We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Apple married IKEA, this would be their baby!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 51 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 51 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
POD Free Walking Tours
Ranked #224 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“If Apple married IKEA, this would be their baby!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very hip, laid back, high tech (iPads on the walls for you to use and a 40" interactive map) WiFi throughout the hotel and my experience was great reception (room 201). Yes, very small rooms but if you are okay with that (which I was) they are very comfortable and cozy. Beds are great, sink in your room, bathrooms (I shared and there is 4 on each floor and impeccably clean ) were NEVER an issue, in fact I never encountered anyone in the hallways and the hotel was booked. I had the 1 bed and everything I needed was within reach (seriously) and kinda nice. I was here for 4 days (alone) and there was plenty of room and nooks/crannies for my stuff. I felt safe the entire time, sat in the lobby with drinks, and worked. Very convenient to everywhere via the Greenline and nice little pubs/bars/restaurants within 1/4 block. I would totally return here and for sure check out Pod 39 (?) next time as thats a cool NYC location as well.

Room Tip: I might choose a bunk next time for a little more room, but for 1 person who is okay with a small sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    1,565
    423
    130
    113
See reviews for
276
1,008
714
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

After looking around, this was the cheapest hostel that we could find in the area, so we weren't expecting much. However, when we arrived, the porter took our bags up to the room, check in was easy and the room was beautiful - very clean, neat, and although not huge, it was bigger than I was expecting!
The bathrooms are excellent, and there is a little light in your room that informs you of which bathrooms are free. They are very clean, and self contained, and I never found myself having to wait for one!
The staff were very friendly and very helpful, especially when it came to sorting out transport to the airport.
The location is amazing - Times Square and Central Park are both an easy walk away, and there are loads of places dotted around to eat at - we had dinner at a particularly lovely gastro pub at the end of the street that I would recommend!
All in all, this was a very lovely hostel that I would stay at again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I always stay at the pod, it is clean, staff is lovely and it is a very good value for money if you consider the hotels in New York City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I spent 3 nights in Sept./Oct. at The Pod Hotel on 51st in a double with bath for single use, and was extremely satisfied with my second stay at this budget hotel. As I mentioned in my first review, the hotel is very well located for subways, restaurants, and some sites, and the hotel staff (including a very helpful concierge) and common areas (lobby area with wall-mounted i-pads and snack bar, roof deck, and courtyard) provide the ingredients for a wonderful stay in this magnificent city.

I had reserved a single with private bath and was upgraded to a double with private bath. I greatly appreciated the extra bed space! In some ways, though, I thought this room a little less well laid-out than the single en suite room I occupied last year. In particular, the toilet was rather poorly positioned and would, I think, be uncomfortable for a large person. Otherwise, it was comfortable and efficiently arranged, and it met my needs exceedingly well.

I will definitely return to The Pod when I next visit New York City!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend shared a double ensuite room on our recent stay in new york (I think this may be a queen room). We stayed for 5 nights. This was a great place to stay. Be prepared for a SMALL (but adequate) room! We did our research and were aware that it would be small so were not surprised on our arrival. The price we paid for this hotel was great compared to many others and we didn't plan on spending much time in our room anyway.
We had a small ensuite in our too . This had a rainhead shower which was nice after a day walking around the sights of NYC! As others have mentioned the toilet and shower is only separate to the room by a glass partition so only book an ensuite if you are very comfortable with the person you are sharing with!
The room had air conditioning which kept it at a reasonable temperature. The room was also spotlessly clean and the cleaners came every day and changed towels.
We were on the 14th floor and experienced no noise within the hotel however, being in manhattan it was noisy outside so earplugs can be useful!
Reception has iPads which anyone can use for free and a place where you can get a limited (but yummy) selection of snacks and drinks. There is also a roof terrace which is worth going up to laze around on.
The hotel was perfectly located with lots of visitor attractions within an easy stroll.
If you are prepared for the small rooms and don't want to pay a fortune for clean, central and friendly manhattan accommodation I think this place is a great option and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 51 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.