We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Savoy to your Saves list
Park Savoy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #374 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Valencia, Venezuela
2 reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I have stayed here twice. What I like best is the location. It's near Central Park, there's a subway station around the corner and you can get to interesting places on foot. Rooms are small, but they have private bathrooms which was difficult to find for the price in other hotels.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    138
    154
    67
    50
See reviews for
62
170
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My recent stay at the park savoy reminds me why this location is one of those locations that will never be visited again. Stayed with my brother for a night before we headed off and after we checked into the room and walked in it was a mess. Went downstairs to speak to the agent for a switch in a new room only to find a slight problem that bothered me personally. A foreigner checking in was asked for her credit card and she simply asked to the agent "I thought I already paid online" the agent replied with "well if you read the terms it says you'll pay when you stay". Let's be real, customers, tourists guests all make mistakes but to prove your point by telling her she basically didn't read comes off rude and in my opinion and in this situation should have been handled differently. So when she was done and the agent said next, I simply said I'm checking out!

Yup, no questions asked, he said okay, no thank you, no come again, no did you enjoy your stay? No is everything okay? Just his job of clicking a few buttons, because ideally no customer service was rendered here. I simply walked to the park central paid 3x the amount and stayed the night there.

So in conclusion if you want to pay for service, pay for something along the lines of customer oriented hotels. It may be pricey but what's a vacation without someone knowing they'll be taking care of you your entire stay, compared to no customer service at all. It truly shows how the impact of the hotel can affect customer service, thus affecting the customers. Which is the most important factor of the business.

Room Tip: Try other locations on the lower east side that is priced the same amount for the room, same look of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

wonderfully placed hotel, walk to the Lincoln centre, MOMA, carnegie Hall........and the best ice-creams in New York at Grom ! very close to the subway.the hotel is small, rooms OK, best to ask for rooms at the back, particularly during the current building work nearby.
a short walk for breakfast at the "La Parisienne" diner is a good start to the day.
shall certainly stay again - "average" is too little, "very go" too much !

Room Tip: take a rear room, the front was noisy during building work on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is really really low budget. I haven't seen such a hotel. Very basic, it is clean, but I would like to suggest people who read reviews to have it clear that this hotel is only good to save money and stay for sleeping. At the reception they are not very informed about things in the area (like: Where does Hop on Hop off bus depart from?). Breakfast is silly. A small (more take away) pizzeria is right next to the hotel and you can get a muffin and a coffee/tea for free. They have 3 tables to sit down. Usually they are full, you wait for the service little bit, so you wait for that muffin and then maybe no place to sit down. So, if you are ready to stay here, then it is ok. But maybe you should rethink and go somewhere else for little bit more money?

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to say first that the professionalism of the staff was wonderful! They were so nice! That is always a breath of fresh air when you are planning a trip somewhere. The building is old, but I thought it was cool! My thought is wow, someone built this and it is still here! Anyways, if you are someone who likes to be pampered, this is not the place for you. But I found this place to be PERFECT! Very vintage and it is minutes from Central Park, Rockefeller center,and so many other attractions! My friend and I came and stayed one night and the room was very small, but you are not coming to Manhattan to sit in your room and if you are that is sad! The water pressure wasn't the best , but I am not high maintenance so I was perfectly fine with it! I stayed in NY for $150 for the night and I was safe and the room was clean and the staff was super friendly. If Ya can handle small rooms and don't need a spa this room will be perfect for you!! I will definitely book this room again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I'm not telling anyone about this hotel. I would like to book a room here next visit to NYC. I don't want it to become too popular. Nor too pricey. Shhhhhhhhhh!!! I'm not telling. Nor should you. Let's keep the Park Savoy a secret. :-)

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

It might be a little on the small side but your not in the Big Apple to stay in your room. The rooms get cleaned each day and you're within walking distance or a short subway ride away from most of the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Savoy

Address: 158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Savoy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Savoy Hotel New York City
Park Savoy New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.