We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a cheap price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 51 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 51 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a cheap price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Finding a cheap place to stay in New York is hard, The Pod 51 provides a great area to wash up and sleep. If you're in New York, you won't be spending your day in the hotel room.

Stayed during Winter, rooms were kept warm with heating, yes they are small but it is liveable.

I stayed in a bunk room, no problems when needing to use the bathroom (light indicator above the door is great).

Highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget and is in the City to explore and not stay inside all day.

15-20 minute walk to Times Square, passing Rockefeller Centre and Radio City on the way.

Numerous subways located only 2 blocks away, as well as many food outlets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    1,666
    447
    132
    113
See reviews for
286
1,069
767
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, it's funky & clean inside. We were there for honeymoon before heading to Vegas & it was ideal. The rooms are 'cosy' but your aren't in there enough to bother. A couple of doors down there's a lovely Thai restuarant & a great bar if you wanted to stay close by. It's near a subway so you can jump on the sub to wherever your after. It's close to Times Square too. Don't be put off by niggley reviews it's a great base & the roof top seating area is lush!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I checked into Pod 51 for one night before leaving NYC. I checked some price comparison sites and this hotel was maybe around £30 cheaper than a 3 star 'big name' brand- so I thought I'd give it a try.

I came away very disappointed.
They do a good job of marketing the 'pods' and I was fully aware that they would be small, but my room felt a lot what I imagine a jail cell would be like- industrial and dirty.
There was a drink spilled across the wall above the bed that they hadn't bothered to clean, and I found some dirty brown marks on some of the room fixtures. The floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed at all and there was a towel on the floor when I arrived.

The soundproofing in the rooms is poor and you are able to hear any passing foot traffic in the corridor.

I didn't bother to complain as it was late and I was leaving early the next morning. I'd suggest you pay some extra money and go to a real hotel, not a hostel pretending to be one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is located in a area where the locals are living, which we found really nice. There is lot of restaurants and bars just behind the corner of the hotel. You can find really nice places to eat in the evenings, so you don't need to go far if you feel tired after walking around all day. Otherwise the hotel was clean and we got always help from the front desk when needed. There was two terraces, one in ground floor and one in a roof. In a roof there is no service so you can bring your own drinks if you want and it is quite nice place to sit and enjoy the sunset in NYC.
About the rooms: the room was small but we have been even smaller so it wasn't any problem. The most negative thing was that there are no isolation btw the rooms and btw the corridors. We could hear all the talk from the room beside and all the voices from the corridor. Prepare to sleep with ear blogs or if you are really sensitive sleeper this is not a hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pod 51 during Memorial Weekend 2013. We reserved a room with a full-size bed, which comes with it's own bathroom. Keep in mind the bunk-bed rooms have shared bathrooms. As you would guess from the name of the hotel, the rooms are very modest in size. Very small, but clean, well kept spaces. It was perfect for us because we were busy walking around the city so the room was simply a place to shower and sleep. The tv worked fine, with enough channels to occupy us late at night before we fell asleep. There is a safe in the room, which was convenient for us. We had a tablet with us and didn't want to carry it around the city. The front desk staff were very pleasant. We didn't need anything from them so I don't know how well they respond to requests etc. We have two small kids that didn't come with us, but if they had, the room would have been very uncomfortable if we needed to stay in it during the day for some reason. Also, my husband and I are thin people (me 120lbs, hubby 150lbs) so the full-size bed worked out ok for us. If you plan to share the bed and you're not fairly thin, you probably won't be comfortable in the full-size. It was basically an exact fit for us. The hotel is within minutes walking distance of Times Square and many shops/restaurants. The subway is a block away so we jumped on it often to get around the city. Travel tip: If you want to see the 9/11 Memorial or take a boat ride to the Statue of Liberty (statue re-opens on 7/4/2013, from what we were told), buy your tickets online first or get to the sites super early. The lines are INSANE.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the shared bathrooms if you are picky about hearing people walk the halls a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Got a standard queen with ensuite. Clean and comfortable. Not as small as was expecting(except for the bathroom-but we spent nearly all our time out anyway). Great location for exploring with good local bars/restaurents nearby. Loved the roof terrace. Only draw back was the wifi to the room was shockingly bad. Lobby connection was fast though. Considering it ticked so many other boxes and was almost $100 cheaper than other hotels within this area I think it was great value for money and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel may 2013
i stayed in the queen pod
I allready read the great reviews so thanks to the helpfull writers of tripadvisor i gave it a shot...
Small is what the rooms are but totally clean
with nice see trough bathrooms there somewhat of a privacy issue but no big deal
to stay there with two people is doable but for long term I would look for something else
the staff was kinda cold...not useless (not at all ) but just very affirmative YES or NO answers no follow up or anything (small talk or tips nada) as i also stayed in the newer pod39 i have to say i rather stay there as its a total different VIBE! a better one...
pod 51 is great for a couple of days

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
#194 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 51 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.