We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay at this hotel, avoid at all costs, do not ruin your NY expirience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Savoy to your Saves list
Park Savoy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #375 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Never stay at this hotel, avoid at all costs, do not ruin your NY expirience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Please do not believe what Tripadvisor, booking.com or priceline.com telling you about this hotel - it is rundown filthy hole run by the untrained and unprofessional stuff - if you do not want to ruin your NY experience - never stay here. Looks like all the positive reviews done by the stuff or the owner of the property - normal travelers can expect this in the third world countries - not in the center of NY.

Everything is dirty and old, mold everywhere - see photos, old dirty bedding, no heating or airconditioning in the room, you will get the TV remote together with the room key, TV is showing only lines over snowflakes on the 20 year old device, smell, noise from outside - all windows show cracks around the frame, windows have 100 year old wooden shatters - no drapes, water is dripping on the floor from heating battery which was installed at the time the building was constructed...
No Invoices or checkout papers provided - they simply do not have a printer, all personnel is barely speaks English and offer no service whatsoever.
All electrical outlets are broked and show significant sign of disrepair - as soon as I finish writing this review the letter to the NYFD will be to follow...
Do not think you will

Room Tip: Just never book it - this is the best advise I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    141
    160
    68
    51
See reviews for
65
174
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i am a student on budget and this was the cheapest room with a private bathroom. the staff were clean in the room. i did not use tv. u should pay before u stay. it is 15 minutes walking from times square and 5 minutes walking from central park. i used to get out from morning till night. i only get back to sleep. it i was good for me. the breakfast is the most disgusting thing i ever ate. even the american coffe ahs a weird taste. u will end up buying ur breakfast.
if u r couples then do not go for it. if u r a youth on budget then it is a good place. rooms are not big

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros:
Right across(almost) the park!
Cheap(relatively)
Good Service
Clean
Quiet
In the heart of Manhattan so lots of places nearby to visit and eat in.

Cons:
small old rooms
Breakfast is actually a coupon for a cafe nearby (bagel and tea) I wouldn't call it breakfast!


I would stay again as price per "pros" is higher than other hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Park Savoy sits in a great location in upper midtown. Only one minute walk to Central Park, five minute walk to Columbus Circle. If your looking for shopping three minute walk to Fifth Ave high end shopping. The area is safe as one can be in any city. The hotel.is clean I felt safe in the hotel. There was always someome at the frontdesk and it would be near to Impossible to get past them. The room was clean. The price is perfect. The Park Savoy sits.behind the Essex Hoise that starts at 400 plus a night. The price includes a small simple breakfast at the place next door. The rooms are small, but I am not there to "hang out in my room". The biggest issue to.me is when I am.staying in a hotel is "is the place clean" and "do I feel safe" The Park Savoy.is both of those. If you want a.big room or fancy lobby then by all means cross the street and stay at the Essex House that is available for 400 plus a night.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I needed a reasonably priced hotel near Carnegie Hall for a week end trip to NYC - and found it with Park Savoy. Yes there is no lobby, the elevator is slow and the rooms are small. But it is clean, the help was polite, and it wasn't noisy - and the price was very reasonable. I would stay there again - and that's more than I can say for some of the hotels I have stayed in in NYC.

Room Tip: The rooms on the backside probably are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Venezuela
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here twice. What I like best is the location. It's near Central Park, there's a subway station around the corner and you can get to interesting places on foot. Rooms are small, but they have private bathrooms which was difficult to find for the price in other hotels.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

My recent stay at the park savoy reminds me why this location is one of those locations that will never be visited again. Stayed with my brother for a night before we headed off and after we checked into the room and walked in it was a mess. Went downstairs to speak to the agent for a switch in a new room only to find a slight problem that bothered me personally. A foreigner checking in was asked for her credit card and she simply asked to the agent "I thought I already paid online" the agent replied with "well if you read the terms it says you'll pay when you stay". Let's be real, customers, tourists guests all make mistakes but to prove your point by telling her she basically didn't read comes off rude and in my opinion and in this situation should have been handled differently. So when she was done and the agent said next, I simply said I'm checking out!

Yup, no questions asked, he said okay, no thank you, no come again, no did you enjoy your stay? No is everything okay? Just his job of clicking a few buttons, because ideally no customer service was rendered here. I simply walked to the park central paid 3x the amount and stayed the night there.

So in conclusion if you want to pay for service, pay for something along the lines of customer oriented hotels. It may be pricey but what's a vacation without someone knowing they'll be taking care of you your entire stay, compared to no customer service at all. It truly shows how the impact of the hotel can affect customer service, thus affecting the customers. Which is the most important factor of the business.

Room Tip: Try other locations on the lower east side that is priced the same amount for the room, same look of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Savoy

Address: 158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Savoy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Savoy Hotel New York City
Park Savoy New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.