We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 51 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 51 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 464 Hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“July 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great service; had a room with bathroom down the hall which was not as inconvienient as one might think. Only downside is that the wireless signal in the room (7th floor) was very weak and kept disconnecting; in this day and age simply not on. Great roof top garden.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    1,731
    456
    133
    116
See reviews for
311
1,114
790
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The small size of the room is only a problem if you need space by the sink, which had about as much counter top as the bathroom of an airplane. Tip: Just a little down the street, next to the synagogue, is a pocket park with a waterfall. Open to the public, it is a peaceful, green spot to read or bring take-out food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent Value - I always request a double with a private bath. Think of it as a cabin on a cruise ship and you'll get the picture of the size of the rooms. Clean and neat. My fave, midtown location close to the subway and lots of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I ask for a high floor to stay above the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friend and I stayed in one of the rooms with bunk beds. It was small but clean. There was a sink in the room to brush your teeth and wash your hands so you didn't have to go and use the shared bathrooms.

There is also lights over your room door that tells you which shared bathroom is vacant on your floor(4 of them). When someone locks the door to one of the bathrooms, a red light turns on inside your room so you know it's occupied and which one it is.

There are many bars and restaurants with a few blocks as well.

Overall, the price is great for the location and cleanliness. The only negative is that there isn't an exhaust fan inside the bathrooms. It can get stuffy in there.

Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I thought I had a great trip at a great hotel. Good budget option. Seemed very clean. Great location. Unfortunately on the train home from New York I noticed some bites on my arm. Through the next couple days the developed into lots of red itchy bumps consistent with bed bugs. Two and three bites in one area that spread into one red area. I am absolutely covered in these. My husband who did not go to NY with me does not have a bite. So far no signs of bringing them home with me (thank god) but it can take up to 2 weeks for them reproduce and mature enough to start feeding. I called the hotel and no one ever called me back about this. This has been such a stressful situation and I would advise everyone to never stay at this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

.....this is a really, really, really, small room. Everything is a high level of design, very clean, and very efficient use of space. For my short business stays it has been perfect for what I needed - a nice bar downstairs to decompress, a comfortable bed for a good nights rest, and a great shower in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights here. The room was small, but I expected that. The shared bathrooms were very clean and I NEVER had to wait for one. Each bathroom is a single bathroom and there's a shower in each one. There's even shampoo and soap provided in the shower. This is a great option for single travelers. It's in a nice neighborhood and there are 2 metro stops a couple blocks away. The hotel is centrally located for all your sightseeing. There's a rooftop area with nice views too. I'd surely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 51 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.