We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 51 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 51 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
POD Free Walking Tours
Ranked #225 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved my stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here for one night, December 13th, 2012. Early check-in was allowed and I was given a room on the 10th floor with a very nice view! My room was not that small; however it was very clean, tv was conveniently placed at the foot of the bed, on the wall of course, and the in-room safe definitely came in handy! All rooms have individual climate control which is a plus (mine wasn't working when I got there so maintenance came and fixed it right away). I also loved the jetted showers in the shared bathrooms! There are 4 per floor and I never had to wait for one. There is also an indicator above the door in your room which lets you know which bathroom is in use. I can't comment on the food, being that i didn't eat at the hotel but the location is great, restaurants are plentiful and the hotel is about 4 blocks from 5th avenue. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to NYC for business!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor! Floors closer to the ground are bound to receive a lot of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    1,567
    423
    130
    112
See reviews for
276
1,009
714
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Location is ok and the style and decoration are the best part of this hotel/hostel. Rooms are small (believe me!) really small and noisy, you can hear everything outside your room. The worst part is the service... Frontdesk personel was always angry, but the worst is the lady at the cafeteria, she completly forget about being in a hotel and offering a service to tourists, i hope she is changed soon, otherwise hotel will lose a lot of clients.The only person that actually help people is the concierge. In general bad service experience, but it is ok for a night or two due the location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a good deal in a good location. Central to shopping and the park with Museum Row in walking distance if you are a good walker. The rooms were perfectly satisfactory but the wifi was a little spotty and the bunk beds were a little clunky. The feel is very communal with a wide range of ages and nationalities in an intimate lobby, coffee bar space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed in a bunk bed room between Dec 6 and 8. I came prepared that the room is very small so that wasn't a surprise. Claustrophobia was not at all an issue since I came from an equally cramped city! For $200 (tax inclusive), Pod offered a clean, quiet and convenient location in early December when other Manhattan hotels charge $250+ pre tax per night. I am very happy given the amount I paid for.

There are 4 shared bathrooms on my floor which were very clean. Some are more spacious than the rest and very often I can choose from at least 3 out of the 4 bathrooms. I never had to wait to bathrooms during my stay.

Location is unbeatable - Subway station is one block away. Both Time Square and Central Park are within walking distance. There are minimal facilities on site but for a short walk you can access restaurants or convenient stores that either operate 24h or late into the night.

There is one minor complain though - there is only one wool blanket and bed cover on the bed. No down blanket (not too unreasonable for budget hotel). It wasn't very warm on winter nights even with the heater at max. I guess I would have gotten extra wool blankets if I requested. That was the only reason that I didn't sleep too well.

This is the place to be if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to sleep. Think twice if you come with a lot a stuff or are looking for space in the room - room is tiny and I doubt if one can lay two suitcases flat and still move around. Yet they try to utilize every bit of the space so I that very small room you get everything you need for a hotel (wardrobe, safe, desk and chair, sink, a lot of towels, tissues, hairdryer, a window and of course the bed!) I will re-visit Pod if I am coming back the NYC on budget.

P.S. Pod is working with Streetwise New York and offers tours to hotel guests on tip-only basis. It's fun and make sure you check with concierge if you are interested!

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the garden if street noise would be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

unfortunately people seem to have no requests and this place is a hostel not a hotel, but they try hard to be a hotel but sorry musicians playing guitar singing drinking until mornings, rooms are ugly, not good for the price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hello, this is my second trip to NYC and my second stay at the POD, it is clean, modern and in a great position for exploring NYC.

This year the iPod doc didn't charge the iPhone 4, I asked at reception and they are not designed to charge. This is something you might want to know.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the toilets, as they are used throughout the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this place for couples, the bedroom is the smallest I have ever stayed in with a WC & bathroom in the room with just a glass door as divider. We spent as little time as possible at the Hotel as it was just too claustrophobic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#180 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 51 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.