to be a part of your NYC memories. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.