We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at POD 51” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 51 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 51 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
POD Free Walking Tours
Ranked #225 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay at POD 51”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here as a solo traveller for 2 nights last week and had a great stay. The location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance to lots of attractions, Grand Central, Central Park, St. Patrick's just around the corner, Rockefeller centre etc. The room was a double, but very small and perfect for one person but I'd have struggled if sharing I think.
Hotel & room looked great and were clean, I had a shower & toilet in the room so didn't need to use the shared facilities. Wifi worked really well in the room, TV channels quite limited but didn't need it anyway. The hotel was quite noisy, but as I had earplugs it didn't disturb me at all.
Staff weren't overly friendly, but check-in and out were quick and easy. I was a bit annoyed that toiletries weren't replenished in the room, could've done with more on the second day. Otherwise a good stay and I'd definitely consider it for my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    1,565
    423
    130
    113
See reviews for
276
1,008
714
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The midtown location of this hotel is great. Central Park, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Times Square and Grand Central can all be reached in under 15 minutes by foot. A metro station is nearby to take you to further destinations. This hotel also has a great view from the rooftop patio. The price of a room here is decent considering how expensive hotels in New York are.

The cleanliness of the shared bathrooms was hit and miss. They were spotless after housekeeping had been through with them but as the day progresses the bathrooms could get quite funky and gross from inconsiderate guests.

Also, the rooms are not soundproof. Throughout the night, I could hear doors slamming, elevators beeping, people talking and cars honking. Bring earplugs.

I was going to give 3/5 stars for Pod 51 but decided on 2/5 stars after observing the guy and girl running the kitchen/bar. They were making fun of their customers when they thought no one was watching. How rude and immature on their part.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel was attractive, people were friendly, room was clean and cool with a view. Good location, quiet and reasonable rate. Parking close by, discounted. Neighborhood restaurants were plentiful and their food was excellent. Tourist attractions in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ok position, not too far from subway.
Very small rooms, but xtra bathrooms in hallway are a bonus.
Great rooftop bar.
Check in was prompt.
The room did need a mirror though. , as only a very small one in the bathroom.
Maybe one behind the door would work ok.
The desk was broken, and almost falling over. Obviously some one had put their heavy bag on it and buckled it. Due to the fact that there is no room for a suitcase .
Overall , it was ok. Clean. And the Asian fusion restaurant was fantastic. We ate there 3times.
And even got take out one night when we had had a big day out in NY.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After having a wonderful experience at POD 39, we were a bit disappointed with the Pod on 51st. Location was great as was the price. The hotel was clean, but there were some issues. For the same Price at Pod39 we got a private bath, at 51 were had to use the WC in the hall. The wireless was basically non-functional in our room. The flat screens were of a much lower quality. There was no ice available. We were awakened in the morning to loud pounding (perhaps moving furniture) in the room above and that was a real turn off!

Room Tip: specify private bath, consider Pod 39 instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scilly
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a great stay in this compact yet comfortable hotel. First time in New York & a good place to explore from. Stayed here on 2 seperate occasions during the same trip & shared a bunk room with my sister. It was very clean with a great housekeeping team (In the hotel busness myself) who did a really thorough job everyday. Never had to wait for a shower room/toilet to be available, love the light system telling you which was free and they are never too far from your room. I travel alone alot and would feel quite safe to stay here if that was the case - the staff are really helpful and the public areas welcoming. Loved the roof terrace and there is a beautiful garden just across the road. Discovered 'Ginger' a japanese restaurant a couple of doors away on the last night and it was a good job too - I would have eaten there everynight!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here on Dec 2012. First, I stayed on bunk bed with share bathroom. The room was small, but clean and fit our needs. Before checked in, I feel unsure about the share bathroom, but it turned out awesome. The share bathrooms are clean. They even provided the shampoo and soap. The price is just right, the location is ok.

My second night, I moved to suite room. The room was HUGE! It has 1 king size bed, and 2 twin beds (top and bottom). It was awesome. My family really enjoyed stay in this room.
The downside about the suite room is, there's no elevator. So you have to climb up the stairs with your luggage.

Other than that, we love everything. We will stay here again for our next visit.
Make sure you check out the roof top veranda. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 51 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.