We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not expensive hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Savoy to your Saves list
Park Savoy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #373 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not expensive hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We took this hotel because it was the only one availible with the <<tour>> that we have took.
When you go to new-York it is not to stay in your room all day. Even if i was sick i was in the city all day. We where in the room at 1 am to 8 am. So we only slept there. I went with friend. We had 3 room.

We took grayhound bus from montreal to New-York. We left montreal at 7 pm and arrive in new york at 4 in the morning. If you like to do the same, take the bus at 9 or 10 pm.

We decide to walk to the hotel. From the ground station it is about 30 minutes to 1 hours depending how fast your working. At 4 in the morning i was a little bit scare to walk in the city but everything was fine.

Arrive at the hotel, we ask if they have a room availible because having the room at 3 pm was not a good idea. They find us a room for the 6 of us. That was correct. Really good staff at the loby.

the good about this hotel is that you a 1 block away from central park so in the morning if you want to talk a small walk this is a good hotel to be. Because it is close to central park, the hotel is far from time square.

We took the metro pass for the week. The metro is not far from the hotel and it bring you to time square. We also take the hop on hop off ticket with the attraction.
one stop is 5 minutes from the hotel and it could drop you at several location. With this pass we had the liberty statue, empire state buinding, a museum..... (Watch out, all the museum are close on monday so we didnt use this ticket. The seller should have told us)

The bad think about this resort.
1- The view: the view from our room was on a building site. Some of the picture show the renovation made next door.
2-The bathroom. Dont trie to be 2 in this tinny bathroom. When you want to take a shower, put one of the towel on the floor otherwise the floor is going to be wet.

Over all this other is good for the price that we have paid. We only slept in the hotel and eat the small breakfeast that they serve. (1 item per person per room, beagle, croissant, muffin...)

If you want to be centraly located i dont recommand you this hotel but ifg you want something cheap this is where you need to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    140
    158
    67
    50
See reviews for
63
172
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay at the Park Savoy due to its location - being smack bang in the middle of Manhattan. Unfortunately the bed was as hard as a rock, the reception staff were very unhelpful & looked bored majority of the time, construction work is occurring next to & behind the building with no near end in sight. Oh, & the room was a shoebox. Not even enough room to open a suitcase in the floor.
I've stayed in far better hostels for less than half the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Let's be honest: I chose this hotel because of its price. Period. Rooms are not good with very old and dirty carpet, the bed actually makes noise and everything is very old and small. Bathrooms were clean though. The location is great: a few steps to Central Park and Columbus Circle metro station (one of the largest). Internet available but paid.
All in all, don't believe I would come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for a week the location cannot be beaten for the price, so close to central park its fab. Room was fine clear and big enough for NYC but youre never in the room anyway, also had a fridge which was handy, room was cleaned daily, staff were helpful and they stored our luggage after checkout before our late flight. Overall would happily recommend this for a budget stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

It was impossible to get a good night's sleep here when every 45 minutes or so it was like someone was literally hammering on the pipes, whenever the heating turned on. I am writing this at 5:17AM at the hotel, having finally given up on trying to get back to sleep. Unless you are a very deep sleeper, I do not recommend staying here. Even ear plugs will not block out the noise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was rather expensive as is the case for midtown manhattan, but the location is impeccable! Two major setbacks are:
- The extremely slow elevator
- The inconvenient luggage room on the 6th floor, which may cause a lot of hassle, especially if you are running on a tight schedule to catch a flight.
The "breakfast" thing is consisted of a cup of coffee and a cup cake or raisin bread, served at the adjoining pizzeria. Keep in mind that spanish may be a more suitable way to communicate in the pizzeria!
Nevertheless, the whole stay was descent and I may dare to say that may be a value for money stay.
In any case, it is strongly recomended to perform a thorough search for a nyc stay before proceed to any reservation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

In reading some of the reviews for ths hotel we were hesitant to stay.However as a last resort we booked the room. We were pleasantly surprised. The Hotel had a great location one block from central park.The room was clean howbever, it was svery small.That didnt really matter who travels to New York to stay in atheir hotel room any way. The value was unbeatable.I would definetly stay here again.and recommend it to others.:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Savoy

Address: 158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Savoy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Savoy Hotel New York City
Park Savoy New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.