We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Times Square to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Times Square
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$179 (USD)
Ranked #238 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
“Weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Econo Lodge Time Square. This is our third time staying at
this hotel and we will be going back. The beds are great and location is great. Nice continental breakfast. Natasha and the other ladies at front desk was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
First and foremost, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel while visiting NYC. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could assist you with all your needs.
For future reservation, please call me at 212-246-1991 or email me directly lindi@econolodgetimessquare.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    340
    131
    35
    33
See reviews for
134
322
87
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I needed a room at the last minute during Labor Day weekend and almost everything was booked.
I called the Econolodge quite randomly, and the wonderful front desk person, Jocelyn, went to a lot of effort to hold a room for me.

I had a room on the second floor.
It was clean, had everything I needed, and I was well pleased.
The staff was very friendly, there was a little breakfast in the mornings, and coffee and tea.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our front desk Joselyn could accommodate and assist you with your needs. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room is tiny, the 'queen' size bed is a small double. They had an AC unit in the window and this prevented you from closing the window. SO noisy. I guess in the winter that wont be there so possibly a good location for the 'xmas shopping' kind of trip but not in the summer.

Staff are excellent, so helpful and the only good thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Your candid comment is appreciated and I would like to offer my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I would like to personally discuss your recent stay, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us. I may be contacted at 212-246-1991, or lindi@econolodgetimessquare.com. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back to the Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is so close to all that New York can offer, Time Square, The Top of the Rock, Empire State building. The hotel staff were superb, the room clean and breakfast just right to get you on your way for the day. As a traveller with mobility issues, I had booked an accessible room for my 9 day stay, I found the room comfortable, bathroom was fitted out with the correct rails and they even supplied a shower chair. I had booked a mobilty scooter and they arranged a recharge point close to my room, it really is a great hotel. I can't say enough about the staff, fantastic. I know when I get back to New York again, Econo Lodge Time Square is my preferred hotel. Also, bargin priced which helps the holiday dollars go further

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would like to express our gratitude for the opportunity to serve and assist you while visiting NYC. We strive to provide and believe great customer service doesn’t cost extra. We hope and are looking forward to seeing you soon. Again, thank you for you kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently had a wonderful stay at Econo Lodge Times Square. We traveled as a young couple and wanted a "cheaper" alternative to discover New York. Econo Lodge was a great choice.
The hotel's location is absolutely perfect, right next to Times Square and very close to supermarkets, restaurants, metro stations and sites such as Rockefeller Plaza, Fifth Avenue, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building, etc. The hotel staff were lovely: they were very friendly and always helpful (eg. for directions, transportation tips, ...), even when you didn't explicitly ask them for something.
Like in most New York hotels, the room was indeed quite small. However, it was very clean and comfortable: all you need for a city break!

Overall, lovely experience and great value for money. If you want a basic but correct place to stay when discovering New York, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We take pride in our front desk offering great customer service to our guests. In a competitive market we are happy that you chose our hotel during your visit to NYC. We hope to see you on your return to the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manati, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is very close to Times Square you just walk two blocks and you're there. It has continental breakfast, the bedroom had comfortable bed but it was too small for the price per night but it's Manhattan so I think that's normal in the area. Very nice, kind and helpful the ladies at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi there! Thank you for staying at the Econo Lodge Times Square and taking time to post a review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've been in this hotel from 14th to 20th of Sep, 2012, for the second time. It is 3 minutes walking from Times Square and 49th St Subway station: there are also a Duane Reade and a Starbucks crossing the hotel street. Staff is very friendly and are always willing to help.

The rooms are small, clean and organized.

Considering how much it takes to be near Times Square, I don't consider this hotel expensive: it's the best option if you want to stay near Times Square.

Room Tip: The elevator is a little slow, but the 6th floor has a good view from the 8th Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank You! We strive to provide the best rate to our guests in a competitive market and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge Times Square. Hope to see you again when your return to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.