We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pod 51 - great for exploring Midtown, Central Park, and more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pod 51 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Drink at Check-In!
Ranked #223 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pod 51 - great for exploring Midtown, Central Park, and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the Pod 51 during my stay - it was clean, modern, safe, and in close proximity to lots of NYC attractions. I was a little apprehensive before booking, as a previously-booked airbnb apartment was cancelled last minute, leaving me scrambling for a place to stay. The Pod exceeded my expectations!

Pros: Location - yes, there are more central areas to stay in NYC and hipper, more happening neighborhoods. However, this spot (near the UN) is only a few blocks from 5th Avenue shopping, Grand Central, lots of sushi restaurants, and several subway stations. We walked to Times Square and Central Park- both longer hikes, but certainly nothing strenuous and lots to see on the quick 15 minute walks.

Value for money - we stayed in a room with a queen bed and a private bathroom. While this hotel is very upfront about the economic room sizes, the queen room is PLENTY of space for two people, as long as you don't mind being very close the whole time in the room! We were on out way back to Uganda for work, so we had a total of four giant suitcases, two carryons, a backpack, etc. There was plenty of room to store our bags and the hanging rod, drawers under the bed, and side tables had plenty of room for the things we needed. I can't speak to the size of other rooms, but this was perfect for the two of us. We could have upgraded to a bigger hotel for $100 or $200 more, but we would rather spend that money on nice dinners than a room we didn't spend much time in anyway!

Ambiance - the hotel is warm, inviting, and modernly furnished. The lobby was under renovation while we were there, but the temporary space located in the Pop@Pod restaurant underneath works fine for the time being. The room was clean and pretty. There is also rooftop access on the 14th floor with nice lounge chairs and tables if you're coming in the summertime.

Cons: Internet - the intermittent wifi service (kicked us off after five minutes, if it could connect at all) could have been due to the renovations I mentioned earlier, but it was the biggest frustration of our trip. Not a huge deal in the grand scheme of things, but this is 2014 and reliable wifi access is not a difficult service to provide, renovation or no renovation. If this is a dealbreaker for you, this may not be your first choice of lodging.

Proximity to nightlife - take this with a grain of salt. If you are looking to be right outside the door of booming nightclubs and an all-night party scene, you might want to look elsewhere. This is a great location for sightseeing and getting to main attractions, but it tends to be in more of a financial/business/shopping/tourist area and is pretty peaceful after midnight. However, this is ONLY a con for you if proximity to clubs and bars is your very top priority. I almost hesitate to mention it, as I don't want to sound like it is a tired, empty place - because it isn't! It was actually pretty nice to have a quiet, relaxing place to come after a long day of walking (and eating too much of NY's endless food, to be perfectly honest).

We really enjoyed our trip and I will definitely stay here again when I visit the city!

Room Tip: Try to choose a higher floor (and a room with private bathroom, if it fits in your budget!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    1,473
    390
    125
    106
See reviews for
261
946
677
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

So the best advice is get a room on the upper floor, the first night we were on the second floor and we could hear and feel the Bass from the nightclub. I know it's NYC, but you gotta sleep sometime! The staff moved us and we were on the top floor looking south...Awesome! The roof top bar is cool, the rooms are clean, but the maids start early. All in all I would stay here again. Plus right around the corner on 1st is the best bagels in NYC.....Ess-A-Bagel!!! You have to get some! Most of all, it's the cheapest hotel in midtown, and it's clean and safe!

Room Tip: Higher Floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night and loved it,in fact we have no complaints at all.
We paid a little extra to have a private bathroom,which had a fab walk in shower.
The room was a decent size,and spotlessly clean. All in good decor with really good air conditioning.
The bed was really comfortable,good pillows and nice fluffy towels. Everything was like new,really cool decor and just a nice place to be.
The staff were friendly and helpful,and we were able to leave our bags in a store room on the day we were leaving and pop back and get them later in the day.
We didn't eat in the adjoining bar/restaurant but had a drink there,if we had more time then we would have probably eaten there.
Would go back here without doubt and recommend staying here. We felt we got brilliant value for money.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed nine nights in a single pod, and shared the bathroom down hall.
A 20-25 minute fast walk (in the summer heat) to the TKTS office at Times Square.
I would def stay again.
Room was clean and serviced every day.
Staff were helpful.
I didn't use any concierge service for booking anything - but they were great with an orientation map, and advice re a "wash n fold" location which was v nearby.
Wifi was strong, and seemed unlimited - just had to re-authenticate each day with the same password for my visit.
A very economical find for solo travel in New York!

Room Tip: Floor 14 has two shared bathrooms. In nine nights I rarely had to wait to use one, and they were cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Second time we stay at this hotel, we were recently in Tokyo and I do not know which room was the smallest but the rooms at the Pod are among the smallest we stayed in. However we knewed that when we booked. The wifi in the room was OK. They were renovating the lobby, so check-in was temporarily moved to the bar. Upon check-in you received coupons for two free glass of wine or beer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Pod 51 has a great location and we had a great view from our room on the tenth floor. Our room was located at the back of the building, where we were not bothered by any street noise.

We stayed in a queen pod, which was bigger than expected. We had enough room for our (large) suitcases and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was tiny, but again, big enough for us and very efficiently furnished. Overall, the room had a modern and clean feel.

The only negative points for us were the poor wifi signal in our corner room and the lack of available elevators.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is very cute and clean. The hotel rooms are exactly shown how they are in the pictures (except for the room size). The size of the room didn't bother me even though I was with two other girls in the bunk bed room.

I think there were 4 bathrooms with showers that were shared with other guests on every floor. At first I thought that it was going to be a problem, but there was never a time where I had needed to wait. In your room there's a small light that shows who's in each bathroom, which was very convenient.

I also liked how the hotel offered free tours around the city (each day was a different place). I went on the Greenwich village/ High Line Park/ Washington Square tour. These tours also give you opportunities to talk with other guests in the hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Budget Places, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 51 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.