We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clanging heating pipes kept me up all night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Savoy

Save Saved
You added Park Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Savoy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #368 of 451 hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Clanging heating pipes kept me up all night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

It was impossible to get a good night's sleep here when every 45 minutes or so it was like someone was literally hammering on the pipes, whenever the heating turned on. I am writing this at 5:17AM at the hotel, having finally given up on trying to get back to sleep. Unless you are a very deep sleeper, I do not recommend staying here. Even ear plugs will not block out the noise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    138
    148
    58
    48
See reviews for
58
154
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was rather expensive as is the case for midtown manhattan, but the location is impeccable! Two major setbacks are:
- The extremely slow elevator
- The inconvenient luggage room on the 6th floor, which may cause a lot of hassle, especially if you are running on a tight schedule to catch a flight.
The "breakfast" thing is consisted of a cup of coffee and a cup cake or raisin bread, served at the adjoining pizzeria. Keep in mind that spanish may be a more suitable way to communicate in the pizzeria!
Nevertheless, the whole stay was descent and I may dare to say that may be a value for money stay.
In any case, it is strongly recomended to perform a thorough search for a nyc stay before proceed to any reservation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

In reading some of the reviews for ths hotel we were hesitant to stay.However as a last resort we booked the room. We were pleasantly surprised. The Hotel had a great location one block from central park.The room was clean howbever, it was svery small.That didnt really matter who travels to New York to stay in atheir hotel room any way. The value was unbeatable.I would definetly stay here again.and recommend it to others.:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Reasonable price/quality/location price
Don't forget to ask for the complimentary breakfast as they don't advertise it loud and clear.
Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. Very handy location to visit the city though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is NOT clean, the heat and hot water is available whenever, the hotel ran out of wash cloths due to the staff "didn't do laundry". I had my rings stolen and when the theft was reported, I had to walk 10-12 blocks to the Police Department. The hotel manager, for two days now, Vesna, has yet to return my telephone call regarding the theft. The room was cold. I had to purchase a portable heater to stay warm. Their website is VERY misleading, the rooms do not look like the pictures. My experience with this hotel does not deserve a rating other than The Park Savoy Hotel is not the place you would want to stay. I did see several foreigners, so for them, maybe the conditions were good compared to conditions maybe in their home country. Across the street is the Marriott, stay there and spend a little more, knowing you will get a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I didn't expect much for the price as it was a lot cheaper than anywhere else, however I did expect a room where the bed was made and the bathroom was clean. This however was not the case with the first room I went to. I called the front desk and got another room, however I was put into a room where there was no way for me to turn on the heater and it was not turned on so I had to call front desk again, and then again because I had NO hot water at all for shower. The staff was really nice however and the location was great. Right near time sq and central park and a block from a subway station. I was previously in military so I have definitely dealt with worse, I would probably stay there again if ever I go back to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Savoy

Address: 158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Savoy 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Park Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Savoy Hotel New York City
Park Savoy New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.